Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:09 AM   #1
aoitsukinosuke
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Teamviewer asks for my admin password and remote login question

I'm new to Teamviewer.
It's installed on my Mini, with a permanent password, set to open at login.
When I restart my Mini, it starts as instructed.
However, when I quit manually and try to restart, it asks for my admin password.
Is this normal or should I be wary of something?

Also, there are some peculiarities that started ever since I set my permanent password.
1) My HP printer is making those preparatory noises like when you try to print something. This happens about twice a day when the Mini is idle.

2) Today I noticed that my desktop background was blank, which is usually the case when I remotely control my Mini.

I immediately checked TVW, no connections. Then, I quit TVW and it was back to normal.

Does this mean someone was remotely connected?

Can someone give me a hand?
PS= My session pass is set at "Very secure 10 characters" and I never shared my permanent pass with anybody.

Last edited by aoitsukinosuke; Oct 24, 2012 at 03:36 AM.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 10:10 AM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
How exactly did you install TeamViewer? Are you launching it from your /Applications folder or from the .dmg you downloaded?

Are you sure it's asking for your Mac's admin password, or another password you set in TeamViewer?

You should re-check all your TeamViewer preferences. If that doesn't help, try uninstalling/reinstalling TeamViewer.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 10:51 AM   #3
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I downloaded it from their website though when I clicked download, it took me to Cnet.com and installed.
The app is in a folder named "Teamviewer 7" in my Applications folder.

It's definitely asking for the admin password.

Last edited by aoitsukinosuke; Oct 24, 2012 at 11:08 AM.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 11:57 AM   #4
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
GGJstudios,

I followed your advice and did an uninstall. Then went to their website which took me to cnet.com for download.
I redownloaded and when I tried to install, my OS asked for my admin pass, which is normal, but after that TVW asked for my admin pass again.
I cancelled install, called TVW hotline and they asked me to send my logfiles, but I don't have any since I uninstalled previously.

Then, I tried reinstall again, this time TVW didn't ask for the admin pass and worked like a charm.

Now, when I go to preferences and check the "Start with system" box, it asks for my admin pass once more.

What could the reason be for this?
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 12:00 PM   #5
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by aoitsukinosuke View Post
Now, when I go to preferences and check the "Start with system" box, it asks for my admin pass once more.

What could the reason be for this?
What version of Mac OS X are you running?
Are you logged in as an admin user?
In TeamViewer > Preferences > Advanced > TeamViewer Settings (near the bottom) > Protect preferences with password (do you have a password set? Do you have "Changes require administrative privileges on this computer" checked?
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:06 PM   #6
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
What version of Mac OS X are you running?
Are you logged in as an admin user?
In TeamViewer > Preferences > Advanced > TeamViewer Settings (near the bottom) > Protect preferences with password (do you have a password set? Do you have "Changes require administrative privileges on this computer" checked?
Leopard 10.5.8
Logged in as admin user
No password set
Box is not checked.

(I'm 100% positive about the admin pass, because the UI states my Mac OS user name, not the TVW one)

BTW; While Teamviewer > Preferences > Start TVW with System option at TVW preferences requires the admin pass, "Open at login" at the app shortcut on the dock doesn't.

Another thing is, this may sound funny, as long as TVW is on, the printer turns itself on even though I shut it down manually.

I'm trying to give my observations to narrow down the field. Hope I'm not making it more complicated for you.

Thank you for your time & concern.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 06:08 AM   #7
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
A reinstall solved the printer problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aoitsukinosuke View Post
Teamviewer > Preferences > Start TVW with System option at TVW preferences requires the admin pass, "Open at login" at the app shortcut on the dock doesn't.
That is also confirmed. IMHO; this is something Teamviewer needs to correct. Until then I'll stick to "Open at login"
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:43 AM   #8
cmdawson
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Any update? having same issue here

I'm also having this issue and have tried all the above steps to resolve with no luck. (Even repairing permissions has not helped...)
cmdawson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 04:44 PM   #9
JoelBC
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I have the same experience...every time I start it up it asks for my admin password no matter what I do...
JoelBC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 08:52 AM   #10
cmdawson
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Same here

Any updates from anyone on this? I have been annoyed by this for a while now too...

FYI - I did do a "Repair permissions" on my disk but this did not help, so still looking like an issue for them to correct.
cmdawson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 09:37 PM   #11
grafkaal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Still no change!

TV starts with no "enter password" prompt when I start up my Mac (Start TeamViewer with system - checked) but as soon as I try and start it when the machine is on up pops the "Type your password to allow TeamViewer to make changes." box again! I have tried everything I can think of but nothing seem to work.
My major problem with it is - if I forgot to start TV before I go to work I have no way of tuning it on remotely because of the "enter password" box!
I can use ssh and run the terminal command "open -a teamviewer" but then cannot enter password to complete the process (unless someone out knows how I can), I even tried to make an Automation app that entered the password and clicked OK, but no, Automation would not enter the password! I can use the ssh terminal command "sudo reboot" but that is such a pain!
Any help would be very much appreciated! Applescript to fill the securityAgent fields perhaps?
grafkaal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2013, 12:20 PM   #12
zzz99
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
I have resolved this problem by installing the Teamviewer 6 full version on the MBA 2013.
zzz99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Teamviewer] mouse pointer disappeared in remote desktop lamlamlam Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Mar 25, 2014 10:59 AM
Teamviewer and remote control DJTaurus OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Nov 15, 2013 07:17 AM
Remote login Question umrpatti Mac Basics and Help 1 Oct 26, 2012 03:00 PM
"Recovery HD" folder appears on desktop, dialog asks for admin password jennyp OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Aug 26, 2012 04:36 PM
Gmail asks every time for login Dr. Beast iPhone and iPod touch Apps 7 Jun 18, 2012 02:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC