Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 20, 2012, 11:31 AM   #1
krawfo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Re-partitioning OSX and Bootcamp

When I first got my iMac, I set up two 500 gb partitions on my 1tb drive and put Windows on one of the partitions. I've nearly filled my OSX drive with almost nothing on the Windows partition. Should I resize the drive partitions throught OSX or Windows? I don't know if it matters but I'm actually running Windows via Parallels.
Thanks.
krawfo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:50 PM   #2
-Concept-
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In front of a computer. Any computer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by krawfo View Post
When I first got my iMac, I set up two 500 gb partitions on my 1tb drive and put Windows on one of the partitions. I've nearly filled my OSX drive with almost nothing on the Windows partition. Should I resize the drive partitions throught OSX or Windows? I don't know if it matters but I'm actually running Windows via Parallels.
Thanks.
I don't think you can resize the Boot Camp partition using standard Disk Util procedure in Mac, although you can buy/get a free trial an app that will do it for you. Here's a link to what I found on the subject: http://www.macworld.com/article/2010...partition.html I don't know about whether or not you can do it on the Windows side of things.

Hope that can help you.

Also, when you say you're running it through Parallels, you mean Parallels is synced up with your partition and can interact with it from your Mac interface? Because that would be helpful to me too.
__________________
I love this fruit.
-Concept- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 02:04 PM   #3
krawfo
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Concept, thanks for the link and the info. I'm not sure what you mean by "Parallels is synced up with your partition and can interact with it from your Mac interface".
I initially installed Bootcamp but quickly got tired of rebooting every time I wanted to switch between Windows and OSX. With Parallels, I can immediately switch between the 2 OS's to access my Windows install on the Bootcamp partition.
krawfo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 10:58 PM   #4
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by krawfo View Post
Concept, thanks for the link and the info. I'm not sure what you mean by "Parallels is synced up with your partition and can interact with it from your Mac interface".
I initially installed Bootcamp but quickly got tired of rebooting every time I wanted to switch between Windows and OSX. With Parallels, I can immediately switch between the 2 OS's to access my Windows install on the Bootcamp partition.
That's what he was talking about, you are accessing the bootcamp partition from within parallels.

As for resizing, go into Disk Utility, if it is possible it is not greyed out and you can resize, BUT if I were you I would for sure have a backup, if it goes wrong you still have your Data.
So, make a backup first.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 07:57 AM   #5
krawfo
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
When I go into disk utility, my 1 tb drive is shown with the Mac and Bootcamp partitions. It appears that only the Mac partition can be resized.
krawfo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 08:03 AM   #6
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by krawfo View Post
When I go into disk utility, my 1 tb drive is shown with the Mac and Bootcamp partitions. It appears that only the Mac partition can be resized.
It may be possible to resize the bootcamp partition in Windows and then the HFS partition in OS X.
But, don't take my word for it.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 10:51 AM   #7
Doggonit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
What if my "Macintosh HD" partition on my SSD cannot be resized with the Disk Utility in OS X? What then?

I also believe that even if I made that smaller that way, and created an unallocated space, Windows 7 cannot extend the system partition (as there is no other one) from within the system using Disk Management (I think you used to be able to do this with Windows XP though, but oh well, 7 it is...).

Damn Battlefield 3 Premium Edition. Why is it SO big? The whole shebang with all the extensions is weighing in around 30GB?! That's downright insane.
__________________
rMBP 2.6/512/16
Doggonit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 06:54 AM   #8
krawfo
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Update & Success

I just finished resizing my OSX/Bootcamp partition using a product called Paragon Camptune. It worked like a charm. Very easy to use and took about 15 minutes. It costs $19.95 but was able to find a 20% off coupon code.
krawfo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bootcamp partitioning is stuck madmonkey111 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Aug 30, 2013 02:36 PM
partitioning scheme - bootcamp collinmac MacBook Pro 0 Jul 28, 2013 05:17 PM
Partitioning HD containing Bootcamp? omgitssum1 OS X 0 Jun 3, 2013 02:14 AM
BootCamp cannot be used - Stuck at Partitioning fr1d4y13 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Nov 26, 2012 05:57 AM
Bootcamp Partitioning browerjs Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 20 Jun 15, 2012 07:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC