Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 18, 2012, 09:35 PM   #26
TheInteractive
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
Disregarding what is really a minimal expense, would the lack of an internal drive make you hesitate purchasing the retina display MBPs?
I had not used an optical drive in 5 years before I purchased this machine so it sure didn't stop me. And I'd been using a MacBook Air for about a year before I bought the Retina MacBook Pro they don't have optical drives either. And neither do most ultrabooks in the PC market.

There was one frustration, though: Microsoft does not offer a digital download version of Windows 8 system builder, only a DVD version. So I had to use my iMac to make a bootable USB drive from the Windows 8 DVD to install Windows on the retina. That is, instead of just making a USB drive from a downloaded ISO wasn't really any more trouble, but the point was I did have to use a DVD drive on another machine to get Windows on this thing.

And that was literally the only time I've used a DVD drive in about 5 years. I don't own any movies on DVD anymore either, just digital copies from iTunes, Amazon, etc.

It's only going to get more so that way, so I don't see why the lack of a DVD drive would stop anyone. And yeah, if for some reason you did want one, $80 is a pretty minimal additional expense if you're already spending $2500- $3000.
TheInteractive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 10:10 AM   #27
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheInteractive View Post
I had not used an optical drive in 5 years before I purchased this machine so it sure didn't stop me. And I'd been using a MacBook Air for about a year before I bought the Retina MacBook Pro they don't have optical drives either. And neither do most ultrabooks in the PC market.

There was one frustration, though: Microsoft does not offer a digital download version of Windows 8 system builder, only a DVD version. So I had to use my iMac to make a bootable USB drive from the Windows 8 DVD to install Windows on the retina. That is, instead of just making a USB drive from a downloaded ISO wasn't really any more trouble, but the point was I did have to use a DVD drive on another machine to get Windows on this thing.

And that was literally the only time I've used a DVD drive in about 5 years. I don't own any movies on DVD anymore either, just digital copies from iTunes, Amazon, etc.

It's only going to get more so that way, so I don't see why the lack of a DVD drive would stop anyone. And yeah, if for some reason you did want one, $80 is a pretty minimal additional expense if you're already spending $2500- $3000.
I keep a lot of archived stuff on DVDs. For me a drive internal or external would be required.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 10:38 AM   #28
mrcheerio
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I mainly use my MBPr for gaming w/ windows 8 and mostly play LoL (league of legends) and found that it runs on 1920x1200 w/ everything max out and it doesnt dip below 50fps , Once you change it to the native resolution of the display 2800x1800 things start to get choppy and you would probably have to put all the settings to med/low for it to run smoothly
mrcheerio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 10:42 AM   #29
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrcheerio View Post
I mainly use my MBPr for gaming w/ windows 8 and mostly play LoL (league of legends) and found that it runs on 1920x1200 w/ everything max out and it doesnt dip below 50fps , Once you change it to the native resolution of the display 2800x1800 things start to get choppy and you would probably have to put all the settings to med/low for it to run smoothly
My guess is that visually the difference between the two resolutions is minimal, yes?
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 11:24 AM   #30
mrcheerio
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
My guess is that visually the difference between the two resolutions is minimal, yes?
correct, 2880 x 1800 is obviously the recommend resolution for windows but you would have to raise the DPI for you to actually read the icons and text in windows, but after you do that some games wont play nice ex: LoL, BF3. It's best to just run windows on 1920x1200 resolution. After playing guild wars2 , I am actually surprised to see that Guild Wars 2 actually plays really well on 2880x1800 for it being a MMORPG with a big visual etc.
mrcheerio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:02 AM   #31
Chillaz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I'm interested in Dota 2 & LoL if that is possible. If you need a Dota 2 key in order to test it, let me know. I know a guy.

Also, Borderlands if possible.


Thanks for doing this.
Chillaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 02:30 PM   #32
efirmage
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Borderlands 2 and Civ 5 would be great!

But this is immensely helpful already. Thanks!
efirmage is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 07:16 PM   #33
MaggieNoodle
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
90% of these games wont run on a Mac... Why the benchmarks?

Skyrim: ~130 fps
MaggieNoodle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 12:46 AM   #34
Chillaz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaggieNoodle View Post
90% of these games wont run on a Mac... Why the benchmarks?

Skyrim: ~130 fps
Read title then read the thread.

Bootcamp with Windows.

Anything is possible!
Chillaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:23 AM   #35
efirmage
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Also Starcraft 2 would be awesome! This is one of the most helpful threads for me in deciding on a Retina MBP, so thank you!
efirmage is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 07:50 AM   #36
GalakFyarr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazednSleepy View Post
What amount of fps are you averaging?
well to be honest, I have no idea how to monitor that :/ If you could tell me, I'll try doing it.

All I can say is it runs smoothly.

In more recent news, Assassin's Creed III also runs "smoothly" , with all settings on High (there's a couple of settings that can be set to Very High, but didn't try that out yet). However, some cutscenes (very few, think i've encountered 3) seem to drop FPS heavily sometimes (immediately goes back to normal once it's finished)

Side note: I'm not using a rMBP, just the regular one. The graphic card is the same though.
2012 15-inch Apple MacBook Pro without Retina Display
2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
8 GB of RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 650M 1 GB
Windows 7 via Boot Camp
GalakFyarr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 08:44 AM   #37
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Quote:
Originally Posted by GalakFyarr View Post
well to be honest, I have no idea how to monitor that :/ If you could tell me, I'll try doing it.
You install a small application like FRAPS, this will show the FPS in top left corner of your screen by default.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro i7-4790k, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.4
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 11:53 PM   #38
xPurpleblob
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
possible to do call of duty modern warfare 2 or even 1?
__________________
Macbook Pro Retina 15 inch iPhone 5 16 GB Black iPad 2 64 GB 3G White iPod Touch 3G 32 GB
xPurpleblob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 07:40 PM   #39
Valkyre
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
This is an awesome thread!! can you do the witcher 2 in bootcamp?
Valkyre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 02:11 AM   #40
koolmagicguy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by xPurpleblob View Post
possible to do call of duty modern warfare 2 or even 1?
I installed Windows 7 on my machine 3 days ago for the sole purpose of playing MW2. Intel HD3000 MBP 13". I got FLAWLESS graphics at what must be 60 FPS. Also installed MW3 and it's buttery smooth as well. Fans work and machine gets warm but its an incredible experience.

I have CoD4: MW on my OS X partition and it runs great as well.

Just make sure to update your drivers. I also have 8 GB of RAM. 512 V-RAM.
koolmagicguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 03:07 PM   #41
Trubbles
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I can not seem to come anywhere near these numbers

I have a 15" rMBP w/ 2.6GHz / 8 GB / 256 GB and Windows 7 64 Ultimate via Bootcamp.

The Bootcamp drive is also set up for use in Parallels (so it has the Parallels tools installed), and it has AVG (which I have tried disabling) and Steam and GW2. That is all!

In SkyRim, on high settings with 1920x1200 or even 1650x1080, its in the teens stuttering at 14-17 FPS just walking around a quiet area. Even on medium at 1440x900, it's barely playable until I enter combat, at which point it becomes unplayable!

I have installed the latest nVidia drivers (via the nVidia website) and Windows has all of it's updates.

Anyone have any ideas? I'm very frustrated

----------

Well I reset my SMC and everything is fine! What a difference!!
Trubbles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 09:38 AM   #42
TweakOnline
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Europe
Thanks for those benchmarks, Skyrim runs pretty well on 1920x1200 at ultra!
__________________
An Apple a day, Microsoft away.
TweakOnline is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 12:23 PM   #43
goodtime416
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrcheerio View Post
I mainly use my MBPr for gaming w/ windows 8 and mostly play LoL (league of legends) and found that it runs on 1920x1200 w/ everything max out and it doesnt dip below 50fps , Once you change it to the native resolution of the display 2800x1800 things start to get choppy and you would probably have to put all the settings to med/low for it to run smoothly
Is it just me? I play LoL in my MBPr 16GB ram 2.5Gz
Bootcamp Windows 7 64bits

Max everything 2880 fps steady at 60 (in fights, 10 ultra tgt etc.), however this only happens when it is plugged in with power.
When its not charging (not plugged), it goes down to 30 and does not really "bounce" up nor down. And this is NO MATTER how i change the setting, ie 1024, everything off/min, its still fixed at 30.

And when I literally plug it back it gets back to 60.
It's not just the numbers change, it feels like 30


And I try this in OSX (using boompje), everything is fine. Max 2880 run smooth as butter

Does this means in Windows 7 GPU automatically lock its performance at a fixed point when the machine is not plugged?

Or it's just me?

BTW I have reset the SMC and still got the same result (I have had some problem with Street Fighter IV and by resetting the SMC, it fixed my problem... sadly not this one)

PS. Windows 7 installed two weeks ago, everything is updated, and assuming im installed with the latest drivers(?)

Last edited by goodtime416; Dec 23, 2012 at 12:33 PM.
goodtime416 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 05:46 AM   #44
midego
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
 
Thanks for the benchmarks, very helpful!
midego is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2013, 03:16 PM   #45
vigeoh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Great thread TheInteractive, really good work, do you plan to do this with bf4? maybe even the bf4 beta?
vigeoh is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone got some gaming benchmarks for the new Retina Macbook Pro 13 INCH? K-ralz MacBook Pro 1 Oct 29, 2013 12:56 PM
Boot Camp and Retina Macbook Pro Faux Carnival MacBook Pro 10 Dec 12, 2012 11:24 AM
13-Inch Retina MacBook Pro Benchmarks Confirm Late June Result Posting MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 45 Nov 1, 2012 02:38 PM
13-Inch Retina MacBook Pro Once Again Shows Up in Benchmarks MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 203 Aug 30, 2012 01:11 PM
13-Inch Retina MacBook Pro Shows Up in Benchmarks MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 159 Jul 16, 2012 10:29 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC