Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 20, 2012, 12:56 PM   #1
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Boot screen work-arounds?

I use a 6870 non flashed in my MP 3.1. It works wonderfully. I don't have a boot screen, but I almost never use it.

I want to use Paragon Camptune to make my windows bootcamp partition larger. Camptune is a downloadable ISO that has to be burned to a boot disk.

My question is are there any workarounds or programs that would spare me the annoyance of pulling my 6870 out and putting my stock GPU back in, just to have to see my boot screen?


If not... c'est la vie...
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:08 PM   #2
-Concept-
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In front of a computer. Any computer.
Can you select it as the startup volume from system preferences?
__________________
I love this fruit.
-Concept- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:21 PM   #3
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Concept- View Post
Can you select it as the startup volume from system preferences?
Either that, or you take your original card and put it into another slot without removing the 6870. Your original GPU works as a helper card.
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:33 PM   #4
goMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
If you're burning to CD/DVD, holding down C at boot still works for booting from optical disk with no menu selections.
goMac is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:40 PM   #5
Phrygian
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
excellent suggestions.
ya'll are broskies

Quote:
Originally Posted by El Awesome View Post
Either that, or you take your original card and put it into another slot without removing the 6870. Your original GPU works as a helper card.
i was under the belief that this did not work.
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:42 PM   #6
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrygian View Post
excellent suggestions.
ya'll are broskies



i was under the belief that this did not work.

Possible - please correct me if I was wrong.
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC