Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 11, 2012, 03:28 PM   #76
Digital Skunk
macrumors 604
 
Digital Skunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In my imagination
Quote:
Originally Posted by GorgonPhone View Post
yeah i would skip the retina macs.. not worth the extra money at this time
Maybe for the 13" but even that machine's screen is just beautiful to work on. $1700 for a machine with integrated GPU is a bit much to swallow (for some) regardless of resolution.

The 15" rMBP is just about where the 17" MBP was before they axed it. Now, if you were talking about a killer mobile workstation then sure, but then you are making a drastic shift in weight.
__________________
What do I have?, stuff that I actually use for work! Some old, some new, all effective.
Digital Skunk is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 04:08 PM   #77
agenda893
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaweesak View Post
Update the Adobe Application Manager to the latest version (6.2), and everything should be updating as it should.

http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=4774
THANK YOU. I tried downloading from adobe direct and had no luck, same error that update wasn't for me. After I updated Adobe Application Manager things upgraded fine from in the app. Everything looks so much better (minus the photoshop icon on my dock being blank, will reboot and see if it comes back).

MacRumors is now 2 for 2. First I couldn't get the retina update for office to work until I read the work around in the forums here. Now CS6 was the same thing.
agenda893 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 06:11 PM   #78
beestigbeestje
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Send a message via AIM to beestigbeestje
Quote:
Originally Posted by Konstruktor View Post
Dank u! Thanks!

I don't think I quite understand it yet though .
In your above example, is the PS canvas 100px or 200px?
And how is a 100px canvas displayed in PS? With 200 'retina' pixels, or 100 'retina' pixels (e.g. smaller then another screen)?

100px file in canvas (true pixels) is only 50px (scaled) in the rMBP PS screen canvas, so it's way smaller to see it. You have to make twice the canvas size to make it regular for retina and then /2 for regular dpi.
If you want to test it for yourself, you can download a trial from adobe.com
good luck!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uplift View Post
I hardly ever use save for web.

As a test i created 1024x768/72 canvas, this was quite small... when i save this (save as) on retina it will come out as 512x384 ? and on non-retina it will display normal. So to accomodate for retina i need to create my documents at 2048x1536px/72 .. when i save this on retina it will give me 1024x768px, but on non-retina it will be twice the size (2048x1536px) .. to over come this i just need to set the size of the image on the web so that it displays correctly?

Do we keep the resolution at 72?

What about background images, we can only use background-size in IE9+ so thats not a viable solution.

I try to keep image use low and use CSS where possible so i'm hoping it's not going to be a major issue.

Finally, what about print? If i create an A4 poster at 210x297mm/300, is this exactly what i'm getting?
Printing stays the same. keep the resolution at 72dpi, adjust image size. Just point it out in css which image to use. The regular or the 2x retina size. Can't comment on IE9.
__________________
Santa Rosa Macbook pro 2.4Ghz 4gb RAM
Retina Macbook Pro 15 inch 2,6ghz 16gb ram
iPhone 4 - AppleTV 2 - iPad 2
beestigbeestje is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 08:31 PM   #79
AndyDiamond
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
I'm digging the updates - vector graphics in Illustrator are like printed pages - awesome.

Now if someone can revive Freehand for 10.8 and Retina display I would be very happy...

QuarkXpress please.
__________________
"Today's Macs are blazingly fast but people still whine about them not having stuff they'll never use on them anyway."
AndyDiamond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 08:52 PM   #80
haruhiko
macrumors 68030
 
haruhiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by stueee123 View Post
Don't update Adobe Application Manager with a patch from Adobe's website. Hope this helps
Thanks but sh** I updated the AAM. Do I need a re-install?



Update: Fixed by completely removing CS 6 including the Adobe folders in Library and User Library. Then installed again and activated it offline.
__________________
Mac: rMBP'12, iMac'08/24", Mini'09, MBP'10/15", MBA'11/13". iPhone: 5s/64S 5/64B, 4S/64W, 4/32B, 3GS/16. iPT: 3G,1G. iPad: Air,Mini2,4,3/LTE/64 2/3G/32, 1/WiFi/16. ATV'12,'11, AEBS'09, TC'13/2TB

Last edited by haruhiko; Dec 12, 2012 at 10:52 AM.
haruhiko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 11:53 PM   #81
bizzaregood
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: MA, US
Send a message via AIM to bizzaregood
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyAndre View Post
Ugh. I can't get it working!

BTW, anyone hating on the RMBP has probably never used one.

Edit: Not applicable to me. YES IT IS ADOBE, I PAY YOU GUYS AND HAVE A RMBP

Edit #2: Okay guys, in Photoshop go into "Help" / "Updates ..."

This is the only way to get it working and lemme say, it's well worth it.
Does not work for me . Going to try Updating the updater..(?) i Guess

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by stueee123 View Post
If you're having problems getting the update on applications acquired through unsavoury means, try reinstalling the applications, and immediately updating them as soon as they're installed. Then replace the amt.framework file after the update (your second time doing it). Don't update Adobe Application Manager with a patch from Adobe's website. Hope this helps
Dont get why you say to replace the amt.framework file... unless this is due to your means to make it run. Ill reinstall if I have to but I want to try the update to the updater first


Thanks everyone
bizzaregood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 02:13 AM   #82
Northgrove
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
The Retina MBP is the best laptop that I've had the pleasure to use and a bit like a dream laptop for me. It ticks all boxes while also running my favorite OS right now, especially with Windows 8 on the horizon. The Windows future looks so bleak right now, for my tastes. Going there would be like buying myself into something that I didn't believe in. But I'm hoping for Adobe to get Lightroom 4.3 done now. I've moved to a Lightroom <-> Alien Skin Exposure / Silver Efex Pro workflow for my photography needs. Having Retina support throughout Lightroom would be fantastic.
__________________
iPhone 5 rMBP 15" (2012)
Northgrove is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 11:44 AM   #83
ibd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrxak View Post
Hopefully they get Lightroom updated by the time I get a retina display.
their newest release candidate has retina support already, you can find the download quickly on google. Have fun!
ibd is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 12:54 PM   #84
Denisoftus
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Dreamweaver is now updated to support retina too. Enjoy
Denisoftus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 05:11 PM   #85
peterbanks
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaweesak
Update the Adobe Application Manager to the latest version (6.2), and everything should be updating as it should.

http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=4774

Quote:
Originally Posted by agenda893 View Post
THANK YOU. I tried downloading from adobe direct and had no luck, same error that update wasn't for me. After I updated Adobe Application Manager things upgraded fine from in the app. Everything looks so much better.

This worked for me as well. I was having the same issues as above and downloading the Application Manager (6.2) solved it.

Thank you.
peterbanks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 09:42 AM   #86
mrxak
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Drifting through space in a broken escape pod
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibd View Post
their newest release candidate has retina support already, you can find the download quickly on google. Have fun!
Sure enough, a "Lightroom Update Available" dialog popped up just now with HiDPI support as the first thing in the change log. I don't need it yet, but it's nice that 4.3 is out already for those with MBRs.
__________________
Phones Will Kill You
mrxak is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 03:23 PM   #87
Badagri
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrxak View Post
Sure enough, a "Lightroom Update Available" dialog popped up just now with HiDPI support as the first thing in the change log. I don't need it yet, but it's nice that 4.3 is out already for those with MBRs.
What are the other updates though?

Quote:
Corrections and bug fixes for issues introduced in previous versions of Lightroom.
Badagri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 11:06 PM   #88
wmarkusen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
If only the update worked properly on my MBP.

Updated Photoshop and Illustrator on my MBP, yet the interfaces are still choppy and pixellated. Several hours on the phone over the past two days with Adobe and they still have not managed to help me resolve the issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comeagain? View Post
If only I had a retina MBP to utilize the new update...
wmarkusen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 09:21 AM   #89
beestigbeestje
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Send a message via AIM to beestigbeestje
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmarkusen View Post
If only the update worked properly on my MBP.

Updated Photoshop and Illustrator on my MBP, yet the interfaces are still choppy and pixellated. Several hours on the phone over the past two days with Adobe and they still have not managed to help me resolve the issue.
I downloaded from adobe.com fresh and then had to do 2 updates afterwards before it managed to go retina.
__________________
Santa Rosa Macbook pro 2.4Ghz 4gb RAM
Retina Macbook Pro 15 inch 2,6ghz 16gb ram
iPhone 4 - AppleTV 2 - iPad 2
beestigbeestje is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adobe CS6 and Retina Display timothytaa MacBook Pro 49 May 8, 2014 08:26 AM
Adobe Updates Photoshop Lightroom With Retina Support MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 14 Dec 15, 2012 01:52 AM
Photoshop CS6 Retina Display Support Coming on December 11? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 68 Dec 11, 2012 11:14 AM
Retina Display Support Coming to Photoshop CS6 and Lightroom 4 in 'Coming Months' [Updated] MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 93 Aug 31, 2012 06:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC