Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 14, 2012, 04:47 AM   #1
krssubbu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
upgrade or jailbreak and install ?

Hi,

I am running on ios 3.1.3. can you please advice me on the following options ?

1. i need to jailbreak ios 3.1.3 - how do i do it ?

2. if not possible i would like to upgrade to latest ios 6.0.1 - i think this is straight forward. just upgrade by itunes

3. if i install ios6.0.1, i am aware there is no jail break at the moment but would i be able to jail break it later when its available (After upgrading to ios6.0.1 or do i have to jail break and install it ?)

Thanks
krssubbu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 06:23 AM   #2
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
What iDevice ? (3G or 3GS)
Do you have any SHSH saved ?
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 06:25 AM   #3
krssubbu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
hi,

it is iphone 3gs running ios 3.1.3. yes i just used tiny umbrella to save shsh blobs yesterday (hopefully i have done the correct way)
krssubbu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 06:28 AM   #4
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
If you only saved them yesterday then the only ones that could be saved are 4.1 and 6.0.1

Those are your choices for upgrading.

You can jailbreak either firmware (6.0.1 may be a tethered jailbreak)
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 06:36 AM   #5
krssubbu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
so are you saying i can upgrade to 4.1 if i have ipsw file ?
krssubbu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 06:40 AM   #6
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Yes, Apple still signs 4.1 firmware for 3GS (why - who knows)
Download the 4.1 IPSW from iPhone Wiki

Put the phone in DFU mode, plug into iTunes
For PC use shift + Restore key
For Mac option + Restore key

Browse to 4.1 IPSW and let it restore.
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 07:50 AM   #7
krssubbu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thanks for this. I will try downloading the ipsw file for 4.1

how do i put the phone in dfu mode ? cant i do it just by connecting phone and shift+restore pc? if it doesnt work how do i get ouyt of dfu mode ? can you please detail me the steps


when i do i presume i am still not jail breaking the device ? and if i want to i can downgrade to ios 3.1.3, isnt it ?

sorry havnet done this before hence questions!!
krssubbu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 08:59 AM   #8
krssubbu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thanks dhlizard - managed to upgrade 3.1.3 to 4.1. now next question how do i jailbreak this device ? if i jailbreak it can i upgrade to ios6.0.1 ?

or can i upgrade to ios 6.0.1 (fancy doing it) wihtout jailbreaking 4.1 - how is hte performance and can jailbreak 6.0.1 it later ?
krssubbu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 01:56 PM   #9
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by krssubbu View Post
Thanks dhlizard - managed to upgrade 3.1.3 to 4.1. now next question how do i jailbreak this device ? if i jailbreak it can i upgrade to ios6.0.1 ?

or can i upgrade to ios 6.0.1 (fancy doing it) wihtout jailbreaking 4.1 - how is hte performance and can jailbreak 6.0.1 it later ?
You can update to 6.0.1 any time you want.
Just plug it to itunes and hit update or restore.
That will put you on stock 6.0.1 firmware.
If you want to JB 6.0.1 you can but depending on your 3GS build date you might be stuck with a tethered JB.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:47 PM   #10
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Quote:
Originally Posted by krssubbu View Post
Thanks dhlizard - managed to upgrade 3.1.3 to 4.1. now next question how do i jailbreak this device ? if i jailbreak it can i upgrade to ios6.0.1 ?

or can i upgrade to ios 6.0.1 (fancy doing it) wihtout jailbreaking 4.1 - how is hte performance and can jailbreak 6.0.1 it later ?
Read my post #4
I already answered this
If you wanted to go to 6.0.1, why did you choose 4.1 ?
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 10:38 AM   #11
krssubbu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
now i have upgraded to 4.1, do i have to unlock my phone (my phone was unlocked on version 3.1.3) and once i upgrade to 6.0.1 do i have to unlock again ?
krssubbu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 11:37 AM   #12
labman
macrumors 604
 
labman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mich near Detroit
How was it unlocked and what baseband are you on. You should have mentioned you wanted to unlock as well.
labman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 01:16 PM   #13
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Checking out

The thread starter is changing the play call with every reply.

Good luck
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 02:30 PM   #14
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by krssubbu View Post
now i have upgraded to 4.1, do i have to unlock my phone (my phone was unlocked on version 3.1.3) and once i upgrade to 6.0.1 do i have to unlock again ?
You're asking us if you have to unlock?
Do you want to? Are you using the phone on official carrier or is it locked to a certain carriers network and you want to use it on another company?
You're confusing us all here that are trying to help you.
What are you trying to do again and why?
What is your end goal that you want to reach?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:09 AM   #15
krssubbu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
sorry for the confusion.

The phone was locked to a carrier and they unlocked it for me when i was running on 3.1.3. Now i have upgraded to 4.1. i am not sure if i need to unlock it again after the upgrade ? do i need to unlock my phone after every upgrade ?

My aim is to upgrade to 6.0.1 and unlock it (if it needs one) so that i can use of a different carrier and jailbreak it when a jailbreak for it is available ?

My modem firmware version is 5.14 if this is what you mean by baseband version

Thanks
krssubbu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:20 AM   #16
dextr3k
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by krssubbu View Post
sorry for the confusion.

The phone was locked to a carrier and they unlocked it for me when i was running on 3.1.3. Now i have upgraded to 4.1. i am not sure if i need to unlock it again after the upgrade ? do i need to unlock my phone after every upgrade ?

My aim is to upgrade to 6.0.1 and unlock it (if it needs one) so that i can use of a different carrier and jailbreak it when a jailbreak for it is available ?

My modem firmware version is 5.14 if this is what you mean by baseband version

Thanks
Who is 'they'?
dextr3k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 04:16 AM   #17
TriJetHero
macrumors 601
 
TriJetHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: World
Quote:
Originally Posted by dextr3k View Post
Who is 'they'?
also which carrier was it locked to?
and
How did they unlock it?
__________________
iPhone 6 iOS 8.0 Stock
iPhone 5 iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 4 3G iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 2 WIFI iOS 8.0 GM
TriJetHero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 05:05 AM   #18
krssubbu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
@dextr3k - when i say "The phone was locked to a carrier and they unlocked " i mean the carrier

@TriJetHero - i am with o2 and they unlocked it through itunes. all they asked me to do was to sync with itunes and reboot

HTH
krssubbu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 02:06 PM   #19
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Ok then its officially unlocked for good.
You can restore, update as many times as you want it will still be unlocked.
You dont have to worry about that then.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:25 AM   #20
krssubbu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
thanks for this. just for my knowledge, if i unlock using redsnow or similar programs do i need to unlock it everytime i upgrade ?
krssubbu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 01:35 PM   #21
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by krssubbu View Post
thanks for this. just for my knowledge, if i unlock using redsnow or similar programs do i need to unlock it everytime i upgrade ?
What did I just tell you above?
The phone is factory unlocked now.
You dont need to unlock using redsnow or any similar programs.
Its FOREVER UNLOCKED.
You still dont get it?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 01:51 PM   #22
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
You still dont get it?
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 01:53 PM   #23
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhlizard View Post
I give up
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 01:54 PM   #24
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
I give up
You outlasted me (but then again you and TriJetHero always do)
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 01:58 PM   #25
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhlizard View Post
You outlasted me (but then again you and TriJetHero always do)
Patience daniel son
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: iPhone 5S Jailbreak - can't install anything on Cydia AlvinNguyen Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Dec 27, 2013 09:24 PM
$40 Windows 8 Pro Upgrade = Full Install, Not just Upgrade! Bheleu MacBook Pro 19 Nov 14, 2012 12:26 AM
If I want to do a fresh install of ML, do I have to install Lion first then upgrade? nvcplus OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Oct 31, 2012 11:50 PM
How to install Jailbreak apps qpixo Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 May 31, 2012 07:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC