Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:46 PM   #1
TH55
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
I just upgraded my Internet to 5 mbps....what kind of router do I need for fast wifi?

I have a 7 year old Linksys router that my friend who works for the cable company said is going to slow down or not let me get the most out of my new faster connection. What type/model router should I get? Thanks!
TH55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:59 PM   #2
zhenya
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by TH55 View Post
I have a 7 year old Linksys router that my friend who works for the cable company said is going to slow down or not let me get the most out of my new faster connection. What type/model router should I get? Thanks!
Any router made in the last 10 years will handle a 5Mbps connection with no problem.
zhenya is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 01:06 PM   #3
darkside flow
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto
I'm using a 7 year old Linksys at my office and get the full 10Mbps of my line..

5Mbps is not "new fast wifi".. it's pretty standard. I have 35Mbps at home and that's one of the slowest packages available for me. The fastest is 150Mbps.

Basically.. you'll be fine with what you've got but if you're having problems then just get the cheapest Linksys or D-Link router at your local shop.
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB // iPad 2 WiFi 16GB // Apple TV 2 // 13" rMBP, 2.5ghz i5, 8GB ram
darkside flow is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 01:28 PM   #4
TOOFY
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Long Awhlandddd, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by TH55 View Post
I have a 7 year old Linksys router that my friend who works for the cable company said is going to slow down or not let me get the most out of my new faster connection. What type/model router should I get? Thanks!
Where are you located that you had to upgrade to 5mbps? Jeez thats terribly slow. I am in Long Island, NY and we have 60/40 bundle.
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB on AT&T| iPad Air T-Mobile 16GB | Loves me some big ol tay tays
TOOFY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 01:29 PM   #5
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
^+2.

It you itching to upgrade anyways, any 802.11n 600-class with QOS should do nicely.

But when I real all the horror stories, the best router is the one you got and is doing its job. As said, any purchased last 10 year fine. Get a 50 megabit fiber Internet then ask us again.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:02 PM   #6
dinggus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
What about a NetGear WGR614v9?

My so called ComCast is 20mb/s and I don't even get more than 1.5mb down.
dinggus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:08 PM   #7
acidflame
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Yea any wireless G router will handle that. I would honestly just go buy your standard wireless n router at wallyworld for 30 or so bucks.
acidflame is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:19 PM   #8
Browns2212
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perrysburg, OH
I just upgraded about a month ago (went from AT&T DSL to a local company here in NW Ohio) and went from 6 mbps to 25 mbps. This is now a cable modem and I obviously have WiFi. It's not that I'm not happy as I seem to get pretty good speeds on WiFi (usually 10-20 mbps) but I do notice that my "bars" go down in my upstairs bedroom which is on the opposite end of the house as my router.

Are there any settings I can use to improve anything? I'm not sure of the specifics of the router as I'm at work, but it's was provided by the Cable/Internet company I am now with.

Thanks.
Browns2212 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:36 PM   #9
Interstella5555
macrumors 603
 
Interstella5555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
5mbs??? You'll be more than fine with a 7 year old router, if you're that worried pick up a new linksys router for $50 or less.
Interstella5555 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:36 PM   #10
SomeDudeAsking
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Browns2212 View Post
I just upgraded about a month ago (went from AT&T DSL to a local company here in NW Ohio) and went from 6 mbps to 25 mbps. This is now a cable modem and I obviously have WiFi. It's not that I'm not happy as I seem to get pretty good speeds on WiFi (usually 10-20 mbps) but I do notice that my "bars" go down in my upstairs bedroom which is on the opposite end of the house as my router.

Are there any settings I can use to improve anything? I'm not sure of the specifics of the router as I'm at work, but it's was provided by the Cable/Internet company I am now with.

Thanks.
The wifi routers provided by internet companies are usually just budget low end models and there is not much you can do to improve them. If you want good performance and range, there is a big difference between the cheap ones given to you and the top notch ones. The best of the best wifi routers have 3 large replacable external antennaes with adjustable power throughput for increased range and increased sensitivity for reception.
SomeDudeAsking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:37 PM   #11
Interstella5555
macrumors 603
 
Interstella5555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Browns2212 View Post
I just upgraded about a month ago (went from AT&T DSL to a local company here in NW Ohio) and went from 6 mbps to 25 mbps. This is now a cable modem and I obviously have WiFi. It's not that I'm not happy as I seem to get pretty good speeds on WiFi (usually 10-20 mbps) but I do notice that my "bars" go down in my upstairs bedroom which is on the opposite end of the house as my router.

Are there any settings I can use to improve anything? I'm not sure of the specifics of the router as I'm at work, but it's was provided by the Cable/Internet company I am now with.

Thanks.
Science in real life!!! Either get an extender or physically move the router closer, the signal is getting blocked by walls, whatever you have in the walls, and general distance.
Interstella5555 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:42 PM   #12
TM WAZZA
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkside flow View Post

5Mbps is not "new fast wifi".. it's pretty standard. I have 35Mbps at home and that's one of the slowest packages available for me. The fastest is 150Mbps.
I wished where I live 35Mbps was the slowest package...
TM WAZZA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:44 PM   #13
Browns2212
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interstella5555 View Post
Science in real life!!! Either get an extender or physically move the router closer, the signal is getting blocked by walls, whatever you have in the walls, and general distance.
I obviously understand that it's going to happen, but I was just curious because I live in a neighborhood where I get a stronger signal from a house that is literally 200 feet away. Plus, in some other threads there were people talking about changing settings to get a better signal, etc.

Its not like my WiFI doesn't work in that particular room, again, I was just asking if I could make it "better". That's all.

Last edited by Browns2212; Dec 14, 2012 at 02:52 PM.
Browns2212 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:48 PM   #14
nwmtnbiker
macrumors 65816
 
nwmtnbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Fidalgo Island
Quote:
Originally Posted by Browns2212 View Post
I obviously understand that it's going to happen, but I was just curious because I live and a neighborhood where I get a stronger signal from a house that is literally 200 feet away. Plus, in some other threads there were people talking about changing settings to get a better signal, etc.

Its not like my WiFI doesn't work in that particular room, again, I was just asking if I could make it "better". That's all.
I'd just try moving the router might be some unknown electronic nearby causing interference?
nwmtnbiker is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:50 PM   #15
SomeDudeAsking
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Browns2212 View Post
I obviously understand that it's going to happen, but I was just curious because I live and a neighborhood where I get a stronger signal from a house that is literally 200 feet away. Plus, in some other threads there were people talking about changing settings to get a better signal, etc.

Its not like my WiFI doesn't work in that particular room, again, I was just asking if I could make it "better". That's all.
You could go knock on the door of the house with the really strong wifi signal and ask them to turn down the power.
SomeDudeAsking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:51 PM   #16
stuaz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Wish I had 5Mbps

I have to make do with my 0.5mbps.....
stuaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:52 PM   #17
darkside flow
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by TM WAZZA View Post
I wished where I live 35Mbps was the slowest package...
It was 20Mbps down/1Mbps up and they recently gave a free upgrade to 35Mbps down and 3Mbps up.
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB // iPad 2 WiFi 16GB // Apple TV 2 // 13" rMBP, 2.5ghz i5, 8GB ram
darkside flow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 05:25 PM   #18
Megalobyte
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Browns2212 View Post
I obviously understand that it's going to happen, but I was just curious because I live in a neighborhood where I get a stronger signal from a house that is literally 200 feet away. Plus, in some other threads there were people talking about changing settings to get a better signal, etc.

Its not like my WiFI doesn't work in that particular room, again, I was just asking if I could make it "better". That's all.

Some routers allow you to adjust the transmit power, my Asus came set to an 80 mw default. I upped it to 150, am getting better signal in the marginal areas in and around my house. Some say boosting the tx power doesn't matter, in my case it did.
Megalobyte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 05:28 PM   #19
SomeDudeAsking
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megalobyte View Post
Some routers allow you to adjust the transmit power, my Asus came set to an 80 mw default. I upped it to 150, am getting better signal in the marginal areas in and around my house. Some say boosting the tx power doesn't matter, in my case it did.
Only 150? Mine is set to 250.
SomeDudeAsking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 05:29 PM   #20
TH55
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interstella5555 View Post
5mbs??? You'll be more than fine with a 7 year old router, if you're that worried pick up a new linksys router for $50 or less.
Will that speed up my wifi at all?
TH55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 05:34 PM   #21
SomeDudeAsking
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TH55 View Post
Will that speed up my wifi at all?
Maybe. If your old router is a 802.11b one then you will definitely get better throughput with a new router with your new connection. If your old router is a 802.11g one, don't bother buying anything.
SomeDudeAsking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 05:38 PM   #22
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TH55 View Post
Will that speed up my wifi at all?

A faster WIFI router will speed up the devices INSIDE YOUR HOUSE talking to each other but WILL NOT speed up Internet.

Is like this: You home town got wide boulevards, 10 lanes roads, but the only one highway leading you outside the town is only a single lane. Now you ask if I widen my town's roads to 20 lanes will it gets me faster out of town? NO. But it will get you faster to your neighbor 3 blocks away. WIFI stays inside your house, it doesn't "get out."
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 05:47 PM   #23
darster
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
That's one lousy cable company. At that speed, they should not be charging you more than $5 a month for internet.
darster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 07:08 PM   #24
TH55
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeDudeAsking View Post
Maybe. If your old router is a 802.11b one then you will definitely get better throughput with a new router with your new connection. If your old router is a 802.11g one, don't bother buying anything.
I have the Linksys WRT54G. How do I find out if it's 802.11b or g?
TH55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 07:13 PM   #25
SomeDudeAsking
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TH55 View Post
I have the Linksys WRT54G. How do I find out if it's 802.11b or g?
The WRT54G is a 802.11g router, hence the G in both names. There is no need to buy another router as it is rated for a theoretical 54 mbps throughput with a more real world throughput of 25 mbps. It is faster than what your Internet connection can do.
SomeDudeAsking is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgraded from 4s to 5s - Internet Speed WOW zumajoe iPhone 6 Sep 27, 2013 05:50 PM
TC as Router without WiFi and AEBS as WiFi Access Point southerndoc Mac Peripherals 1 Jun 1, 2013 02:38 AM
Macbook no longer automatically connects to upgraded router. richimages OS X 1 Dec 27, 2012 01:33 PM
Mac wifi internet slow after ML upgrade, PC still fast heyjack70 MacBook Air 16 Nov 30, 2012 03:19 AM
Owners of 2007/2008 MBPs upgraded with SSD: are you still happy? Ubele MacBook Pro 0 Nov 16, 2012 02:32 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC