Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2012, 11:19 AM   #1
hoya87eagle91
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Will a G5 pull data from a TC connected to newer machine?

Hi,
(Posted this in peripherals chat, but after 500 + views and no responses, I'm stuck!)
My wife had been backing up her 2007 mbp running 10.7 to a 1st generation time capsule via time machine. Her mbp just died. Diagnosis from the tech shop= graphics issue. Data is fine.

The question is: I have an idle G5 running 10.5.8. Can i just connect the G5 to her Time capsule like it's an external drive and start pulling up her backed up files? Can I copy all of that data to the G5 ?

I'd rather use this G5 than get a new mini or iMac if I can get her data onto it. Am open to other intelligent suggestions.!

Thanks
hoya87eagle91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 11:45 AM   #2
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
I don't see why not. If you can, you may just want to reinstall Mac OS on the G5 and when prompted to restore from time machine, do it then. I would imagine you'll get everything except the applications.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 01:17 PM   #3
jbarley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver Island
A couple of years ago my 2007 MBP failed due the Video card problem.
I managed to start mine in Target disk mode (press the 'T' key) while powering on.
Then using a FW cable connection to my Mac mini I was able to access the files I needed from my MBP.
I was lucky, I still have this 2007 MBP fully upgraded max memory and an SSD boot drive, mine failed within the 4 year window Apple offered to repair or replace those with this known graphics problem.
__________________
If a man speaks out while in the forest, and there is no woman there to hear him, is he still wrong?
jbarley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 02:50 PM   #4
hoya87eagle91
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrududu View Post
I don't see why not. If you can, you may just want to reinstall Mac OS on the G5 and when prompted to restore from time machine, do it then. I would imagine you'll get everything except the applications.
Thank you. Will reinstalling the OS on the G5 erase any data or apps already on my G5?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbarley View Post
A couple of years ago my 2007 MBP failed due the Video card problem.
I managed to start mine in Target disk mode (press the 'T' key) while powering on.
Then using a FW cable connection to my Mac mini I was able to access the files I needed from my MBP..
Thanks! Ill try this tonight. I appreciate the suggestions
hoya87eagle91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 02:03 AM   #5
hoya87eagle91
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Can't get the MBP to show up when booting in target mode. In fact the machine never seems to shut down or boot up.

It makes the same sound as it would when waking from sleep - a short duration spin noise. I can't seem to fully shut it down or fully wake it. It's sleepwalking.

I used an ethernet cable to connect the TC ( 10.7) to my old Power mac (10.5.8), navigated to the TC in finder and connected to it. I can view the files named "macbookpro.sparsebundle", but when I click on those sparebundle files, nothing shows
hoya87eagle91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:56 PM   #6
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoya87eagle91 View Post
Thank you. Will reinstalling the OS on the G5 erase any data or apps already on my G5?

----------



Thanks! Ill try this tonight. I appreciate the suggestions
Reinstalling will wipe app the apps from the G5. If you can see that folder you mentioned above "macbookpro.sparsebundle" try holding "Command" and clicking on the file and selecting "Show Package Contents" if its listed in the drop menu. It may allow you to see individual files in there. Unfortunately, I'm away from any of my computers running Leopard or newer to experiment with some Time Machine features. You may also check the Time Machine preferences in the System Preferences and see if there is anything there that will allow you to restore from time machine backup without having to do a re-install on the G5. That may work too.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pull data from filename to organize files ursusornatus Mac Programming 2 Mar 14, 2014 12:54 PM
Core Data do you have to pull out an object before you can update it? whitedragon101 iPhone/iPad Programming 3 Feb 23, 2014 05:13 PM
How to pull only specifi files from a Time Machine backup? ajtomasik Mac Basics and Help 1 Apr 1, 2013 10:43 AM
Accessing Songs on Newer Machine. oscsjc iPod 1 Feb 2, 2013 03:04 AM
OS X ML Upgrade corrupted OS X... need to pull data Devie Mac Basics and Help 3 Jan 15, 2013 07:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC