|
|
#1 |
|
Sketchy or Go For It?
I'm looking to buy a rMBP and found a great deal on Craigslist. Want to know if you guys think its legit or not.
Listing: http://baltimore.craigslist.org/sys/3482566749.html Our conversation thus far: http://i.imgur.com/JgJTV.png http://i.imgur.com/AOW9j.png http://i.imgur.com/S8HjU.png http://i.imgur.com/2qW9a.png http://i.imgur.com/Ey5Du.png http://i.imgur.com/1HJSV.png http://i.imgur.com/DhpBZ.png http://i.imgur.com/HRawC.png http://i.imgur.com/3zeTw.png http://i.imgur.com/GIj4l.png Will update as conversation proceeds. What do you think? Last edited by Squilly; Dec 18, 2012 at 11:33 PM. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Opinions? Still not sure if I should go for it or not.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Because it's under warranty, why not schedule a Genius Bar appointment to have it checked out? It's a nice public place and if the buyer is legit they shouldn't object.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#4 |
|
My gut feeling is to stay away.
1) You never do paypal with craigslisters. Pay cash upon pickup/inspection. 2) The guy sounds like a douchebag. 3) 1 month old laptop, $1000 discount, no receipt, no box, no accessories... first word that comes to mind is "stolen" Last edited by ritmomundo; Dec 19, 2012 at 12:03 PM. |
|
|
|
4
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Sounds totally sketchy. I agree with the comment above that this guy is a douche. I would run. FAST!
![]() If it's too good to be true... There is something off about all this. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#6 |
|
He owns a business, he has the box (it's at home in NYC), valid purchase date. He's willing to meet but he's 2 hours from me and won't drive to me -_-
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#7 | |
|
Quote:
You would have to schedule it perfectly to make sure he doesn't sell it even when you might be driving to him. You have no guarantee and you're dealing with a stubborn seller. Don't do it.
__________________
12" iBook G4/ 1.33GHz/ 1.5GB/ 40GB HDD/ Leopard 10.5.8, 32GB iPad 1 WiFi+3G. |
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#8 | |
|
Quote:
2) He says he has a box, it's conveniently in another state, but he couldn't bring it with him on a 2 day trip to MD when he knew he was planning to post a CL ad to sell the laptop. Plus, when you ask him about the box, he says "youre saving money, this isnt a giveaway." Sorry man, that's just shady (and a douchebag thing to say to a buyer). 3) I don't understand how a valid purchase date proves anything. Just that someone bought it. But that someone doesn't have to be him. |
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#9 |
|
He gave me picture proof. I asked him to put his phone number and my phone number next to the computer and gladly did. Payment is the only issue now. He's allowing me to meet him but he's an hour and a half away.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Ask for the serial number and check it with apple?
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#11 |
|
You've asked for advice and pretty much every one has suggested you don't go through with it, yet you're still considering it? One look at that facebook page should have been enough to convince you. Plus he has been really rude. I would have told him to f@*# off a while ago.
|
|
|
|
2
|
|
|
#12 |
|
His site says that he does upgrades, so maybe it's one of the machines that he was supposed to upgrade but just wants to sell. Or it was collateral(but I don't know what services he would provide that would require a rMBP as collateral) and someone didn't pay him. Totally not trustworthy.
Why not have peace of mind and just buy the rMBP from Apple directly? I know the obvious reason is the price, but you're going to jump through hoops for a guy that is rude, stubborn, and most likely shady. Plus, that 1.5 hours away is going to turn into at least a 5 hour day for you with checking out the computer, making payment, getting everything sorted and then driving back. I wonder if this is his thing of listing something in another state's CL so that he can easily dispatch of goods that he illegally acquired and then have it be almost untraceable. He lives in NYC but posts a sale ad with a MD location when the box is at home and then luckily has a buyer from PA fall into his lap with this one.
__________________
12" iBook G4/ 1.33GHz/ 1.5GB/ 40GB HDD/ Leopard 10.5.8, 32GB iPad 1 WiFi+3G. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Ask if he'll transfer the licenses for CS6 Master Collection and Office 2011.
__________________
Mac Pro | 27" iMac | 15" MacBook Pro with Retina display | iPhone 5 | iPad 3 | iPad mini
|
|
|
|
1
|
|
|
#14 | |
|
This is very, very sketchy. I wouldn't do it.
If there's even a laptop it is more than certainly stolen. You may want to review laws in your state regarding receiving stolen property as you may be liable for purchasing the stolen laptop. As "the owner" is unable to produce any evidence they are the legal owner, combined with his evasive even combative statements, and finally the "too good to be true" status makes alarms go off in my head. ---------- Quote:
To quoth Han, "I've got a bad feeling about this." |
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#15 |
|
|
0
|
|
|
#16 |
|
I know you want it but the more we learn the more this stinks. I'd have to agree with the 'run away' sentiment.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#17 |
|
So what happened? Did you go for it? Just wondering...
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#18 |
|
You know he won't. The Master Suite license alone is more than the price of the machine. It's a downloaded trial cracked with a host file block so it can't talk to Adobe. Right there says sketchy.
|
|
|
|
0
|
![]() |
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.









Linear Mode
