Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:38 PM   #1
Odisey
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Got 16 GBs RAM and Windows don't ...

Why is RAM not showing up on Windows side? Shouldn't 4 Gigs show in properties? Using Bootcamp.

16 GBs RAM installed today and Windows properties shows only one processor running 1.99 GBs RAM. I actually have 2 processors, so I am thinking it may be a glitch on the Windows' side. I'm running Windows XP Home 32 bit, wondering why it is not recognizing up to 4 GBs RAM max in Windows properties dialogue box. Seems a lot faster on Windows side though ...

Thanks

Last edited by Odisey; Dec 19, 2012 at 09:36 AM. Reason: Reworded
Odisey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 01:54 PM   #2
Project Alice
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Spokane WA
The answer to this is simple. Any 32bit operating system will not see or use more than 4gb of ram. Usually that is the case anyways. In my experience, especially with XP home edition, it might not even use that much it would see anywhere between 2 and 3.5. I suggest at least installing XP pro, but you would be doing much more good by having an x64 version of windows if you want it to function properly on a mac that new. The hardware in the computer is aimed toward newer systems like vista and 7. Yes XP will run, but the hardware is beyond XP. The best chance you'll get is either installing XP Pro x64, or any version of windows server 2003. That is of course if you must be using XP.
as for it seeming faster, of course it does. Windows XP has a minimum requirement of a 266mhz cpu with 64mb of ram, or something like that. essentially this computer is over kill for it, so it seems faster.
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=vs.85%29.aspx

If you want to use more than 4gb in windows, you have to install a 64bit OS, or a windows version that supports PAE.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15", 2.33 C2D, 3gb ram, 500GB, Mac OS X 10.7.5; Power Mac G4 Quicksilver, Dual 800mhz, 1.5gb ram. 80gb HDD, triple boot: Mac OS 10.5.8, 10.4.11, and 9.2.2

Last edited by Project Alice; Dec 19, 2012 at 02:01 PM.
Project Alice is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 02:19 PM   #3
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
A portion of that address space is tied up with other thing. I don't remember them at the moment, but it is normal.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:55 PM   #4
Sincci
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Finland
Don't bother with x64 version of XP or Vista, none of those are supported by Bootcamp anymore. Your best option is IMO 64bit version of Windows 7.
Sincci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 12:33 AM   #5
adder7712
macrumors 68000
 
adder7712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Anywhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sincci View Post
Don't bother with x64 version of XP or Vista, none of those are supported by Bootcamp anymore. Your best option is IMO 64bit version of Windows 7.
Or Windows 8.
__________________
Custom PC (Windows 8.1), MacBook Aluminium (OS X Mavericks), iPad 3, Sony Xperia Z3, Samsung Galaxy Tab S 8.4
adder7712 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Tags
processors, properties, ram, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why does DU show windows.boot.ini files updated when I don't have windows on my mac GlowJoy MacBook Pro 1 Feb 22, 2014 08:41 PM
How Many GBs are in Iris Pro Graphics? alexk403 MacBook Pro 1 Oct 25, 2013 09:28 PM
File deletion requires a password, results in missing files that don't free up GBs! JohnnyRocketSk8 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Feb 22, 2013 05:09 AM
How much GBs should i use towards bootcamp applefanboy5 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Oct 27, 2012 11:12 AM
GBs of updates, Really!? RightMACatU MacBook Air 9 Oct 6, 2012 01:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC