Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:09 PM   #1
Rushli0n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Deleting a Bad Audio Track

Ok, so I used Handbrake to encode a movie and it produced (as expected) a Stereo track and a Dolby Track. When I play the movie through my ATV3 which is hooked up to a surround sound, it plays the Dolby track (again as expected). The problem is that the Dolby track is messed up. I hear pops and cracks or complete loss of sound. If I select the stereo track, the audio plays fine.

My question is, is there a way to delete/surpress this track from the video file without re-encoding the movie? I use a Mac and Subler, but couldn't find a way to do this. I just don't want to have to continually select the Stereo track each time I play this movie.

Any help is appreciated.
__________________
13" Unibody Macbook, 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HD iPad 2, 16 GB, WiFi Apple TV 2 & 3 Airport Extreme (Late 2009) iPod touch, 32 GB, 5th Gen
Rushli0n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 12:41 AM   #2
obsidian1200
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Albuquerque, NM
In Subler, open the file you wish to modify. Highlight the bad track. In the toolbar, there's a delete button that only becomes selectable when you select a track. Clicking it will delete the track from the file. Then go to File>Save or Save As... and save your file. You will probably want to optimize the new file, which may happen automatically when you save it, but if not, the option can be found under File>Optimize.

Good luck!
obsidian1200 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 09:16 PM   #3
Rushli0n
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by obsidian1200 View Post
In Subler, open the file you wish to modify. Highlight the bad track. In the toolbar, there's a delete button that only becomes selectable when you select a track. Clicking it will delete the track from the file. Then go to File>Save or Save As... and save your file. You will probably want to optimize the new file, which may happen automatically when you save it, but if not, the option can be found under File>Optimize.

Good luck!
Two things:

1. When you say "select" is that just clicking it or actually checking the box?
2. The only Delete I can find is via Edit > Delete. And regardless of #1 (either selecting it or checking the box) the Delete is still inactive.

Am I doing something wrong?
__________________
13" Unibody Macbook, 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HD iPad 2, 16 GB, WiFi Apple TV 2 & 3 Airport Extreme (Late 2009) iPod touch, 32 GB, 5th Gen
Rushli0n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:48 AM   #4
obsidian1200
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rushli0n View Post
Two things:

1. When you say "select" is that just clicking it or actually checking the box?
2. The only Delete I can find is via Edit > Delete. And regardless of #1 (either selecting it or checking the box) the Delete is still inactive.

Am I doing something wrong?

1. Just click on the track.
2. You seem to have modified Subler's default settings if the delete button is no longer in the tool bar (for the record, within subler's main window, you should be seeing four GUI buttons: add, delete, export, and search for metadata.) To make the toolbar reappear, go to View>Show Toolbar. By default, the delete button is the second button from the left. If it's still not showing up, you'll have to edit the toolbar to include the delete button.
obsidian1200 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:22 AM   #5
Rushli0n
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by obsidian1200 View Post
1. Just click on the track.
2. You seem to have modified Subler's default settings if the delete button is no longer in the tool bar (for the record, within subler's main window, you should be seeing four GUI buttons: add, delete, export, and search for metadata.) To make the toolbar reappear, go to View>Show Toolbar. By default, the delete button is the second button from the left. If it's still not showing up, you'll have to edit the toolbar to include the delete button.
Found it, appreciate the help.
__________________
13" Unibody Macbook, 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HD iPad 2, 16 GB, WiFi Apple TV 2 & 3 Airport Extreme (Late 2009) iPod touch, 32 GB, 5th Gen
Rushli0n is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handbrake audio track 0 vs. track 1 jetmaster114 Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Oct 6, 2013 12:02 PM
delete the audio track zoran Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Oct 15, 2012 02:10 PM
Changing audio track w/ Handbrake k12g3 Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Aug 22, 2012 02:37 AM
Question About How to Change Audio Track to Match Movie Track (Video Inside) flipster Digital Video 3 Jun 8, 2012 01:02 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC