Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 15, 2012, 10:24 AM   #1
wxgeek
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Beginner Developer - Need a Little Help

OK...I have the latest Xcode SDK installed on my Macbook Pro. I have updated my Iphone to IOS6. So now I'm trying to set the Iphone so I can run apps that I develop on my Iphone. I went to the IOS Portal and ran the Provisioning Assistant. However, when I build my little hello xcode app it fails becasue xcode says the appid is wrong. I've included 2 screen captures to illustrate the problem.

So my questions are

1) How can I change the current provisioning profile to allow this app to run on my iPhone? The app compiles and runs just fine on the Iphone Simulator.

2) Are there videos out there that show this process in detail?

Jim
wxgeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 12:23 PM   #2
jnoxx
macrumors 65816
 
jnoxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
You didn't include any screenshots ;p
But on your app target (click on the Xcode project in Xcode on the left, then select your target in the middle & then select "Build Settings" at the top, press Show All right below it, then under Code Identity you can select the correct one.
__________________

iPad Mini, iPad 4, iPad 2, iPhone 3G,4,5, iMac 24", Mac Mini Last gen, Macbook Pro Retina with Dell U2711
jnoxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 01:06 PM   #3
wxgeek
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Oops...sorry!

Here are the screen shots.

Also...to cure this problem...I went to the IOS provisioning Portal and generated an AppID that had the correct name and then downloaded that and installed it to Xcode. Don't know if that was the best way but it worked. The app...simple as it is... now runs on my Iphone. (Gotta start somewhere)

So I guess that brings up another question. Do I need to do this for each program I write or what?

Jim
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	xcode_organizer.png
Views:	22
Size:	324.1 KB
ID:	383764   Click image for larger version

Name:	xcode_main.png
Views:	27
Size:	362.1 KB
ID:	383765  
wxgeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 01:10 PM   #4
dejo
Moderator
 
dejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Centennial State
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxgeek View Post
So I guess that brings up another question. Do I need to do this for each program I write or what?
No, you can use a wildcard App ID.
__________________
dejo is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:54 PM   #5
jnoxx
macrumors 65816
 
jnoxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
You are using a hardcoded one.
You can do, com.yourcompany.* (hence the star), if you type that, you use a wildcard, so you can build any app which starts com.yourcompany (.anyapp)
Hope you figure it out
__________________

iPad Mini, iPad 4, iPad 2, iPhone 3G,4,5, iMac 24", Mac Mini Last gen, Macbook Pro Retina with Dell U2711
jnoxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:40 AM   #6
wxgeek
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Ya know....I'm sure that for an experienced developer, my question must seem like childs play. I read the docs on how to create a wildcard AppID. HOWEVER,
when I go to the IOS provisioning portal and fill out the provisioning screen,
it REQUIRES me to select a specific AppID, I cant just type in *. Thus my confusion.

I'm sure Apple wants to protect their product/brand but this process is very frustrating to say the least!

Jim
wxgeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 12:21 AM   #7
jnoxx
macrumors 65816
 
jnoxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
So you created an app idea called:
com.wxgeekCompany.* ?
And then Made an provisioning profile that uses this profile, which you called whatever (name is not really relevant) that uses app idea mentioned above?

if you have done that, you should be able to use it
Otherwise explain what exactly the issue is.
__________________

iPad Mini, iPad 4, iPad 2, iPhone 3G,4,5, iMac 24", Mac Mini Last gen, Macbook Pro Retina with Dell U2711
jnoxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 10:28 AM   #8
dejo
Moderator
 
dejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Centennial State
I think my previous link on using wildcard App IDs was probably not that helpful and somewhat outdated.

Do you see an "iOS Team Provisioning Profile" in your Provisioning Portal?
__________________
dejo is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 11:03 AM   #9
wxgeek
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Thanks to all who replied! I took a look at my provisioning profile and it
had a different name than the bundle ID in xcode. So I went into Xcode and changed the bundle identifier to match the appID in the provisioning profile.

That is:

Prov Profile Name AppID
TestingIOS KJCY49ZT57.com.learnIOS.*

In Xcode:

BundleID
com.learnIOS.HelloNoun

Now it compiles and is sent to my iPhone! Yeah!!!

Jim
wxgeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Developer Website Hacked: Developer Names, Addresses May Have Been Taken MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 200 Jul 26, 2013 04:49 PM
Beginner to Xcode markus55555 Mac Programming 0 Oct 10, 2012 10:56 PM
Advice for a beginner? FlorenceArt iPhone/iPad Programming 20 Jul 30, 2012 03:31 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC