Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 20, 2012, 11:16 PM   #1
inscrewtable
macrumors 6502a
 
inscrewtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Safari used 100% CPU

I just noticed that when I zoom in or zoom out on a google map Activity Monitor indicates over 100% CPU usage for a considerable amount of time. Even zooming back to a previous level it still does this.

Puzzled I tried the same thing in Firefox which used about 20-30% CPU usage and did so for a considerably shorter period of time.

FF is quicker zooming too.

this is on a core i7 sandy bridge imac with 32GB ram. 10.8.2

What's up with this behaviour?
inscrewtable is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 11:19 PM   #2
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by inscrewtable View Post
I just noticed that when I zoom in or zoom out on a google map Activity Monitor indicates over 100% CPU usage for a considerable amount of time. Even zooming back to a previous level it still does this.

Puzzled I tried the same thing in Firefox which used about 20-30% CPU usage and did so for a considerably shorter period of time.

FF is quicker zooming too.

this is on a core i7 sandy bridge imac with 32GB ram. 10.8.2

What's up with this behaviour?
Try this:
Make a new User in User and groups, then login to the new account and see if it is the same there, if it's better there then you have issues with your normal User Account.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 04:39 AM   #3
inscrewtable
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
inscrewtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Ok that was a good idea. I already have a spare admin account that I use for testing as I keep my user account as non admin.

Seemed to be better in the other account. Went back to my current account and it still seemed a bit funky but not as bad. I turned off all the extensions and it was better, I turned them all back on and it stayed better. So that is a bit of a confusing result.

Right now it's about the same as FF, except Safari mainly shows the cpu usage in the safari web content rather than the app, as in FF.

So I'm not sure why turning the extensions off then on would make any difference.

What sort of things could cause this in a user account because there's been a bit of strange behaviou for example if I try to log into my bank account it just stays on the connecting page, meanwhile I can log in in FF. It has only just been doing this.
inscrewtable is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 04:54 AM   #4
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by inscrewtable View Post
Ok that was a good idea. I already have a spare admin account that I use for testing as I keep my user account as non admin.

Seemed to be better in the other account. Went back to my current account and it still seemed a bit funky but not as bad. I turned off all the extensions and it was better, I turned them all back on and it stayed better. So that is a bit of a confusing result.

Right now it's about the same as FF, except Safari mainly shows the cpu usage in the safari web content rather than the app, as in FF.

So I'm not sure why turning the extensions off then on would make any difference.

What sort of things could cause this in a user account because there's been a bit of strange behaviou for example if I try to log into my bank account it just stays on the connecting page, meanwhile I can log in in FF. It has only just been doing this.
Are all of your extensions up to date?

I am not a fan of extensions but I am on an old Powerbook, if I turn on Extensions Safari becomes sloooowwwww.

There are other things you can do although I don't think it will make a difference, like resetting Safari but then you can/will loose settings.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safari Networking 100% CPU Intelligent Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Apr 5, 2014 10:17 AM
Safari + Text Field = 100% CPU a1anm Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 20, 2013 04:08 AM
CPU process over 100% macmacr OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Sep 7, 2013 03:08 PM
CPU running at 100% macuser33 OS X 1 Jul 10, 2013 03:33 PM
new MM unresponsive at 100% CPU woodbine Mac mini 4 Dec 5, 2012 12:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC