Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2012, 04:01 AM   #1
johnitravolta
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Want to convert .dmg to .iso

Hello,

I have the new ML on a .dmg file.
I want to be able to open it in windows so i can load the setup through VMWARE.

I understood that it can be done by a working mac.
I have a mac book running the Leopard.

I googled this and found out HDIUTIL, which has converted the .dmg file into a .cdr file - that does not help me.
I also found in google that i can manually change the name of the file to .iso but that also did not work for me.

can someone please guide me step by step how do i do this ? thank you!
johnitravolta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 05:58 AM   #2
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Not sure if this will work but you can give it a shot.

IN MAC OSX:

1. Mount .dmg file like normal
2. Open Disk Utility
3. Click on mounted drive on left hand side
4. Click "New Image" on top bar
5. Change image format to DVD/CD Master, name file, and save
6. Change the file format from .cdr to .iso

This I know will work for all of my software DVD's that I have ripped for backups. Apple does not write files to .iso format, but uses the same exact formatting and names it as .cdr instead. You can freely change from .cdr to .iso using this method.

Let me know if it works!
Pyromonkey83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:08 AM   #3
-Concept-
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In front of a computer. Any computer.
You can do this, yes, but doing it through the terminal makes certain that there are no conversion errors. Here's the code for that:

Code:
hdiutil convert /yourdmg.dmg -format UDTO -o /youriso.iso
Where "yourdmg.dmg" is the FILEPATH to the dmg and "youriso.iso" is the FILEPATH to your iso.
__________________
I love this fruit.
-Concept- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:29 AM   #4
johnitravolta
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Concept- View Post
You can do this, yes, but doing it through the terminal makes certain that there are no conversion errors. Here's the code for that:

Code:
hdiutil convert /yourdmg.dmg -format UDTO -o /youriso.iso
Where "yourdmg.dmg" is the FILEPATH to the dmg and "youriso.iso" is the FILEPATH to your iso.
this is exactly what i did. and it created a file named "x.iso.cdr"
that's the problem i'm talking about.

i will try in a minute the other suggestion.
if you think of something let me know please thank you guys both!
johnitravolta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:13 AM   #5
-Concept-
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In front of a computer. Any computer.
Yeah I forgot that you still have to convert, After doing it through terminal, though, you can make sure of any inconsistencies. Just delete .cdr and change it to .iso.
__________________
I love this fruit.
-Concept- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:25 AM   #6
johnitravolta
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Concept- View Post
Yeah I forgot that you still have to convert, After doing it through terminal, though, you can make sure of any inconsistencies. Just delete .cdr and change it to .iso.
Why daemon tools did not recognize the .iso file then?
johnitravolta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:49 AM   #7
-Concept-
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In front of a computer. Any computer.
It's most likely an issue with the .iso. But if you have a Windows machine (daemon tools) there's no need to use Terminal or DiskUtil, just use MagicISO.
__________________
I love this fruit.
-Concept- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 11:37 AM   #8
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnitravolta View Post
this is exactly what i did. and it created a file named "x.iso.cdr"
that's the problem i'm talking about.

i will try in a minute the other suggestion.
if you think of something let me know please thank you guys both!
One weird thing: OSX likes adding the .cdr or .dmg extensions automatically. It's perfectly safe to remove those (best to do this in Get Info, else Finder hides the extension rather than removing it entirely).

Also worth noting: All disks, even virtual ones like .isos, have a file system associated with them. If you try to mount an .iso that is in the HFS format on another OS, odds are you'll not have success.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:44 PM   #9
johnitravolta
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Concept- View Post
It's most likely an issue with the .iso. But if you have a Windows machine (daemon tools) there's no need to use Terminal or DiskUtil, just use MagicISO.
Magiciso could not read the .dmg file on the first place.
johnitravolta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 05:55 PM   #10
-Concept-
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In front of a computer. Any computer.
Go into a little more depth on what you mean by that? MagicISO didn't recognize it as having the extension ".dmg" or MagicISO gave you an error when you tried to convert? Something like that?
__________________
I love this fruit.
-Concept- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 07:39 AM   #11
johnitravolta
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Concept- View Post
Go into a little more depth on what you mean by that? MagicISO didn't recognize it as having the extension ".dmg" or MagicISO gave you an error when you tried to convert? Something like that?
sorry for not being specific.
when i loaded the dmg file into the magiciso i got an error that the file could not be opened. or bad format .. something like this.

i can't remember.
but it's the same file i opened in my macbook and it seems to be in the right format. undamaged.

what do you think ?
johnitravolta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 07:55 AM   #12
-Concept-
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In front of a computer. Any computer.
Depends on whether it's a cd .dmg or not. If it's too big, MagicISO will get grumpy

Try this and tell me if it works. This is what I use to convert my dmg files to img files on a Windows partition, hope it'll show you some results.

If that doesn't work then try this.

Good luck!
__________________
I love this fruit.
-Concept- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:15 AM   #13
johnitravolta
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Concept- View Post
Depends on whether it's a cd .dmg or not. If it's too big, MagicISO will get grumpy

Try this and tell me if it works. This is what I use to convert my dmg files to img files on a Windows partition, hope it'll show you some results.

If that doesn't work then try this.

Good luck!
It's a cd dmg file for sure. It's 4.5gb almost in the size.

All of the converters have rejected this file probably because of its size.

What else can we do?
johnitravolta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:26 AM   #14
-Concept-
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In front of a computer. Any computer.
All of them did?

Is the program that you're trying to run only available for Mac?

But another thing I would try is converting it via terminal again, changing the file extension to .iso, burning it to a disk using Toast, and seeing what your PC recognizes it as.
__________________
I love this fruit.
-Concept- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 12:38 PM   #15
johnitravolta
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Concept- View Post
All of them did?

Is the program that you're trying to run only available for Mac?

But another thing I would try is converting it via terminal again, changing the file extension to .iso, burning it to a disk using Toast, and seeing what your PC recognizes it as.
I'm sorry the Mac did not show me that the "this" words are links. I'll try this when I get home after study.
johnitravolta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 01:46 PM   #16
-Concept-
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In front of a computer. Any computer.
Oh sorry, I'll paste links from now on.
__________________
I love this fruit.
-Concept- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 06:17 PM   #17
johnitravolta
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
this issue is exausting me .
i tried renaming the file name to iso and now it suddenly works.
but now i cannot load it in my vmware station on my PC.
jesus.

i don't know what to do.
i load the iso file. vmware says it does not recognize which OS is it and asks me i shall continue.
i press yes. and the system goes up but does not boot any system installation.
like it does not recognize it.

if anyone knows what to do i'll be happy, thank you.
johnitravolta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 07:06 PM   #18
-Concept-
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In front of a computer. Any computer.
Make sure the dmg is writable!!! If it's not, it won't install. I thought this was a given but apparently it's another common error...

Here's an example of this:
Code:
touch "/Volumes/Mac OS X Install DVD/System/Library/CoreServices/ServerVersion.plist"
And you're positive that the OS you're trying to install is compatible with vmware?
__________________
I love this fruit.
-Concept- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 07:27 PM   #19
johnitravolta
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Concept- View Post
Make sure the dmg is writable!!! If it's not, it won't install. I thought this was a given but apparently it's another common error...

Here's an example of this:
Code:
touch "/Volumes/Mac OS X Install DVD/System/Library/CoreServices/ServerVersion.plist"
And you're positive that the OS you're trying to install is compatible with vmware?
Well it's the mountain lion. I believe there shouldn't be a problem. No?
johnitravolta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 12:12 PM   #20
j0ester
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Just because it's a Mountain Lion Image doesn't mean anything. The file can be corrupted too while downloading it.
j0ester is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 05:50 AM   #21
potatis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Try the program AquaISO
potatis is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install mac OS X using iso or dmg? Rajarocks Mac Basics and Help 6 Apr 7, 2014 08:24 AM
Unable to mount any external hdd's or dmg, iso, rar etc files. Dyenera OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Sep 4, 2013 04:42 PM
DMG vs CDR vs ISO jent Mac Basics and Help 1 Apr 15, 2013 04:21 PM
Apply 10.8.2 update (combo dmg) to 10.8.0 InstallESD.dmg yjchua95 OS X 1 Nov 3, 2012 11:39 PM
How do I install Snow Leopard ISO on VMWare or become SL's ISO into DMG? gusbemac OS X 3 Sep 3, 2012 04:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC