Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:16 AM   #1
CBillups1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
any dangers from upgrading ram? SERIOUS

i bought this the other day and it arrives tomorrow, i wanna upgrade my ram but i dont want it to fry or damage my laptop, can anything go wrong? im not rich and cannt afford to lose this laptop

http://www.ebay.com/itm/8GB-2-X-4GB-...item2c57483a2b
CBillups1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:29 AM   #2
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Yes, things can go wrong.

You could get faulty RAM off ebay
You could break the sockets if you are a muppet and use too much force inserting ram incorrectly.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:31 AM   #3
ChrisMan287
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NY.
Remember to destatic yourself as well.
__________________
15" PowerBook G4, 1.67GHz, 2GB RAM, 250GB HD ; 16GB iPad2.
ChrisMan287 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 01:05 AM   #4
CBillups1
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
Yes, things can go wrong.

You could get faulty RAM off ebay
You could break the sockets if you are a muppet and use too much force inserting ram incorrectly.

ok what will a faulty ram do/cause?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisMan287 View Post
Remember to destatic yourself as well.

how do you destatic yourself?
CBillups1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:31 AM   #5
Zotaccian
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
In most cases faulty ram just does not work, computer might not boot up or may hang during use. It usually does not damage the computer itself, but of course that could also happen, depending on how the ram is damaged, but most cases no damage to the computer is done.

Touch metal before handling components to destatic yourself, do not wear clothing which may produce static eletricity.
__________________
Macbook 2008 C2D 2.1GHz / 4GB / 500GB / SuperDrive / 10.7.5
Zotaccian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:39 PM   #6
CBillups1
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
sucked it up and installed it. computer reads it a 8GB so thats good.

am i in the clear now? also auction shows 1066MHZ but on my macbook its showing as 1333MHZ
CBillups1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 11:30 PM   #7
CBillups1
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
bumpp?
CBillups1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 12:28 AM   #8
ChrisMan287
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NY.
You're in the clear. Good job.
__________________
15" PowerBook G4, 1.67GHz, 2GB RAM, 250GB HD ; 16GB iPad2.
ChrisMan287 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 01:27 AM   #9
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
I'd run the apple hardware test and do a memory test to make sure it is all good.

RAM can detect as 8gb, and work up to a certain amount but cause crashes. Before trusting it, i'd run apple hardware test to make sure it is working correctly.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 01:59 PM   #10
CBillups1
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
I'd run the apple hardware test and do a memory test to make sure it is all good.

RAM can detect as 8gb, and work up to a certain amount but cause crashes. Before trusting it, i'd run apple hardware test to make sure it is working correctly.

whats hardware test? do you mean tech tool deluxe?
CBillups1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 03:44 PM   #11
Zotaccian
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Apple Hardware Test is included on the original install disks, you boot from that disk to run tests.

This program can also be used:

http://www.kelleycomputing.net:16080/rember/
__________________
Macbook 2008 C2D 2.1GHz / 4GB / 500GB / SuperDrive / 10.7.5
Zotaccian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 02:08 PM   #12
brop52
macrumors 68000
 
brop52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri
Agreed. I would fully test it with extended Apple Hardware Testing. I wouldn't trust ebay for RAM.

I would have bought this Crucial set for $32.99 (after $5 off) if I was you.
__________________
2.0 GHz Alum Late 2008 MB, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD/SSD Momentus XT Hybrid; Wife's: 2.5GHz mid-2012 MBP, 16GB RAM, 500GB 5400 RPM HDD; 32GB Black iPhone 4S
brop52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC