Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 14, 2012, 08:59 PM   #1
stevetom
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
New Samsung monitors????

I recently threw out my space consuming CRT monitors and bought two new Samsung S19B 150N LED monitors, connected them, and nothing. The monitors each work with another computer and the G5 shows up on a different monitor, so everything is working separately but not together. Any suggestions please???? Somebody suggested that maybe the monitors are too new for the graphics card. If so, what card should I go for to run the two monitors. I'm just an ageing video editor. I don't do gaming.

It is a pretty old dual core G5 running an early OSX.
stevetom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 09:09 PM   #2
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Most monitors now days come dual equipped. By that I mean they are DVI and VGA. If the monitors work connected to another computer, but not on the G5 maybe it's down to the mode?

What I mean by that is that you can switch the input mode from VGA to DVI and back. If you have the monitors hooked up to the G5 using DVI (Digital) but have the mode set to VGA (Analog) you won't see anything.

My work G5 also requires an adapter to convert from Apple's interface to DVI (it's got a dual monitor card). I don't believe you can insert a DVI cable directly into that port but you never now. If you did though, it wouldn't work as you need an adapter.
__________________
Sprint iPhone 5: 64GB Black/Slate iOS 7.1.2: Jailbroken
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 10:41 PM   #3
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevetom View Post
I recently threw out my space consuming CRT monitors and bought two new Samsung S19B 150N LED monitors, connected them, and nothing. The monitors each work with another computer and the G5 shows up on a different monitor, so everything is working separately but not together. Any suggestions please???? Somebody suggested that maybe the monitors are too new for the graphics card. If so, what card should I go for to run the two monitors. I'm just an ageing video editor. I don't do gaming.

It is a pretty old dual core G5 running an early OSX.
I'm a little confused. Do you mean that the monitors are showing the smae image on both monitors and not extending, or they are extended but no in the right configuration so that when you move the cursor off the side it goes to the wrong monitor. Or is it video issue?
I don't believe it's a video card issue- I run a 23" and 17" monitor on extended display with no problems on the original video card. Yours has an equal or better, so you should be OK there.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 11:28 PM   #4
jbarley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver Island
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
I'm a little confused. Do you mean that the monitors are showing the smae image on both monitors and not extending, or they are extended but no in the right configuration so that when you move the cursor off the side it goes to the wrong monitor.
You're more then a little confused. He said when he plugged the new monitors into his computer he gets NOTHING.
__________________
If a man speaks out while in the forest, and there is no woman there to hear him, is he still wrong?
jbarley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 04:08 PM   #5
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
These displays run @1366 x 768 natively and do have only D-Sub input, according to Samsung: http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/p...B150NS/EN-spec

It's probably the source of your problem. What graphics card do you have? GeForce 6600 maybe? If so, most probably the card does not support this resolution. These do have problems with some panoramic resolutions.

You can try to force 1366 x 768 using SwitchResX. If it won't work, you need other card or displays.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mid 2012 rMBP 15" and 4K, UHD, Samsung U28D590D Monitors iphone5att64 MacBook Pro 51 Oct 17, 2014 12:06 PM
Monitors, Monitors, Monitors... 2013 Air (13") logo3801 MacBook Air 7 Mar 2, 2014 10:12 PM
Dual Samsung monitors & new mac PRO stargunz Mac Basics and Help 0 Nov 5, 2013 07:44 AM
Samsung S24B300EL vs Dell U2312HM (Monitors for Mac Mini) tears2040 Mac mini 26 Oct 30, 2012 07:44 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC