Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 22, 2011, 11:58 AM   #1
djsound
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
1Password auto login?

So I use 1Password. Everytime I get to a site I have to click the 1Password login and click "login with whatever site I am at". Cant 1Password just know when you get to that site and log you in automatically? I thought it was possible but cant figure i out..
djsound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 04:20 PM   #2
Medravi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
just login to the 1password program and drag the appropriate websites from the program into your safari bookmarks bar; that'll set up autologin. alternately, click the 1P button at the top of safari to the left of address bar and select "go and fill login" and the appropriate website
Medravi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 04:43 PM   #3
djsound
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Thanks but that is not exactly what I meant. I mean after I set up the password....For example, when I go to macrumors.com 1password associates that page with the password. It should be able to just log me in but instead I still need to click the 1P logo and click "login with macrumors"...id like it to be automatic since it associates the page...its hard to explain on here, but by navigating to the associated page it should just login without me doing anything else......its not a big deal though =)
djsound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 04:49 PM   #4
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
If you want 1Password to autofill a login form, what's the point of having 1Password?
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 04:55 PM   #5
djsound
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
ummmmmm. it still would keep track of your passwords and what urls they are associated with. When you land on that url it just submits the password for you. simple...same thing you are doing without the click
djsound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 04:56 PM   #6
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsound View Post
ummmmmm. it still would keep track of your passwords and what urls they are associated with. When you land on that url it just submits the password for you. simple...same thing you are doing without the click
Every modern browser has this capability. Even IE6 will autofill forms for you. If all you want to do is have a website save your login information, turn cookies on.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 05:09 PM   #7
djsound
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Cookies are on. When I got to macrumors.com I click the 1P and click "login with whatevername"......what it does is fills the username and password AND submits it so I then am taken to the next page ....logged in. Autofilling forms doesnt also submit them....What I am talking abut is more the association of the username and password to the URL. Look in 1password.app you'll see each login has a url. That login wont just work on ANY page......anyways, !password could easily be designed so that when you go to THAT URL the username and password are filled AND submitted....and you are logged in without clicking anything ...since you set up that username and password on THAT url....
djsound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 05:24 PM   #8
Medravi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
don't you click a bookmark when you go to say macrumors anyway? or do you type www.macrumors.com manually? if the former, why not just create the new bookmark that logs in for you?
Medravi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 05:35 PM   #9
djsound
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Yes I click on a bookmark that takes me to the same URL as my 1Password login is associated with. How would I create a bookmark to log me in?
djsound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 07:06 PM   #10
Medravi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
login to the 1password program like i said, and drag the icon from the 1password program into your bookmarks bar in safari and it'll add a bookmark that will auto log you in
Medravi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 07:12 PM   #11
djsound
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
AH Medravi!! Good catch!..your totally right. Thats what I was looking for...!! unfortunately it doesn't work like that in Firefox hehe
djsound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2011, 12:28 AM   #12
svkrzn
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Or use roboform for mac. It autofills.
svkrzn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 10:48 PM   #13
swamyg1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsound View Post
AH Medravi!! Good catch!..your totally right. Thats what I was looking for...!! unfortunately it doesn't work like that in Firefox hehe
After driving myself nuts trying to find a way to accomplish this with Firefox, it turns out there is a way!

http://help.agilebits.com/1Password3...bookmarks.html

Hope this helps somebody like it helped me, big time!
swamyg1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:01 PM   #14
samssf
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by svkrzn View Post
Or use roboform for mac. It autofills.
Automatically filling in a form (autofill) is not the same thing as automatically filling in AND automatically submitting the form (auto login). Hence the thread's topic.
samssf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:20 PM   #15
scarred
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by samssf View Post
Automatically filling in a form (autofill) is not the same thing as automatically filling in AND automatically submitting the form (auto login). Hence the thread's topic.
You know this thread is almost two years old, right?

For anyone reading, with 1Password cmd+\ auto fills.
scarred is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto Login to Cisco VPN in Leopard; kicker.bundle DaedalusBTJ OS X 1 Aug 31, 2012 06:56 PM
World of Warcraft Auto Login Script! Keytachi Mac and PC Games 12 Mar 7, 2008 02:44 PM
Can't Deactivate Auto Login Ike OS X 3 Jul 6, 2007 02:32 AM
Nike+ auto login? Mitthrawnuruodo iPod 0 Jan 28, 2007 09:38 AM
StarCraft Auto Login Applescript?? O)Matt-Burch Mac Programming 3 Sep 14, 2006 12:52 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC