Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 13, 2012, 11:10 AM   #1
Brannigan's Law
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Max Hard Drive Size (PowerPC OS X 10.5)

What is the max hard drive size (for a non boot drive) on a PowerPC running OS X 10.5? I'm getting mixed results when searching online. Is it 2.2TB, or can I get up to 3TB?

I ask because I have two 3TB hard drives set up in RAID 1. It seems to be working and verify disk says that the drives are "OK." However, I want to make sure that this is stable before I start using it heavily.

This is why I ask. A number of years ago, I was able to get a 200GB drive to work on Windows XP (before to SP1), when there was a 137GB limit. However, I learned a big lesson when I came to find that data written past the boundary line would wrap around to the front of the file system and overwrite existing files. I'm sure you can see why I'd prefer to avoid this again.
Brannigan's Law is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 11:37 AM   #2
SimonUK5
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Send a message via AIM to SimonUK5 Send a message via MSN to SimonUK5 Send a message via Skype™ to SimonUK5
What machine is this on?
__________________
2013 Macbook Air 11' 1.3/8GB | 2012 Mac Mini 2.5/4GB | 2009 Mac Pro 3.2 Quad / 12Gb | 2008 Black Macbook 2.4/4GB
SimonUK5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 12:29 PM   #3
ppcg4mac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Somewhere Else
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brannigan's Law View Post
What is the max hard drive size (for a non boot drive) on a PowerPC running OS X 10.5?
It is completely machine dependent, download the 10.5 compatible version of Mactracker here. This will tell you if your machine has a limit on HD size.
__________________

iPod Touch 2g 16 GB, Dell Optiplex 755, Pentium 3 "Server", Whatever the library runs.
ppcg4mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 01:24 PM   #4
Brannigan's Law
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Sorry, here are the specs.

Mactracker Details

Project Name: Cypher
Introduced: October 2005
Discontinued: August 2006
Model Identifier: PowerMac11,2
Model Number: A1117 (2.0 GHz)
Order Number: M9590LL/A (2.0 GHz), M9591LL/A (2.3 GHz), M9592LL/A (dual 2.5 GHz)
Support Status: Vintage
Weight and Dimensions: 44.5 - 48.8 lbs., 20.1" H x 8.1" W x 18.7" D

Processor: PowerPC 970MP (G5)
Processor Speed: 2.0, 2.3, or dual 2.5 GHz
Number of Cores: 2 per processor
Cache: 64K (instruction), 32K (data) L1, 1MB L2 per core
System Bus: 1.0, 1.15, or dual 1.25 GHz

Last edited by Brannigan's Law; Dec 13, 2012 at 01:39 PM.
Brannigan's Law is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 01:29 PM   #5
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
If you format the drive with GUID, not bootable in a PPC Mac, you can put in any drive size currently on the market.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 01:57 PM   #6
Brannigan's Law
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
If you format the drive with GUID, not bootable in a PPC Mac, you can put in any drive size currently on the market.
Currently, the two 3TB hard drives (RAID 1) are using the Apple Partition Map scheme. I know that this is old school, but can I leave it like this, or does it need to be reformatted with GUID.
Brannigan's Law is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 02:27 PM   #7
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brannigan's Law View Post
Currently, the two 3TB hard drives (RAID 1) are using the Apple Partition Map scheme. I know that this is old school, but can I leave it like this, or does it need to be reformatted with GUID.
100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 gigabytes

the drive size is unlimited

Last edited by rabidz7; Dec 13, 2012 at 02:27 PM. Reason: typo
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 03:07 PM   #8
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
I don't know how you were even able to format those drives as APM. Disk Utility won't do it. I strongly advise you to change them to GUID.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 04:42 PM   #9
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
OP, if you don't mind, please post a screenshot of this HDD in DU, especially partition scheme. It's second time on MR when someone did partition over 2.2TB with APM (what seems to be impossible APM specs-wise).

I second Intell's advice: reformat them to GUID if you want to be sure that data written over 2.2TB will be safe.

Last edited by 666sheep; Dec 13, 2012 at 05:05 PM. Reason: typo
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 05:01 PM   #10
Brannigan's Law
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
OP, if you don't mind, please post a screenshot of this HDD in DU, especially partition scheme. It's second time on MR when someone did partition over 2.2TB with APM (what seems to be impossible APM specs-wise).

I second Intell's advice: reformat the to GUID if you want to be sure that data written over 2.2TB will be safe.
Sorry, I already reformatted the drives to GUID. I had a problem with this before, but it worked fine now. The drives were indeed in Apple Partition Map. I'm not sure how the heck it was done, but it was. The weird thing was, when I looked at the individual drives they both had two partitions. One was something like 256MB (I can't remember) and the other was the remaining was the 3TB. Weird.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
I don't know how you were even able to format those drives as APM. Disk Utility won't do it. I strongly advise you to change them to GUID.
Also, this was done in disk utility. I really wish that I could post a picture, as I agree that this definitely sounds dubious.
Brannigan's Law is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive size limit for PS4? Taustin Powers Console Games 6 Mar 28, 2014 08:40 PM
NewerTech Releases miniStack MAX Hard Drive/Blu-Ray Burner/SD Card Reader/USB Hub MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 88 Dec 23, 2013 04:57 PM
Mac Pro 5,1 -Max hard drive storage? deckard666 Mac Pro 17 May 24, 2013 11:52 PM
Ideal bootcamp partition size for windows 7 on a 150GB hard drive kndllalx Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Oct 26, 2012 11:10 PM
google chrome sending more information than my hard drive size limit via ksfetch sa3er Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 11, 2012 08:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC