Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 19, 2012, 12:39 AM   #1
Namtaro
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Time Machine and Networked Folder/Drive?

Hello all, I'm wondering if there's a way to use Time Machine on a networked drive/folder?

I tried searching for guides, but all that pops up are guides for Snow Leopard and it no longer works for Mountain Lion.

Any help/links/guides would be great!
Namtaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2012, 07:01 PM   #2
jmmo20
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namtaro View Post
Hello all, I'm wondering if there's a way to use Time Machine on a networked drive/folder?

I tried searching for guides, but all that pops up are guides for Snow Leopard and it no longer works for Mountain Lion.

Any help/links/guides would be great!
yep it works, just select it and Mountain Lion will create a sparsebundle image where the TM backups will be stored.
jmmo20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 06:50 AM   #3
SlCKB0Y
macrumors 68020
 
SlCKB0Y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namtaro View Post
Hello all, I'm wondering if there's a way to use Time Machine on a networked drive/folder?
What OS is running where the networked drive is?
SlCKB0Y is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 09:46 AM   #4
jmmo20
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlCKB0Y View Post
What OS is running where the networked drive is?
Lion or mountain Lion.
Never tried on a windows share.
jmmo20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 10:47 AM   #5
phyrexia
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
What have you tried already, OP?
__________________
Powermac11,2 // Macbookpro8,3 // iPad(3), 32GB + VZW // IB i7 Hackintosh (BAMF) // Synology DS1513+, DS411
phyrexia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 09:09 PM   #6
SlCKB0Y
macrumors 68020
 
SlCKB0Y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmo20 View Post
Lion or mountain Lion.
Never tried on a windows share.
Apple require you to have Server installed on the target machine.

Last edited by SlCKB0Y; Aug 20, 2012 at 09:19 PM.
SlCKB0Y is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 05:37 PM   #7
jmmo20
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlCKB0Y View Post
Apple require you to have Server installed on the target machine.

Nope, it doesn't. I don't have any server SO and can use a remote share as a TM destination.
jmmo20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 09:14 PM   #8
SlCKB0Y
macrumors 68020
 
SlCKB0Y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmo20 View Post
Nope, it doesn't. I don't have any server SO and can use a remote share as a TM destination.
Sorry about that..my mistake.
SlCKB0Y is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2012, 01:14 AM   #9
Namtaro
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Hello, the networked computer is running Windows XP.

If I mount a harddrive the harddrive doesn't show on the time machine options.

I've tried the sparsebundle image thing, but the guide was for snow leopard. Anyone have a link for mountain lion?
Namtaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2012, 03:04 PM   #10
tgreena
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namtaro View Post
Hello, the networked computer is running Windows XP.
If I mount a harddrive the harddrive doesn't show on the time machine options.
I am having the same issues, hopefully someone can come up with a fix soon. I am trying to back up my 10.8 MBP to a drive on my Windows 7 desktop that is on the same network. I had it working great and backing up over the network while my laptop was running 10.7 (Lion) but ever since I upgraded to 10.8 (Mountain Lion) Time Machine won't show the unsupported network drives.

WHY NOT!? Can anyone answer this question?

Every guide I find or search I make gives me back results for Lion or under. I know how to make it work with lion, I need Mountain Lion help!

Last edited by tgreena; Aug 24, 2012 at 03:25 PM.
tgreena is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2012, 03:11 PM   #11
Mikey7c8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
CIFS sucks ?

Shouty capitals will get you nowhere.

Running mine on a NAS, which is fine but I suspect it serves over AFP.
Mikey7c8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2012, 03:21 PM   #12
tgreena
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey7c8 View Post
Shouty capitals will get you nowhere.
...
tgreena is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2012, 05:09 PM   #13
Namtaro
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I tried what they said here :
http://basilsalad.com/how-to/create-...rk-drive-lion/

But when I go into terminal and use 'sudo tmutil setdestination'

It goes me this :

Usage: tmutil setdestination [-a] mount_point
tmutil setdestination [-ap] afp://user[ass]@host/share


Any ideas?
Namtaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2012, 01:35 AM   #14
kyle2194
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namtaro View Post
I tried what they said here :
http://basilsalad.com/how-to/create-...rk-drive-lion/

But when I go into terminal and use 'sudo tmutil setdestination'

It goes me this :

Usage: tmutil setdestination [-a] mount_point
tmutil setdestination [-ap] afp://user[ass]@host/share


Any ideas?
Hey thanks for posting this link, I tried quite a few guides but this is the first to work for me. You need to first make a disk image, then copy the image to your network share. After this, mount the image. It should then be addressable via /Volumes/imagename and that is the mount point you want to use.
kyle2194 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2012, 04:07 PM   #15
moogs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I've got the sparse bundle created on my windows pc and I can see and mount the drive on my mac but I'm having trouble seeing the drive in the Time Machine prefs. I've already run the terminal command to show unsupported drives but still nothing.
moogs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 12:16 AM   #16
tgreena
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by moogs View Post
I've got the sparse bundle created on my windows pc and I can see and mount the drive on my mac but I'm having trouble seeing the drive in the Time Machine prefs. I've already run the terminal command to show unsupported drives but still nothing.
Just confirming I am having the same issue and giving a bump in hopes of a fix. =/

I have the sparse bundle on the windows drive and it is visible in finder. I did the terminal command for time machine to be able to see unsupported networks and the drive still isn't showing up in time machine.
tgreena is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 02:40 AM   #17
WAYLIFE
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Question Anyone??

Hi all!

Definitely would like to know how to fix this. I have done everything from mounting the image successfully (seeing it in disk utility), to running all the scripts and commands mentioned in this thread.

Bumps for a great potential solution!!

WAYLIFE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 12:22 PM   #18
ResRules
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Did anyone ever get this working?

I just get this with Mountain Lion

sudo tmutil setdestination -a /volumes/OSX/
/volumes/OSX: Incompatible file system type: smbfs (error 45)
The backup destination could not be added.

Ive enabled unsupported drives
ResRules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:45 AM   #19
jonnycombs
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Got it working!

The step I missed was opening up the share in finder, and double clicking the parse bundle so that it would mount the parsebundle as a device. Once I did that I was able to run sudo tmutil setdestination /Volumes/Time Machine Backup (note: this is not the name of the share on my Windows 7 machine, it is the name of the device that was attached after opening the parse bundle in the shared folder). Hope this helps.
jonnycombs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 09:35 AM   #20
deeve
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namtaro View Post
I tried what they said here :
http://basilsalad.com/how-to/create-...rk-drive-lion/

But when I go into terminal and use 'sudo tmutil setdestination'

It goes me this :

Usage: tmutil setdestination [-a] mount_point
tmutil setdestination [-ap] afp://user[ass]@host/share


Any ideas?
Hello, I have been reading through this thread and get the same message as above after I use the tmutil command. I am using OS 10.8.2 and trying to access a HDD connected to a Win XP machine. The drive image can mount ok and I can see it from my Mid 2009 MCP, but it doesn't come up on Time Machine. Any ideas?
deeve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 03:15 PM   #21
Namtaro
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeve View Post
Hello, I have been reading through this thread and get the same message as above after I use the tmutil command. I am using OS 10.8.2 and trying to access a HDD connected to a Win XP machine. The drive image can mount ok and I can see it from my Mid 2009 MCP, but it doesn't come up on Time Machine. Any ideas?
Yeah, I got it working a month ago, but totally forgot about this thread... I just made a thread on how I got it working. Hopefully it'll help you!
Feel free to ask questions on that thread.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...5#post16530075
__________________
Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro - 2.4GHz i7 | 256GB Samsung 8 SSD | 16GB Memory | AMD Radeon HD 6770M
iPad Mini - Wifi 32GB iPhone 4 - 16GB
Time Machine on Networked Drive Guide
Namtaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 10:54 AM   #22
switon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
RE: using Kerberos for authentication for tmutil?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Namtaro View Post
Usage: tmutil setdestination [-a] mount_point
tmutil setdestination [-ap] afp://user[ass]@host/share
Hi all,

I was just wondering if anyone has attempted to use Kerberos for authentication of the "tmutil setdestination..." command? This would automatically authenticate the mounting of the TM networked backup volume without the need for retyping your password. For example, if "tmutil" uses the same syntax as the "mount_afp", then the command would look like the following:

Code:
tmutil setdestination [-a] afp://;AUTH=switon%20Krb%20v2@host.machine/afp-share-volume
I use this syntax for authenticating the mounting of AFP shares via Kerberos thereby eliminating the need to either put the password in the clear text or having to retype the password interactively to mount the AFP share. I was wondering if anyone has tested this for the "tmutil setdestination" command? I have not done so. The documentation for tmutil does not say that this is possible, and the manpage only lists the "username[: password]", but because of the inadvisable security risk of the password in cleartext, I was wondering if anyone has tried the Kerberos way?

[There should not be a space between the : and password in the above, but when I put them together the colon is converted to an emoticon.]

Thanks,
Switon
switon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 03:00 PM   #23
mtbeck
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Invalide File System

I am having the same issue is DocsThaName. Here is the response:

/Volumes/TimeMachine: Incompatible file system type: smbfs (error 45)
The backup destination could not be set.

I am at a loss, so any help would be greatly appreciated.
mtbeck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 04:44 PM   #24
Alster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Entire Windows Time Machine Network Process

I went through a lot problems mentioned here but I figured it out after reading many posts and articles. Here is a basic breakdown.

1.Create a windows network share from a folder i.e. E:\TimeMachine
2.With Finder open using the CMD+K option enter the share path i.e. smb://machinenamehere/TimeMachine/
3. Open Terminal and run: defaults write com.apple.systempreferences TMShowUnsupportedNetworkVolumes 1 * This shows the unsupported network drives.
4. Download http://cache.gawker.com/assets/image...1/makeimage.sh Script
5. CD to downloads folder where makeimage.sh script is located.
Run script from terminal sh ./makeImage.sh 130 /Volumes/TimeMachine/ where 130 is the size you want, change if you like and TimeMachine is your mounted volume. Press tab twice at /Volumes to get a list of all usable volumes.
6. In finder locate the TimeMachine share and click on the Sparsebundle this will mount Time Machine Backups on your desktop and will make it show up in available volumes.
7. In Terminal run sudo tmutil setdestination "/Volumes/Time Machine Backups/" enter your password and don't forget the quotes.
8. The Back up option will now show when you click on Time Machine and you can select the drive and begin backups.

I hope this helps I spent many hours figuring this out my configuration is Windows 7 and MacBook Pro running OS X 10.8.3
Alster is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External drive Time Machine is constantly ejected when attempting to restore folder The3rdMan Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 May 28, 2014 06:39 PM
While restoring folder, Time Machine external drive constantly ejects The3rdMan Mac Basics and Help 0 May 28, 2014 05:37 PM
Does networked attached Time Machine still work in 10.9? scbond OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Jan 16, 2014 01:36 PM
[GUIDE] Time Machine and Networked Drive Namtaro OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 15 Oct 13, 2013 09:40 PM
Time Machine re-backups same files after moved to different folder on same drive! Mac Write OS X 5 Jan 24, 2013 04:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC