Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 10, 2012, 01:50 PM   #26
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by funfrok View Post
Actually my 4S works that way, when i'm at home or at work 3G seems to be off.
The iPhone will stop using the cellular network to send and receive data if it is connected to a Wi-Fi network.

The exception to that is MMS and Visual Voicemail (where supported), which will continue to run over the cellular network.

3G is however not disabled (for the reasons I mentioned earlier).
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium

Last edited by Daveoc64; Jan 10, 2012 at 02:03 PM.
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2012, 01:50 PM   #27
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
[those] have the toggle on iPhone 3GS iPhone 4 we know you have it... stop asking why we don't have it!

The iPhone 4S doesn't have that toggle !!!!

Last edited by balamw; Mar 8, 2012 at 10:05 AM. Reason: removed name-calling
apollo1444 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 11:53 PM   #28
aneagle
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
No need for 3G button after jailbreak

Just JB my 4s iOS 5.0.1(9A406) and the 3G toggle on SBSettings does turn 3G off making the 4s to stick to 2G network.
aneagle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 12:57 AM   #29
TM WAZZA
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by aneagle View Post
Just JB my 4s iOS 5.0.1(9A406) and the 3G toggle on SBSettings does turn 3G off making the 4s to stick to 2G network.
Ahh thanks for that info. Might be an obvious question but do you notice an improvement in battery life since it doesn't switch from 3G to 2G back and forth?
TM WAZZA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 01:07 AM   #30
jmcgeejr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattMJB0188 View Post
OP: If you want the 3G toggle for the 4s, why not just wait for iOS 5.1 to be released? Apple has added the toggle back in this version for 4s users.
Or just jailbreak now with the untether option, sbsettings has the 3g toggle in it. I am using it on mine right now.
jmcgeejr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 01:57 AM   #31
Quad 2.5 G5 =)
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Send a message via Skype™ to Quad 2.5 G5 =)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcgeejr View Post
Or just jailbreak now with the untether option, sbsettings has the 3g toggle in it. I am using it on mine right now.
Yup yup...no need for iOS 5.1 now. I'm probably going to turn 3G off all day tomorrow, to see what it does for battery life.
__________________
MBP 2.4, SR, 17", 4GB, 320GB HD, 8600M GT.
iPhone 4S, 32GB, White, AT&T
Machines built before everyone had a "-Pro" machine. (Yes, I'm talking to you, 13" MacBook Pro users..)
Quad 2.5 G5 =) is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 05:32 AM   #32
DroidRules
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I however have a 3G button on my 5.0.1 4s under sbsetting.... It rock's

Last edited by balamw; Mar 8, 2012 at 10:06 AM. Reason: Removed reference to edited post
DroidRules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 10:18 PM   #33
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by DroidRules View Post
I however have a 3G button on my 5.0.1 4s under sbsetting.... It rock's
does it switch you to EDGE or GPRS?

I'm going to jailbreak it now...

Last edited by balamw; Mar 8, 2012 at 10:06 AM. Reason: Edited quote
apollo1444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2012, 04:12 AM   #34
Quad 2.5 G5 =)
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Send a message via Skype™ to Quad 2.5 G5 =)
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo1444 View Post
does it switch you to EDGE or GPRS?

I'm going to jailbreak it now...
Edge.
__________________
MBP 2.4, SR, 17", 4GB, 320GB HD, 8600M GT.
iPhone 4S, 32GB, White, AT&T
Machines built before everyone had a "-Pro" machine. (Yes, I'm talking to you, 13" MacBook Pro users..)
Quad 2.5 G5 =) is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2012, 04:14 AM   #35
TM WAZZA
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
So I've had 3G off for good now with the jailbreak. Because it doesn't switch constantly between 2G and 3G I've noticed improved battery life!

Oh man, jailbreaking is the ****! And ColorProfiles, oh yeah.
TM WAZZA is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2012, 08:04 AM   #36
nwlondonlad
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK London
Send a message via MSN to nwlondonlad
This is great news. I know this was gonna come out in 5.1 but now you can just use sbsettings if jailbroken
__________________
MacBook Air 2012, iPad mini 64GB LTE, iPhone 5 64GB, iPhone 6+ 128GB
nwlondonlad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2012, 08:57 PM   #37
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
just jailbroked yesterday, works like a charm! EDGE toggle on sbsettings rocks
apollo1444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 08:12 AM   #38
aneagle
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
It's safe to update to 5.1

It's been confirmed: ENABLE 3G button is back on iOS 5.1
aneagle is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 09:12 AM   #39
Kyotoma
macrumors 68000
 
Kyotoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Carnegie and Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by aneagle View Post
It's been confirmed: ENABLE 3G button is back on iOS 5.1
We have known this for quite some time.
__________________
Black 4GB 2nd Gen iPod Nano, Black 30GB 5th Gen 'Video' iPod Classic, White 16 GB iPhone 3GS, White 16GB iPhone 4(GSM AT&T), Black 16GB iPhone 5(A1429), 32GB 1st Gen iPad WiFi, 16GB 2nd Gen Nexus 7
Kyotoma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 09:42 AM   #40
wymi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by aneagle View Post
It's been confirmed: ENABLE 3G button is back on iOS 5.1
Confirmed for what carriers?
wymi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 11:21 AM   #41
minik
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bellevue, WA
Not on AT&T, but my friends on O2 (UK) and 3 (Hong Kong) have enable 3G back on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.PNG
Views:	8
Size:	173.7 KB
ID:	328177  
__________________
Flickr, twitter.
minik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2012, 01:10 AM   #42
aneagle
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wymi View Post
Confirmed for what carriers?
More info from various sources indicates the 3G button doesn't show if:
- the carrier is CDMA
- GSM 3G only
aneagle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 11:11 AM   #43
yea, sure
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by aneagle View Post
More info from various sources indicates the 3G button doesn't show if:
- the carrier is CDMA
- GSM 3G only
GSM is not a carrier. by carrier he means service provider. ie, sprint, verizon, at&t. i saw you on another forum saying this toggle is back. it's not back, it's available for whatever carrier you are on. it's not available for at&t. at least i haven't read anything about it.

as far as getting a 3g toggle in sbsettings, that's also not true. on the default theme it shows an E for data. if you choose the "serious" theme, the data button will say "data". BOTH however are tied to the functionality of the cellular data button in the iphone's general settings.

you don't revert to 2g. you just turn cellular data off.
yea, sure is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 11:33 AM   #44
vartanarsen
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
sorry to revive an old thread

hi guys, sorry to revive an old thread, but here is my scenario..

Jailbroken for about 7 months now on 4s....ATT.

I used both SBSettings and iFile to bring back the ability to restrict 3G and stay on edge.

However, here is what I am noticing...in the middle of the night, or some unforseen time, I'll notice the phone itself or maybe ATT is kicking it off Edge....They really dont want you to use Edge.

I wake up and and use my phone, just to see that the ig 3G symbol on the status bar, even though I know i Physically turned it off the night before via SBSettings or the actual toggle brought back by iFile.


Anyone else experiencing this? Its annoying...just let me use Edge on standby....I'll use 3G when I WANT to...when surfing or whatever....
vartanarsen is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stick with MBP or switch back to Windows? Elmzeh MacBook Pro 71 Jul 5, 2013 09:56 PM
Do I need two sims if I want to switch back and forth? Pinkstiletto66 iPhone 3 Apr 26, 2013 11:51 AM
Can't switch back to OS X from Windows iamb hi Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Feb 11, 2013 08:59 PM
iPad: Happy iPad Mini owners, switch back to next 9.7 iPad if same weight? jqc iPad 24 Jan 27, 2013 12:22 AM
Back out of preorder/carrier switch? Silverstring iPhone 0 Sep 14, 2012 09:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC