Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 16, 2012, 08:59 PM   #1
prvt.donut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
PowerMac G5 as Leopard Time Machine server.

So, I got a hand me down 2.0 Dual Core 2005 G5 PowerMac.

I have ordered 8GB of Ram and a 240GB SSD for it and have dropped in a 1TB drive.

Currently I have Tiger on it, but want to buy a copy of Leopard when I get the SSD drive, but was intrigued by the idea of installing Leopard Server instead and using it as a Time Machine server for my Macbook Airs.

My plan is to use the PowerMac for Final Cut Express video editing, photoshop duties as well as being a media store.

I have been thinking of buying a Time Capsule, but if i can use Leopard Server and have it as a TM backup server, that would be very useful.

I have a few questions as I am assessing the feasibility of it;

1- How easy is it to set up?
2- How reliable is it?
3- Will if affect the performance of other functions for the PowerMac such as my video editing?
prvt.donut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 08:48 AM   #2
aarond12
macrumors 6502a
 
aarond12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by prvt.donut View Post
1- How easy is it to set up?
2- How reliable is it?
3- Will if affect the performance of other functions for the PowerMac such as my video editing?
1. It's easy to set up. It works just like any other file share.
2. The PowerMac G5 is very reliable.
3. Yes, when backups are working, there will be a bit of an impact. Just like any other file share.

Of note, if you're primarily using your PMG5 as a Time Machine server, it's using a LOT of electricity doing it. Not the file serving function; just that the PMG5 is quite the electricity hog. Having a NAS or USB drives attached to an Airport Express base station are far more energy efficient and will do the same thing.
__________________
Voted "Most likely to start his own cult" by my high school class.
aarond12 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 08:53 AM   #3
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aarond12 View Post

Of note, if you're primarily using your PMG5 as a Time Machine server, it's using a LOT of electricity doing it. Not the file serving function; just that the PMG5 is quite the electricity hog. Having a NAS or USB drives attached to an Airport Express base station are far more energy efficient and will do the same thing.
+1000
Uses way too much electricity as a File Server/Time Machine server.
justperry is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 09:37 AM   #4
adam9c1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chicagoland
Are G5 iMacs also electrical hogs?
adam9c1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 12:45 PM   #5
aarond12
macrumors 6502a
 
aarond12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam9c1 View Post
Are G5 iMacs also electrical hogs?
Not as bad, but still WAY more power than a NAS or running USB drives from an Airport Express. The 17" iMac G5 used a 180W power supply. The PowerMac G5 used ~750W power supply.
__________________
Voted "Most likely to start his own cult" by my high school class.
aarond12 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 05:51 PM   #6
prvt.donut
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Hi, Power isn't such an issue as I won't be running it all the time, just a couple of hours a day max.

Also, PSU rated wattage is the max capacity, and is high to allow for running more devices inside as well as a powerful GPU and when all is working on intensive processing.

When CPU is at idle, it draws significantly less power. But, yes, a time capsule or similar will draw much less power.

I have read that the server OS is a lot different to the desktop, and so am a little worried as to what the user experience will be when using it and running video/photo editing apps.

Is this concern unfounded?
prvt.donut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 06:41 PM   #7
WhoPhD
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by prvt.donut View Post
I have read that the server OS is a lot different to the desktop, and so am a little worried as to what the user experience will be when using it and running video/photo editing apps.

Is this concern unfounded?
Where did you read that? I think it's basically the base OS + a few extra apps that run services.

Your larger concern would be that 10.5 hasn't had a security update in years.
WhoPhD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:15 PM   #8
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhoPhD View Post
Where did you read that? I think it's basically the base OS + a few extra apps that run services.

Your larger concern would be that 10.5 hasn't had a security update in years.
Shouldn't be to much of a concern if it's behind a proper firewall.

I'm considering doing the samething with a G5 server.
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 03:28 PM   #9
jpine
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhoPhD View Post
Where did you read that? I think it's basically the base OS + a few extra apps that run services.

Your larger concern would be that 10.5 hasn't had a security update in years.
Thinking of a G5 for TM backup as well since I too can get one for free. I really don't care about electricity usage. My LAN would not be connected to the Net so security is not much of a concern either.

1. But what are the advantages of using the server OS over the regular 10.5 OS just for TM?

2. Can someone confirm that a 2TB drive is the limit for a G5?

3. If #2 is true, can a RAID configuration (e.g., two 1.5TB drives RAID 5) overcome a 2TB single drive limitation?
jpine is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine Server MartynB Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 1 Nov 22, 2013 02:48 PM
OS X 10.6 server Time Machine error joecool99 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Jul 21, 2013 07:47 AM
time machine and osx server LeeM Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 May 22, 2013 02:30 PM
Mac Mini Server + USB External + Time Machine Server + Wireless Backups = Frozen sieken OS X 0 Jun 25, 2012 08:31 AM
Using 10.4 as time machine server? bristleworm OS X 1 Jun 7, 2012 05:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC