Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 20, 2012, 12:46 PM   #51
wickedking94
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Actually mines from 2010.
wickedking94 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:08 PM   #52
leman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedking94 View Post
Actually mines from 2010.
http://ark.intel.com/products/35568/...z-1066-MHz-FSB


Quote:
Originally Posted by Intel
Launch Date = Q3'08
leman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:42 PM   #53
wickedking94
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Okay sorry my computer is from 2010 even if the CPU isn't. Why the heck did apple put a 2 year old CPU into this thing?

----------

Also I'm pleased to report that my MBP can see the full 640 GB. I thought I read somewhere that the maximum this one could use was 500 GB..? Maybe thats the most supported by Apple.
wickedking94 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:48 PM   #54
treyjustice
macrumors 65816
 
treyjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedking94 View Post
Okay sorry my computer is from 2010 even if the CPU isn't. Why the heck did apple put a 2 year old CPU into this thing?

----------

Also I'm pleased to report that my MBP can see the full 640 GB. I thought I read somewhere that the maximum this one could use was 500 GB..? Maybe thats the most supported by Apple.
Great. Does it run any faster? Even though c2d is older you shouldn't have any problems doing basic tasks
__________________
iPhone 5c; Late 2013 13" rMbp 8 gb 256 gb
treyjustice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:54 PM   #55
Ploki
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedking94 View Post
Okay so I agree with those saying my HDD is dying. Makes sense since its as old as my MBP and I use it a ton.

I got a brand new 640 GB toshiba HDD (not sure if my MBP can "see" over 500 GB but whatever). Will do a partition for my OS and Apps.

I'll post results once I've gotten the new HDD in and all my stuff copied over to the new one.
didnt you say that you bought and tried with an SSD?
Ploki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:57 PM   #56
wickedking94
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Can't really tell yet. It installed SL in about 15 minutes so thats a bit faster. Have to re-download all the software updates because my SL disc is 10.6.4. I'll know once all the updates are installed.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ploki View Post
didnt you say that you bought and tried with an SSD?
I bought a 60 GB SSD and it was useless, so I returned it.
Why do you ask?
wickedking94 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 02:03 PM   #57
Ploki
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
because you either are extremely unlucky and got a crappy SSD, or your problem lies elsewhere than a botched HDD.

Also sorry for using the word "idiot" back there. It came out harsh - I apologize.
Ploki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 02:21 PM   #58
-Concept-
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In front of a computer. Any computer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedking94 View Post
That was weeks ago. If there was any damage I wouldn't have been able to re-install OSX. And I've run several disk check programs. An it wasn't a "tantrum" it was being fed up with how poorly this thing runs.
At least it was a Mac. If it was a PC, it would have spontaneously combusted (knocked my old PC off of a table once it started smoking).
__________________
I love this fruit.
-Concept- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 03:25 PM   #59
wickedking94
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ploki View Post
because you either are extremely unlucky and got a crappy SSD, or your problem lies elsewhere than a botched HDD.

Also sorry for using the word "idiot" back there. It came out harsh - I apologize.
Well I only used the SSD a little bit so I don't know if it would have helped or not. The only thing I did with it was test Maya and it didn't help much so I returned it. Good thing I did otherwise I wouldn't have been able to get the 640 GB HDD.

And thank you for the apology.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Concept- View Post
At least it was a Mac. If it was a PC, it would have spontaneously combusted (knocked my old PC off of a table once it started smoking).
Haha. Once a loooong time ago my friend brought his computer over (it was like a pentium 2 machine) and when we powered it on flames shot out of the HDD. Good times. Then again I was working on my mom's PC once and someone threw a shoe and it hit the heatsink and ripped it and the CPU out of the socket, but when I put it all back together it was fine.

----------

Well so far Steam wont even open now. Won't use that as a benchmark though because Steam is the worst effing game launcher on the planet.
wickedking94 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 07:10 PM   #60
naparkertx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
No clue what "kav" is

I've had serious issues with my MBP running very slow and/or sluggish. "Genius" bar hasn't been much help. Here is a screen shot of my Activity Log and clearly there is something running hogging all the CPU usage.

Any help on how to find and get rid of it? Is this some sort of spyware?

Thanks for any and all help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-20 at 6.05.18 PM.png
Views:	38
Size:	140.5 KB
ID:	384898  
naparkertx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 08:01 PM   #61
JosephBergdoll
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedking94 View Post
Okay sorry my computer is from 2010 even if the CPU isn't. Why the heck did apple put a 2 year old CPU into this thing?

----------

Also I'm pleased to report that my MBP can see the full 640 GB. I thought I read somewhere that the maximum this one could use was 500 GB..? Maybe thats the most supported by Apple.
*looks at 1tb drive in my 2008 first gen unibody*

Are you sure you know what you're doing? I'm on a c2d machine and have had no problems like yours at all. After 8gb of RAM and a 128gb SSD + 1TB HDD combo, it's pretty killer.
__________________
2013 27" iMac 3.4gHz 16gb RAM 1gb VRAM 1tb Fusion
2008 15" Unibody MacBook Pro 2.53gHz w/ 8gb RAM 128gb SSD + 1tb SSD
2006 Mac Mini 1,1 Media Center
www.randomlurkers.com
JosephBergdoll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 08:33 PM   #62
wickedking94
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by JosephBergdoll View Post
*looks at 1tb drive in my 2008 first gen unibody*

Are you sure you know what you're doing? I'm on a c2d machine and have had no problems like yours at all. After 8gb of RAM and a 128gb SSD + 1TB HDD combo, it's pretty killer.
Oh I'm pretty sure I know what I'm doing. I got 98% on a Cisco computer hardware software course and I've been tinkering for 6 years before that.

Anyway the partition trick works. The OS partition gets 85 MB/s read 80 MB/s write and the secondary partition only gets 55 MB/s read 50 MB/s write. Huh.

Still cant get steam to launch so no way to tell if my games work any better
Photoshop launches in about 2 seconds compared to the 10 seconds from before. And now I don't get a ball of death for every little task.
wickedking94 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 08:50 PM   #63
Jaimi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by naparkertx View Post
I've had serious issues with my MBP running very slow and/or sluggish. "Genius" bar hasn't been much help. Here is a screen shot of my Activity Log and clearly there is something running hogging all the CPU usage.

Any help on how to find and get rid of it? Is this some sort of spyware?

Thanks for any and all help.
kav is Kaspersky Anti-Virus. It's your anti-virus running. I use Clam-AV. It's free, and doesn't do that.
Jaimi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 03:46 AM   #64
Ploki
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedking94 View Post
Oh I'm pretty sure I know what I'm doing. I got 98% on a Cisco computer hardware software course and I've been tinkering for 6 years before that.

Anyway the partition trick works. The OS partition gets 85 MB/s read 80 MB/s write and the secondary partition only gets 55 MB/s read 50 MB/s write. Huh.

Still cant get steam to launch so no way to tell if my games work any better
Photoshop launches in about 2 seconds compared to the 10 seconds from before. And now I don't get a ball of death for every little task.
Told ya. Incredibly simple trick but makes sense due to physical construction of an HDD.

Disclaimer for anyone else stumbling upon this: no SSD will ever benefit from that trick.
Ploki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 04:06 AM   #65
iAppl3Fan
macrumors 6502a
 
iAppl3Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedking94 View Post
Every single task I try and do on this MBP is a pain. When watching a youtube video, it will freeze every minute for 5 seconds for no reason, it gives me a 30 second ball of death if I hit the play button on itunes, it freezes when I'm typing, It can barely play games like minecraft or garry's mod and half the time it crashes doing that anyway. If I load a webpage with more than one flash ad on it freezes. I've reset the SMC, the NVRAM, checked the RAM for errors, checked my HDD for errors, done a clean install of Snow Leopard, fixed disk permissions, and pretty much every other thing to try and gain any performance improvement, and they've all failed. My MBP used to do all these things without a problem but now its slow and useless.

MBP specs:
2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo
GeForce 320M 256MB
500 GB 5400 RPM HDD (250 GB free)
8 GB DDR3 RAM
OS 10.6.8

Its seriously starting to get on my nerves. My brothers cheap 2.1 Ghz Core i3 laptop is out running my over priced aluminum desk ornament.

Any suggestions to improve/fix my MBP would be greatly appreciated.
Install a SSD and do a fresh install. Will solve your problems.
__________________
 13" MacBook Air (Mid 2013) + Dual 27" Thunderbolt Display
 15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display (Mid 2012) + 24" LED Cinema Display
 TV |  Time Capsule |  iPod |  iPhone |  iPad Air/mini
iAppl3Fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 06:13 AM   #66
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by naparkertx View Post
I've had serious issues with my MBP running very slow and/or sluggish. "Genius" bar hasn't been much help. Here is a screen shot of my Activity Log and clearly there is something running hogging all the CPU usage. Any help on how to find and get rid of it? Is this some sort of spyware?
No, this is the anti-virus/anti-malware scanner “Kaspersky Anti-Virus”. Deinstall Kaspersky Anti-Virus. Problem solved.
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 10:12 AM   #67
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by naparkertx View Post
I've had serious issues with my MBP running very slow and/or sluggish. "Genius" bar hasn't been much help. Here is a screen shot of my Activity Log and clearly there is something running hogging all the CPU usage.

Any help on how to find and get rid of it? Is this some sort of spyware?

Thanks for any and all help.
As others have said, that's the Kaspersky Anti-Virus app. You don't need it. Like Mr. Retrofire, I recommend you completely uninstall it. The most effective method for complete app removal is manual deletion:
Best way to FULLY DELETE a program
You don't need any 3rd party antivirus app to keep a Mac malware-free, as long as you practice safe computing, as described in the following link. Read the What security steps should I take? section of the Mac Virus/Malware FAQ for tips on practicing safe computing.

If you still want to run antivirus for some reason, ClamXav (which is free) is one of the best choices, since it isn't a resource hog, detects both Mac and Windows malware and doesn't run with elevated privileges.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 01:49 PM   #68
wickedking94
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Well im off visiting people for the holidays and of course the restore of my computer didnt include my games so i cant see if those work any better. Ill have to wait until monday when im back home to restore them. How can i get hidden folders off a time machine backup?
wickedking94 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 04:37 PM   #69
slushbee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Question Help me too please !

Hello! So I read the whole thread and I'm kind of having the same issues. I attached my activity logs and followed the instructions. So please have a look.

First a bit about my computer:

Macbook Pro Mid 2009
Processor 2.26 GHz Intel Core Duo
Memory 2 GB 1067 MHz DDR3

My computer was completely JAMMED when I was in my last semester of school and it majorly slowed down. It takes me forever to do anything. Switching tabs in Google Chrome takes 10 seconds. I was running Snow Leopard and finally bought a hard drive backed everything up, completely formatted the computer and installed Mountain Lion and did not restore ANYTHING. I downloaded a trial version of adobe photoshop to see how slow it would run and it's too painful to do any photo editing this way. My computer did not get any faster at all. It's such a pain. Do I need more RAM? Help

edit: I verified the disk in utility and it says that it appears to be OK.

Last edited by slushbee; Dec 27, 2012 at 04:46 PM. Reason: I also verified the disk in disk utility and it says everything is working fine
slushbee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 05:19 PM   #70
walkie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Computers lag for several reasons:

You need more RAM: check with the monitor app if your computer is using up all the RAM memory, when this occurs the computer starts using the hard drive as a RAM memory, hard drives are thousand times much slower than RAM memory.

You have hidden apps that make too much reads on the hard drive, some apps such as anti-virus apps keep running on background accessing intensively the hard drive making everything lags, this is more often on Windows systems.

Some apps lag when waiting for some remote response (from Internet for example), if they don't receive a response they keep trying and every time they wait the whole app can become unresponsive.

You might have TSR apps running on memory, some of them can be CPU hog, and your computer can run out of CPU.

Some apps that use 3D can terminate without releasing resources properly, when a new app starts this resources are stil blocked and the app is unable to run smoothly.

Some apps suffers from memory leaks, some navigators for example can use up all your memory as you open tabs.

Flash player, this is the worst app I ever had, well known for being laggy, buggy, memory leaker, CPU and memory hog, etc. Flash is a plugin that runs into your browser showing horrendous adds and banners on your web page.

Hope this can help.
walkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Help] Slow MacBook Pro vSuprrra MacBook Pro 3 Jul 8, 2013 05:21 PM
Very new Macbook Pro 13 so slow ETID MacBook Pro 21 Apr 16, 2013 04:16 PM
MacBook Pro very slow bubaseball MacBook Pro 4 Oct 2, 2012 12:02 AM
Slow MacBook Pro ermusician MacBook Pro 13 Sep 28, 2012 09:40 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC