Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 10, 2012, 10:32 PM   #1
petethepanda
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Unhappy Selling iPhone 4: "serial number for a product that has been replaced"

I had an iPhone 4 with AT&T. I got it unlocked and sold it a few days back. The buyer just contacted me, though, and said that when they tried to activate the phone they received the message "We’re sorry, but this is a serial number for a product that has been replaced."

Looking online, I see all sorts of things about people saying that message means the phone has been stolen or something along those lines (which I'm sure makes the buyer think very highly of me), but it occurs to me that I did actually have the phone replaced at an Apple store a while back after I accidentally trashed the original one.

If you had your phone replaced by Apple, are you not able to sell that phone later on? Just trying to see if there's anything to do before sending a refund and getting the phone back.
petethepanda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 10:35 PM   #2
Baggio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Your original phone's SN or IMEI number would have that result. Not your replacement phone.
Baggio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 10:38 PM   #3
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
That doesnt make any sense.
When you had it unlocked you used it with no probs right?
Sounds like the buyer is trying to pull a fast one on you.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 10:43 PM   #4
petethepanda
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
After some more digging around, I realized that I sent the phone in its original box, which would have the original phone's info on the back. Could that be all that is tripping everything up? If you buy a used phone, would it actually require you to type in information from the box? Not sure what that process is like..
petethepanda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 10:45 PM   #5
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by petethepanda View Post
After some more digging around, I realized that I sent the phone in its original box, which would have the original phone's info on the back. Could that be all that is tripping everything up? If you buy a used phone, would it actually require you to type in information from the box? Not sure what that process is like..
No, that doesnt make sense either.
All it needs is a sim and it will activate.
You dont need to enter any serial numbers or anything like that.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 10:48 PM   #6
Baggio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by petethepanda View Post
After some more digging around, I realized that I sent the phone in its original box, which would have the original phone's info on the back. Could that be all that is tripping everything up? If you buy a used phone, would it actually require you to type in information from the box? Not sure what that process is like..
If unlocked, the person should be able to insert their SIM card, but if they activating a new SIM card the carrier may ask for the serial number and or IMEI number of the phone. Tell them to get that info from the phone itself.

Settings>General>About
Baggio is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 09:51 AM   #7
Jordan921
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area
They are probably giving imei number from box instead of the one from the phone itself.
__________________
Space Grey 64gb 6plus AT&T, 13.3" MacBook Air 1.86GHZ 4GB Ram 128GB SSD
Jordan921 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 10:15 AM   #8
seeharrison
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordan921 View Post
They are probably giving imei number from box instead of the one from the phone itself.
I agree. Have the buyer get the IMEI from the settings menu on the phone itself.
seeharrison is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 03:30 PM   #9
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordan921 View Post
They are probably giving imei number from box instead of the one from the phone itself.
Exactly.
That would explain it and makes perfect sense.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 04:21 PM   #10
Jordan921
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Exactly.
That would explain it and makes perfect sense.
Simple mistake tho if the seller didn't make it clear the phone had been replaced before. Every iPhone I had before my 5 had been replaced one or twice when I had it.
Jordan921 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 05:13 PM   #11
petethepanda
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Very dumb oversight on my part. It honestly didn't even occur to me to mention it, it's been a long while since having it replaced. Still waiting to hear back from the guy, hopefully we can get it sorted out.

Thanks guys!
petethepanda is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 02:46 PM   #12
petethepanda
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Well, the seller wants to return it, which I understand.

So once I have it back, is there any way I can confirm via the numbers on the phone itself that it should definitely work should I try to sell it again? I really want to be 110% sure it'll work before putting it back out there again considering how much of an ******* I looked like the first time around.
petethepanda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 03:04 PM   #13
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by petethepanda View Post
Well, the seller wants to return it, which I understand.

So once I have it back, is there any way I can confirm via the numbers on the phone itself that it should definitely work should I try to sell it again? I really want to be 110% sure it'll work before putting it back out there again considering how much of an ******* I looked like the first time around.
I'd be very carefull with ebay returns if you sold it through ebay.
Hope he doesnt try to pull a fast one on you and send an empty box or box with a tv remote or something and then get his money back from paypal.
Then he gets to keep the iphone and his money.
I'd decline the return if I was you since the phone is fine, he just gave his carrier the wrong IMEI number from the box instead of the one on the phone.
Not your fault or problem.
I'd avoid the whole mess and chance of getting ripped off.
Applejuiced is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 03:32 PM   #14
petethepanda
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
The seller insisted on returning the phone, but I got it back fine today (surprisingly quick). It's definitely the same one I sent.

Is there any way to check myself that this will work fine if I try to sell it again (and mention repeatedly to use the numbers from the device itself)?

Turning on the phone, it gives the "No SIM Card Installed, Insert a valid SIM with no PIN lock to activate iPhone" message. Hitting the "info" button displays the IMEI, but the ICCID is "Unknown." Is this normal for a phone with no SIM currently in it? I had the phone unlocked by ATT if that makes a difference.
petethepanda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 03:36 PM   #15
Brian Y
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Yeah that's normal.
Brian Y is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 04:27 PM   #16
petethepanda
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Okay, cool. Tried putting in my old ATT SIM and the ICCID populated.

So is there really any way I can check to be 100% sure this will work for someone? Especially the fact that it's unlocked, I got the iTunes "congrats you're unlocked" message but I'm not sure if there's any way to get more feedback than just that. I just don't want to wind up inadvertently screwing somebody over again.
petethepanda is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it safe to give out serial number on iPhone when selling it? stockae92 iPhone 11 May 11, 2014 07:40 AM
knowing your own Activation Date? and "your serial number is already registered" lorcar MacBook Pro 1 Jan 12, 2014 10:17 AM
switched to T-mobile. ATT iphone 4 unlocked doesn't show "my number" kazakh iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Apr 21, 2013 03:11 PM
Looking at used iPhone - has "Device replaced" status Sumesh iPhone 6 Dec 16, 2012 09:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC