Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 6, 2012, 02:36 PM   #276
Frankied22
macrumors 65816
 
Frankied22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyx3x View Post
So if you have an iPhone on the $30 plan with T-Mobile it's now a lock that you'll lose it next year, right?

If so, it's probably on to Straight Talk for me.
I don't think anyone knows the answer to that. However, Tmo did say they are going to focus more on their value plans in the future, which is what the $30 plan is. If you bring your own device I don't see why they would get rid of those plans.
Frankied22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 05:55 PM   #277
RNVarma
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dolphin842 View Post
Wow, you're right . I remember the bring-your-own-device postpaid plans being no-contract at some point in the past, but I guess they changed that at some point. Good catch!
Yup, I was about to switch to T-Mobile from Straight Talk and get on that nice $50/month plan before they told me that it was contract-based.
__________________
Rajiv Varma
RNVarma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 11:33 PM   #278
Agent-P
macrumors 68020
 
Agent-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyx3x View Post
So if you have an iPhone on the $30 plan with T-Mobile it's now a lock that you'll lose it next year, right?

If so, it's probably on to Straight Talk for me.
I would say it's safe to assume that if you currently have a classic plan with them, then you'll be grandfathered in. Though they may try to convince you to move to the new plan, you won't have to.
__________________
I have a dream that one day iOS users, Android users, and Windows Phone users will be able to sit down together at the table of brotherhood.
Agent-P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 07:18 AM   #279
andyx3x
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-P View Post
I would say it's safe to assume that if you currently have a classic plan with them, then you'll be grandfathered in. Though they may try to convince you to move to the new plan, you won't have to.
The $30 prepaid plan isn't a classic plan is it? I wouldn't think they would grandfather anyone into a prepaid plan.
andyx3x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 11:57 AM   #280
Agent-P
macrumors 68020
 
Agent-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyx3x View Post
The $30 prepaid plan isn't a classic plan is it? I wouldn't think they would grandfather anyone into a prepaid plan.
My bad, I thought that comment was in reference to the classic plan. You're right, if you have a prepaid plan then you probably won't be grandfathered in.
__________________
I have a dream that one day iOS users, Android users, and Windows Phone users will be able to sit down together at the table of brotherhood.
Agent-P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 07:45 PM   #281
Mr Hill
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankied22 View Post
I don't think anyone knows the answer to that. However, Tmo did say they are going to focus more on their value plans in the future, which is what the $30 plan is. If you bring your own device I don't see why they would get rid of those plans.
The $30 plan is not the Value Plan. It's a prepaid plan. T-Mobile calls them Monthly 4G plans.

Value plans are postpaid contract plans.

I don't see any reason why T-Mobile would get rid of the 5GB $30 plan just because they get the iPhone. Users of that plan would still have to pay $700 from Apple for an iPhone and they are still limited to only 5GB of full speed data. Also I suspect that T-Mobile will limit their LTE service to postpaid subscribers only since as of right now no carrier allows their prepaid or MVNOs to access their LTE networks. The 5GB prepaid plan will likely stick around.
Mr Hill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 07:52 PM   #282
adeedew
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
3G in Encino CA, Valley, Hollywood etc

Have pretty good speeds on 3G in Encino Ca (speedtest below), most of the "valley" passing through sherman oaks and studio city into Hollywood, sometimes bounces back to edge a bit but solid 3G last 24 hours, although talk and suft seems to not work time to time driving into Hollywood. ALSO, seems like their starting to add visual voicemail?! Take a look at screen shots below, isn't this a first??? Anyone else seeing this on their iPhone? I have a factory unlocked 4s and a unlocked verizon iphone 5, both get 3g only here.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 1.PNG
Views:	7
Size:	61.5 KB
ID:	382209   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 2.PNG
Views:	9
Size:	76.0 KB
ID:	382210   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.PNG
Views:	12
Size:	239.2 KB
ID:	382212  


Last edited by adeedew; Dec 7, 2012 at 08:00 PM.
adeedew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:59 PM   #283
Gillespie81
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Minnesota
Minneapolis and surround areas, tried in Maple Grove and got it today. Didn't have it last week. Slow speed though, but faster than edge.
__________________
iphone 4s 64Gb white
iPad 3rd Gen 32GB white
2011 13-inch MBP i7, Carbon Fiber Wrap, 128 SSD, 8Gb RAM
Gillespie81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 09:40 PM   #284
upnorth85
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Which part of Maple Grove did you find the slow 3G signal?
I think the signal is strongest around Hemlock lane exit on I-694. It is weakest at county Road 30 exit in Maple Grove. It is good along I-494. Then after County Road 30, there is nothing for 50 miles all the way on I-94 until St. Cloud exit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillespie81 View Post
Minneapolis and surround areas, tried in Maple Grove and got it today. Didn't have it last week. Slow speed though, but faster than edge.
upnorth85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 11:34 PM   #285
adeedew
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello12 View Post
This is going to happen. I've talked to multiple people from T-Mobile, by December we will have 3G from their refarm, and by march we will have 4G, both compatible with the iphones... and a cheap plan/ good customer service as well!
Maybe taking that a little too far....good customer service? I called tech support and its lets say definitely English not being their first language reps and definitely don't know what they're talking about.
adeedew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 01:10 PM   #286
Agent-P
macrumors 68020
 
Agent-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by adeedew View Post
Maybe taking that a little too far....good customer service? I called tech support and its lets say definitely English not being their first language reps and definitely don't know what they're talking about.
For any company I refuse to ever call customer service because it ends up being more trouble than it's worth to try and understand what they're saying. I'd rather do online chat (which is still sometimes iffy) or go into a retail location if there's one nearby. I've been to multiple t-mobile locations and I've always gotten great customer service.
Agent-P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 02:46 PM   #287
andyx3x
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
T-Mobile is testing out some new prepaid plans.

http://www.androidcentral.com/t-mobi...select-markets
andyx3x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 04:56 PM   #288
Mr Hill
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyx3x View Post
T-Mobile is testing out some new prepaid plans.

http://www.androidcentral.com/t-mobi...select-markets
Looks like they're aiming at Straight Talk with those plans.
Mr Hill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 05:18 PM   #289
Satnam1989
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hill View Post
Looks like they're aiming at Straight Talk with those plans.
Ya but it will take at least another year before T-Mo will be able to take on Straight Talk with those plans due to AT&T network HSDPA/HSPA+ network being the better when compared to T-Mobile (even with its reaffirm)
Satnam1989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 09:14 PM   #290
Gillespie81
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Minnesota
i work at hemlock and main st. i live in monticello and have no 3g. i had a 1.2 download and .77 upload speed, but i was inside so maybe thats why. im just glad i have faster service while im at work

Quote:
Originally Posted by upnorth85 View Post
Which part of Maple Grove did you find the slow 3G signal?
I think the signal is strongest around Hemlock lane exit on I-694. It is weakest at county Road 30 exit in Maple Grove. It is good along I-494. Then after County Road 30, there is nothing for 50 miles all the way on I-94 until St. Cloud exit.
__________________
iphone 4s 64Gb white
iPad 3rd Gen 32GB white
2011 13-inch MBP i7, Carbon Fiber Wrap, 128 SSD, 8Gb RAM
Gillespie81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 09:33 PM   #291
BlueMoonForever
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Could someone post a screenshot of a speedtest during a call on T-Mobile? T-Mobile is a GSM carrier so they should be able to voice and data simultaneously.

Curious to see what the speeds are like, as AT&T currently throttles all customers' speeds during calls.
BlueMoonForever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 10:37 PM   #292
upnorth85
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
T-mobile's 4G service is good. But their refarming of the 1900 Mhz frequency for 3G on iPhone is very spotty and extremely weak. I live in Rogers in the NW suburbs of Minneapolis and the 3G coverage here is a joke. Last Friday, the CTO announced that Minneapolis is now refarmed for iPhone compatible 3G. If this is their level of refarming, I would strongly recommend Apple NOT to partner with T-mobile and spoil the reputation of Apple products. I have been with T-mobile for 10+ years, I have liked it, but now having bought the iPhone 5, I am seriously considering going back to AT&T. I would strongly suggest that you wait before switching to T-mobile. They are at least a year from a bare minimum 3G coverage. Each time the signal goes from 3G to E my call drops!
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueMoonForever View Post
Could someone post a screenshot of a speedtest during a call on T-Mobile? T-Mobile is a GSM carrier so they should be able to voice and data simultaneously.

Curious to see what the speeds are like, as AT&T currently throttles all customers' speeds during calls.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-12-05 20.38.41.png
Views:	8
Size:	527.9 KB
ID:	382419  
upnorth85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 11:51 PM   #293
adeedew
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
To get the hspa+ or up to 40+ speed on the iphone 5 on tmobile does anyone know would it have to be the gsm version (AT&T or factory unlocked) or would the Verizon CDMA (unlocked) access the same speed theoretically? I understand the iphone 5 can get these speed over using a iphone 4 or 4s correct? Hope this makes sense. Reason asking when tmobile opens up the faster speed will I have access to it on an unlocked Verizon iphone 5 or would I have to get the gsm version? Thank you
adeedew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 04:31 AM   #294
jstar002
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Tmo has new prepaid plans with unlimited data for $45

https://www.gosmartmobile.com/compar...ll-phone-plans

however i think its 3g not 4g and slower than lte...
jstar002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 08:32 AM   #295
Mr Hill
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by adeedew View Post
To get the hspa+ or up to 40+ speed on the iphone 5 on tmobile does anyone know would it have to be the gsm version (AT&T or factory unlocked) or would the Verizon CDMA (unlocked) access the same speed theoretically? I understand the iphone 5 can get these speed over using a iphone 4 or 4s correct? Hope this makes sense. Reason asking when tmobile opens up the faster speed will I have access to it on an unlocked Verizon iphone 5 or would I have to get the gsm version? Thank you
You can get T-Mobile HSPA+ 42 with both the AT&T and Verizon iPhone 5. You will not be able to access their LTE in 2013 unless you have the AT&T model though.
Mr Hill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 02:34 PM   #296
adeedew
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hill View Post
You can get T-Mobile HSPA+ 42 with both the AT&T and Verizon iPhone 5. You will not be able to
access their LTE in 2013 unless you have the AT&T model though.
Much appreciated. Ok so since "4g" is not working in my area with tmobile it won't matter if I use the 4s or 5 as far as speeds. I don't think tmobile lte will be active until at next summer by then who knows the iphone 5s might change antennas yet again?
adeedew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 03:21 PM   #297
Mr Hill
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by adeedew View Post
Much appreciated. Ok so since "4g" is not working in my area with tmobile it won't matter if I use the 4s or 5 as far as speeds. I don't think tmobile lte will be active until at next summer by then who knows the iphone 5s might change antennas yet again?
Yeah if you don't have HSPA+42 in your area it doesn't matter whether you have the 4S or 5. If you do then the 5 will have higher speeds as it is the only iPhone that has a DC-HSPA (HSPA+ 42) radio. The 4S maxes out at HSPA+ 14.4.

Me personally I was going to get an AT&T 5 but I have decided I'll just keep my 4S until the T-Mobile iPhone comes out in a few months. It will have all the bands necessary to get the best experience on their network.
Mr Hill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 04:04 PM   #298
Neverbepeace
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by adeedew View Post
Have pretty good speeds on 3G in Encino Ca (speedtest below), most of the "valley" passing through sherman oaks and studio city into Hollywood, sometimes bounces back to edge a bit but solid 3G last 24 hours, although talk and suft seems to not work time to time driving into Hollywood. ALSO, seems like their starting to add visual voicemail?! Take a look at screen shots below, isn't this a first??? Anyone else seeing this on their iPhone? I have a factory unlocked 4s and a unlocked verizon iphone 5, both get 3g only here.

Anybody else can confirm VVM is working on tmobile
Neverbepeace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 07:21 PM   #299
Satnam1989
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hill View Post
Yeah if you don't have HSPA+42 in your area it doesn't matter whether you have the 4S or 5. If you do then the 5 will have higher speeds as it is the only iPhone that has a DC-HSPA (HSPA+ 42) radio. The 4S maxes out at HSPA+ 14.4.

Me personally I was going to get an AT&T 5 but I have decided I'll just keep my 4S until the T-Mobile iPhone comes out in a few months. It will have all the bands necessary to get the best experience on their network.
T-Mobile iPhone 5 will be nothing but the GSM/AT&T version of the iPhone 5 as It will be model A1428: UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 4 and 17).

Don't hope for 1700MHz band being added as its not going to happen. The iPhone 5 on T-Mobile will be as good as any AT&T/GSM or Verizon iPhone 5 is currently running on T-Mobile network, Only difference with AT&T/GSM model will be that it will support T-Mobile's LTE network that may follow in a years time.
Satnam1989 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 10:38 PM   #300
mac.cali
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by swoosh0217 View Post
I'm here in Beaverton Oregon and we finally have consistent 3G signal in the area. I go past Portland and it goes back to EDGE network but I'm sure by the end of this year, every area will have 3G signal.

Image
Where did you get this wallpaper?
__________________
iPhone 5s | iPad rMini | iPad 3 | MacBook Air | Apple TV | Airport Extreme
mac.cali is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC