Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:56 PM   #1
spgiva
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY
Upgrading

So I am getting a brand new iMac tomorrow (upgrading from my late 2008 MacBook Pro, very excited!) Couple of questions on upgrading.

1) Time machine: I have a drive that I have been using as my time machine back up drive. I would like to keep using it for the back up drive for the new machine but I do not want to loose all the old back ups. Is that possible?

2) iTunes: How do I transfer my playlists (not just the music and video files but the actual playlists) to the new computer.

thanks all
-SPG
spgiva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:13 PM   #2
bobright
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by spgiva View Post
So I am getting a brand new iMac tomorrow (upgrading from my late 2008 MacBook Pro, very excited!) Couple of questions on upgrading.

1) Time machine: I have a drive that I have been using as my time machine back up drive. I would like to keep using it for the back up drive for the new machine but I do not want to loose all the old back ups. Is that possible?

2) iTunes: How do I transfer my playlists (not just the music and video files but the actual playlists) to the new computer.

thanks all
-SPG
I went from windows to mac and just simply drag and dropped my "iTunes" folder to the Mac and that was all. Everything was preserved including ratings/playlists/even last played and play count. I did have a bunch of exclamations but after locating a couple songs to my new directory iTunes automatically found them all.

I imagine it'd be the same on a Mac prob even easier.
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:56 PM   #3
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
okay...

Restore from Time Machine.

Then continue to use that drive as your backup.

I wiped and started over with my time machine drive, but there's no reason you have to do that, just be sure to restore from THAT drive.
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2013 13" rMBP i5, 2.4 c2d Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 06:17 AM   #4
spgiva
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdhurst View Post
Restore from Time Machine.

Then continue to use that drive as your backup.

I wiped and started over with my time machine drive, but there's no reason you have to do that, just be sure to restore from THAT drive.
The problem is I do not want to restore from the drive, the new computer is running a newer version of iOS, and some of the programs on the old MacBook Pro will not run on the new iMac. In general restoring new computers from older computers (different older models) does not usually go very well.

thks
spgiva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 08:44 AM   #5
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by spgiva View Post
... the new computer is running a newer version of iOS, ...
Macs do not run any version of iOS.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 11:00 AM   #6
spgiva
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterMe View Post
Macs do not run any version of iOS.
Miss-typed, a newer version of OSX, sorry.
spgiva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:02 PM   #7
colourfastt
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterMe View Post
Macs do not run any version of iOS.
I beg to differ; 10.8 is VERY iOS like.
__________________
Sexual intercourse is a poor substitute for masturbation. - Quentin Crisp
colourfastt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:05 PM   #8
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by spgiva View Post
The problem is I do not want to restore from the drive, the new computer is running a newer version of iOS, and some of the programs on the old MacBook Pro will not run on the new iMac. In general restoring new computers from older computers (different older models) does not usually go very well.

thks
After you start the new Mac and select language and Time Zone, just start Migration Assistant and point it to the Time Machine backup. That will keep the new iMac OS and import all your data and settings including music. It works quite well.
Weaselboy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 01:56 AM   #9
spgiva
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
After you start the new Mac and select language and Time Zone, just start Migration Assistant and point it to the Time Machine backup. That will keep the new iMac OS and import all your data and settings including music. It works quite well.
Thanks, this worked very well. In older iterations this did not work all that well when switching between different types of Mac and different OS versions. Glad the bugs are all worked out

Thanks to everyone for their advice
-spg
spgiva is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading in 2014? $50 BB Gift Card when Upgrading iamMacPerson iPhone 20 Feb 14, 2014 05:17 PM
Apps upgrading cost when upgrading laptop? unbelievable99 MacBook Pro 5 Dec 24, 2012 09:41 AM
Question about upgrading from iPhone 4 to iPhone 5. First time upgrading. BluePhoenixRa iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Sep 22, 2012 12:14 AM
Upgrading from 10.4 to 10.6 somesittingduck OS X 1 Jul 29, 2012 09:25 AM
After upgrading to Aperture 3.3, it asks for upgrading it in iPhoto Bengt77 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jun 21, 2012 04:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps