How to get stock Android on Note 2? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2012, 06:59 PM   #1
jason2811
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2006
How to get stock Android on Note 2?

Any way to get rid of TouchWiz and get stock Android on a Note 2? I really liike the stock Jelly Bean lockscreen for example.
jason2811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:01 PM   #2
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason2811 View Post
Any way to get rid of TouchWiz and get stock Android on a Note 2? I really liike the stock Jelly Bean lockscreen for example.
Yep it's doable.You have to be rooted though and this voids your warranty. There are many different ROMs based on AOSP and you have to pick one. The most stable is probably CM10.1. You might not be able to use the S pen though which you will have to decide whether it's worth it or not.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1992378

If you need any help let me know but don't proceed unless you have a few hours of free time in case something goes wrong.

This will be handy too: http://galaxynote2root.com/
3bs is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:11 PM   #3
Dr McKay
macrumors Demi-God
 
Dr McKay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kirkland
Send a message via MSN to Dr McKay Send a message via Skype™ to Dr McKay
Its worth pointing out that if you're worried about voiding your warranty, you can relock the bootloader and they'll be none the wiser.
__________________
If only I could be so grossly incandescent.
Dr McKay is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:16 PM   #4
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr McKay View Post
Its worth pointing out that if you're worried about voiding your warranty, you can relock the bootloader and they'll be none the wiser.
Yeah sorry forgot to mention that you can avoid them finding out. You'll have to unlock your bootloader to flash a ROM and that wipes everything on your phone. Unlocking it also does that if I'm not mistaken so this whole process is not hassle free but definitely worth it if you don't mind putting some work into it.
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:30 PM   #5
jason2811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
Yep it's doable.You have to be rooted though and this voids your warranty. There are many different ROMs based on AOSP and you have to pick one. The most stable is probably CM10.1. You might not be able to use the S pen though which you will have to decide whether it's worth it or not.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1992378

If you need any help let me know but don't proceed unless you have a few hours of free time in case something goes wrong.

This will be handy too: http://galaxynote2root.com/

Thanks!
1) Is the locked bootloader on all Note 2 phones or just the ones from Verizon?
2) I heard that the camera on the Note 2 does not work on CM10. Is that true?
3) How have you liked CM10 compared to TouchWiz?
jason2811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:39 PM   #6
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason2811 View Post
Thanks!
1) Is the locked bootloader on all Note 2 phones or just the ones from Verizon?
2) I heard that the camera on the Note 2 does not work on CM10. Is that true?
3) How have you liked CM10 compared to TouchWiz?
I think most phones come with a locked bootloader. Unlocking/locking it is very simple the only downside is it wipes the phone.

There are sometimes issues that arise in AOSP ROMs that don't exist in TouchWiz, one of them is sometimes the camera says it can't connect and you have to reboot the phone. That happened on my GS3, I assume that's what you're talking about.

I've always loved AOSP ROMs including CM10 which is probably the most famous. CM10 lacks some features which other ROMs do but I think it's the most stable ROM. But like I said, you will lose some functionality and features like pop up play, pop up browser etc. You can always backup your current stock ROM after you root your phone then if you don't like CM10.1 or other ROMs you can just go back to your stock ROM very easily.
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:52 PM   #7
cynics
macrumors 603
 
cynics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Its doable but I think you lose out on a lot of good features that are exclusive to the note series especially that related to the s pen. Also keep in mind features like multiple windows is not a function of stock Android.
cynics is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:18 PM   #8
jason2811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by cynics View Post
Its doable but I think you lose out on a lot of good features that are exclusive to the note series especially that related to the s pen. Also keep in mind features like multiple windows is not a function of stock Android.
Thanks. Is there any way I can get the look of stock JellyBean with a launcher?
jason2811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:11 PM   #9
dalbir4444
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason2811 View Post
Thanks. Is there any way I can get the look of stock JellyBean with a launcher?
Install Nova or Apex launcher, as well as holo locker. After this the only remaining touchwiz-like interface will be the notifications and the settings menu. If these are still a big deal to you, then there's probably a mod you can find on the XDA forums.

Like others said, I wouldn't recommend flashing a non-Samsung based ROM for this phone because it has some unique features that set it apart from stock Android.
dalbir4444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:29 PM   #10
Esoom
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Send a message via Skype™ to Esoom
Yes, just poke around XDA for a while and flash some roms. you can always go back to stock, although I haven't done custom roms in a while, just too much work and they're all buggy.
__________________
2011 13" MBA l iP5 l iPad Mini, gen II, iPad Air l iPod Touch gen 4,5 l stockholder
Esoom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:32 PM   #11
dalbir4444
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esoom View Post
Yes, just poke around XDA for a while and flash some roms. you can always go back to stock, although I haven't done custom roms in a while, just too much work and they're all buggy.
They're not all buggy. Only the nightlies and the ones that are still in development. For example, now that 4.2 is out, the 4.1 ROMs are quite stable.
dalbir4444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:41 PM   #12
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esoom View Post
Yes, just poke around XDA for a while and flash some roms. you can always go back to stock, although I haven't done custom roms in a while, just too much work and they're all buggy.
While they do have bugs, some of them can run even better than the stock ROM. Every GS3 ROM I tried (about 5-6) was smoother than stock. The TouchWiz ones were almost bug free (for me) but AOSP/AOKP had some issues probably due to Samsung being a PITA and not sharing the code the devs need, but even then they were things I was willing to put up with because they weren't major issues.
3bs is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 07:40 AM   #13
walie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
only the Verizon Note 2 has a locked bootloader


I would say go with Nova/Apex launcher with Widgetlocker for the lock screen. You lose too much s-pen functionality, camera features and video out with an AOSP rom
walie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:59 AM   #14
hallaisen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
I bought my note 2 two days ago and put CM10.1 on it the second day. Its insanely nice and there are hardly any bugs at all. Very very smooth and beautiful The camera app works with the latest nightly...
hallaisen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 09:05 AM   #15
jrswizzle
macrumors 601
 
jrswizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: McKinney, TX
I thought Android was the greatest thing ever right out of the box??

Alright, alright I'm just messing with ya'll. Don't go all flamewar on me. I've wanted to try a Note II or GS3, but won't give up my iP5.....trying to see if I can finagle one from my employer (currently I have a 4S for work).
__________________
"Innovation, my ass!" -Phil Schiller

iPhone 5S, 5C | Lumia 520 |iPad rMini, Air | Kindle Fire 7" HDX
jrswizzle is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 11:29 AM   #16
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by hallaisen View Post
I bought my note 2 two days ago and put CM10.1 on it the second day. Its insanely nice and there are hardly any bugs at all. Very very smooth and beautiful The camera app works with the latest nightly...
Don't you feel like you're missing out on all of the features which are a big reason why a lot of people buy this phone for?

By the way you should check out JellyBam which combines CM10.1 + Paranoid Android + AOKP. It's probably not as smooth and stable as CM10.1 but worth checking out since you have a lot more features
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 12:32 PM   #17
jason2811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
Don't you feel like you're missing out on all of the features which are a big reason why a lot of people buy this phone for?

By the way you should check out JellyBam which combines CM10.1 + Paranoid Android + AOKP. It's probably not as smooth and stable as CM10.1 but worth checking out since you have a lot more features
What launcher or ROM do you use? Or do you simply stick with TouchWiz?
jason2811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 12:43 PM   #18
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason2811 View Post
What launcher or ROM do you use? Or do you simply stick with TouchWiz?
I had a GS3 which for the longest part I used AOSP ROMs on like CM10 and Paranoid Android. Towards the end I was using a TouchWiz based ROM. I sold my GS3 now and have a Nexus 4 which comes with vanilla Android.

I use Nova launcher but that's just personal preference.

If you really want to try this out then do it. Unlock the bootloader. Root your phone. Make a nandroid (name of backups of whole phone) and then flash a custom ROM like CM10. If you don't like it or miss the TouchWiz features then you can go back to your stock nandroid backup. The beauty of nandroids is they backup everything and take you back where you left off. You can transfer app + data between ROMs using Titanium Backup.
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 01:40 PM   #19
ChazUK
macrumors 603
 
ChazUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Essex (UK)
Here is a good stock like experience without root or modding.

http://phandroid.com/2012/12/15/20-a...ut-root-guide/

You can't beat an AOSP ROM tho.
__________________
Windows 8 Desktop | HP Chromebook 11 | Moto G GPE | iPhone 4s | iPad Mini Retina | Nexus 7
ChazUK is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 01:58 PM   #20
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChazUK View Post
Here is a good stock like experience without root or modding.

http://phandroid.com/2012/12/15/20-a...ut-root-guide/

You can't beat an AOSP ROM tho.
Wow I didn't know all those apps existsed in the Play Store thanks for sharing!

There's a problem with all the ROMs or maybe gapps (google apps) I've been using. If you have the quick controls turned on for the stock AOSP browser then the url bar gets stuck and doesn't go away when you press enter and you can't touch it either. I'll try the ICS browser in that link. I just love the quick controls!
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:34 PM   #21
ChazUK
macrumors 603
 
ChazUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Essex (UK)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
Wow I didn't know all those apps existsed in the Play Store thanks for sharing!

There's a problem with all the ROMs or maybe gapps (google apps) I've been using. If you have the quick controls turned on for the stock AOSP browser then the url bar gets stuck and doesn't go away when you press enter and you can't touch it either. I'll try the ICS browser in that link. I just love the quick controls!
It is a great way to get a stock like experience, that's for sure (I'll keep it bookmarked just in case I stray from my Nexus roots!

I used to love the gestures in the stock AOSP browser. It's a shame they couldn't implement it into Chrome but with the swipe to change tabs gesture it'd be an impossibility.

Does ICS Browser+ work on Jellybean at all? I've read it doesnt.
__________________
Windows 8 Desktop | HP Chromebook 11 | Moto G GPE | iPhone 4s | iPad Mini Retina | Nexus 7
ChazUK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:44 PM   #22
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChazUK View Post
It is a great way to get a stock like experience, that's for sure (I'll keep it bookmarked just in case I stray from my Nexus roots!

I used to love the gestures in the stock AOSP browser. It's a shame they couldn't implement it into Chrome but with the swipe to change tabs gesture it'd be an impossibility.

Does ICS Browser+ work on Jellybean at all? I've read it doesnt.
I haven't tried yet but I hope so. I want to use it until this AOSP browser bug gets fixed. I remotely installed it to my Nexus 4 so I'll find out when I get home.
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:03 PM   #23
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChazUK View Post
Does ICS Browser+ work on Jellybean at all? I've read it doesnt.
It keeps force closing
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 07:24 PM   #24
nick_elt
macrumors 68000
 
nick_elt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I found touchwiz so much smoother than the launchers tho with the note 2.
__________________
White Macbook, 2012 Macbook air 13", titanium grey galaxy note 2, ipad 3rd gen, apple tv 3
nick_elt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 07:30 PM   #25
dalbir4444
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick_elt View Post
I found touchwiz so much smoother than the launchers tho with the note 2.
Which launchers?
dalbir4444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Galaxy S4, S3, and Note 2 Android 4.3 Dates for U.S.A. revealed Technarchy Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 28 Oct 29, 2013 10:23 AM
Note 2 and Other Android users who moved to iPhone hbksabhi Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 38 Oct 7, 2013 03:23 AM
Note 2/Android back to iOS? Vandam500 Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 8 Sep 21, 2013 06:56 PM
When will galaxy note 8.0 get android 4.2.2? The Game 161 Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 2 Jun 11, 2013 12:13 AM
App for note sync(iOS and android) Zmanbaseball2 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 May 21, 2013 05:29 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC