Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 6, 2012, 03:13 AM   #1
hedho
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Imac 27" can't see camera with USB extender

For the first time I've taken my iMac27"out on a job with the same
software I run on my iMac24" & MBP 17".

My Canon 1ds Mk3 & 5D2 both run using the tethered system in
Lightroom 4.2 with no problems, using a 5m active USB extender.
They work all day long every day. But the 24" is running a bit slow with LR4.2, that's a WHOLE other issue (thanks Adobe).

So my problem is that, with the iMac27, the 1dsmk3 is not recognised by
the computer or LR4 when using the cable extension. BUT, if I use
the standard Canon length cord (approx 2 ft) it works fine.
So probably some power issue with the USB port?

I tried it in every port, and the same result, except the port closest to the headphone jack made the screen/computer freeze, when the camera was plugged in.

I also did a computer restart , Cmd-Opt-P-R to reset the PRAM etc.
Still no luck. I tried a different 5m active extender, and they same thing happened. I even had an error code come up on my camera "ERR70"
which can relate to a whole lot of image issues.

Can anyone let me know what I can do to test why the USB ports may have some confliction with the USB extension?

Thanks
Geoff (Auckland , NZ)
hedho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 07:05 PM   #2
ijohn.8.80
macrumors 65816
 
ijohn.8.80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Adelaide, Oztwaylya.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hedho View Post
For the first time I've taken my iMac27"out on a job with the same
software I run on my iMac24" & MBP 17".

So my problem is that, with the iMac27, the 1dsmk3 is not recognised by
the computer or LR4 when using the cable extension. BUT, if I use
the standard Canon length cord (approx 2 ft) it works fine.
So probably some power issue with the USB port?

Thanks
Geoff (Auckland , NZ)
Only suggestion I have is to try it with plugging it into a powered USB hub which is then fed to the iMac. Let us know if this works. It resolves this sort of issue for me with other USB devices like DJ, midi and video controllers.

-------------

Another suggestion or query for you actually Geoff. You are using the DC power pack to power your extension aren't you? An active USB extension only properly works when it's powered. My suspicion is that the camera is trying to get charged and this is too much draw for the cable length you're using.

As I said above, I have to then plug this into a powered usb hub to get my controllers working from a distance.
__________________
YouTube is not the resurrection of Dada

Last edited by ijohn.8.80; Dec 9, 2012 at 02:03 AM. Reason: A second thought about this...
ijohn.8.80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 07:20 PM   #3
scottgoh
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
i think i read it somewhere that there is a limit to the usb wire length and as the wire gets longer, power are loss.
the shorther the cable the more power that can be transmitted to the unit.

try replacing the usb cable. hopefully, that helps.

I may be wrong but just my thought.


ijohn.8.80, i am from adelaide too. nice to meet u.
Scott
__________________
Website, Blog
South Australia Wedding and Newborn Photographer, iMac27" 2012
scottgoh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:19 PM   #4
ijohn.8.80
macrumors 65816
 
ijohn.8.80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Adelaide, Oztwaylya.
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottgoh View Post
ijohn.8.80, i am from adelaide too. nice to meet u.
Scott
Welcome to the group. They are very friendly here. No egos, no dictators!
__________________
YouTube is not the resurrection of Dada
ijohn.8.80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 09:35 AM   #5
nelupasilk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
I have used Cat5 USB 2.0 Extender solutions in the past and they work well. I am not sure about the active extension cables. It might the quality of the cable you are using.
nelupasilk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 04:40 PM   #6
Designer Dale
macrumors 68040
 
Designer Dale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Folding space
Here's a link to a post on Canon error codes from another forum.

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...0&postcount=11

I looked up the 17 in iMac at EveryMac.com and the USB ports carry 7 watts of power. Not a lot over a longer cable. Try using the keyboard USB port on the computer. I've heard it has more power.

Dale
__________________
How to Post, Quote and Multi-Quote Photos - My Google Docs Folder 12/2011
I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message.
Designer Dale is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is better: Powered USB Extender or USB over CAT5? Qwerty11 Mac Peripherals 3 Dec 1, 2013 06:13 AM
Which is better, USB over Cat 5 or using a powered USB extender for 20 + feet runs? Qwerty11 Mac Peripherals 1 Oct 28, 2013 12:31 AM
wifi extender problem-mac gets full signal but "internet not connected" madeirabhoy Mac Basics and Help 2 Sep 16, 2013 05:28 AM
All iPads: USB Extender ONLY extends data and sync capabilities, nothing else, help! AnonMac50 iPad Accessories 7 Feb 3, 2013 12:10 PM
Connecting a USB HDD to an airport express acting as a network extender Adam R Mac Peripherals 3 Dec 17, 2012 10:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC