Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2012, 06:27 PM   #1
brn2rnjk1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Transferring everything from old snow leopard to new ML

Is there a way to transfer everything (programs/apps, docs, photos, music etc.) from my snow lion to my new iMac running mountain lion. I have done some research but didn't see if possible to move everything into new operating system? If not, what is the suggested way to do this? The old iMac is also "cloned" to an external drive if that helps.
brn2rnjk1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:46 PM   #2
bizango
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: california
I just did that last night. Transferred everything from my '08 iMac with Snow Leopard to my new 27" with Mountain lion. I did it the easy way through Migration Assistant. All I needed was to connect the two to the same router (I did it wired; seems you can also do it via wifi).

The opening screen walks you through it. It worked without a hitch...though took about 3 hours of painful waiting.

There are other ways to do it, of course, but I like simple.
__________________
2008 20" iMac, 2.66ghz C2D, ATI Radeon 2600pro
2012 27" iMac, i7, 1tb Fusion, 680mx
bizango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:46 PM   #3
imjoee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizango View Post
I just did that last night. Transferred everything from my '08 iMac with Snow Leopard to my new 27" with Mountain lion. I did it the easy way through Migration Assistant. All I needed was to connect the two to the same router (I did it wired; seems you can also do it via wifi).

The opening screen walks you through it. It worked without a hitch...though took about 3 hours of painful waiting.

There are other ways to do it, of course, but I like simple.
Are you able to just pick one account to transfer data? I have multiple accounts on my computer, does it give an option to transfer a selective number of apps and not the whole computer?

Thanks
imjoee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:26 PM   #4
toddzrx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I just did this about a month ago: old computer was a 1st gen 17" MBP on SL; target computer was a (new to me) mid-2010 21.5" iMac.

I used Migration Assistant in Utilities to do this and it's a piece of cake. I highly recommend you connect the two computers with an ethernet cable to speed things up; it will take about 5 times as long over WiFi (at least that's what my computer said when I first tried it).

Quote:
Originally Posted by imjoee View Post
Are you able to just pick one account to transfer data? I have multiple accounts on my computer, does it give an option to transfer a selective number of apps and not the whole computer?

Thanks
If I remember right, you can select specific data to transfer; don't quote me on that though. It will be obvious when you are setting it up; the steps are very clearly laid out.
toddzrx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:42 PM   #5
SubaLou
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Great thread.....but for me, I think i'm just going to transfer a few folders to my Ext HD and then simply move them over. I've only been on Snow Leopard....and I want to learn Mountain Lion and play with the new 27" imac & set up of it rather than transfer everything to the new one.
SubaLou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 07:40 AM   #6
brn2rnjk1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Thanks for all the responses. Just to be clear (and I can hook up either the old computer or a cloned external HD), this will transfer not only data but programs and apps?

Also, someone mentioned using setup assistant in ML? Is that the same?
brn2rnjk1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:21 AM   #7
Razorhog
macrumors 6502a
 
Razorhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arkansas
Connect a cat5e or cat6 cable directly from one machine to the other. No need for a switch or router in between.
Razorhog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 12:26 PM   #8
bizango
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: california
Quote:
Originally Posted by brn2rnjk1 View Post
Thanks for all the responses. Just to be clear (and I can hook up either the old computer or a cloned external HD), this will transfer not only data but programs and apps?

Also, someone mentioned using setup assistant in ML? Is that the same?
Yes it will transfer everything over. All files, programs, settings, even your screensaver. Everything is organized & set up the same as in the old computer. Seamless. I didn't try to select any item to not be transferred over, but believe it can be done.

The only thing it didn't transfer over was my old Boot Camp partition.
I don't know anything about setup assistant.

I'd say good luck, but you won't need it it's so easy.
__________________
2008 20" iMac, 2.66ghz C2D, ATI Radeon 2600pro
2012 27" iMac, i7, 1tb Fusion, 680mx
bizango is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac was running Snow Leo; Genius put Mtn Lion; I NEED Snow Leopard back; have disk SophiaSapphire Mac Basics and Help 14 Oct 20, 2013 01:17 PM
Leopard to Snow Leopard on MBP 2009 - worth it? uncleMonty OS X 6 Feb 17, 2013 01:28 PM
Downgrading from Lion to Snow using time machine and USB (Snow Leopard) djarsalan2006 OS X 0 Jan 19, 2013 12:37 AM
Upgrade Leopard to Snow Leopard 2008 iMac? roberttrussell MacBook 1 Nov 18, 2012 06:02 PM
Syncing iPhone 5 on PPC Leopard via a Snow Leopard Macbook Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 2 Oct 2, 2012 09:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC