Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 11, 2012, 04:28 PM   #1
tbluhp
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
att gophone prepaid

is the gophone prepaid network 3g or 4g network if using on iphone5 how about verzon prepaid?
tbluhp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2012, 04:44 PM   #2
Spectrum Abuser
macrumors 65816
 
Spectrum Abuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
The GoPhone network is HSPA+ compatible. Seeing as there isn't any LTE equipped GoPhones, though, I doubt you'll receive an LTE signal.
__________________
iPad Mini Retina 16GB WiFi - iPhone 4 16GB (AT&T) - 21.5" iMac 2.5Ghz i5 (2011)
Spectrum Abuser is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2012, 04:55 PM   #3
tbluhp
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
what about for verizon prepaid
tbluhp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 04:57 PM   #4
araje
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I had the same question. I have an apple unlocked iphone5 which is the same one that apple sells for contract phones.
I have read off and on that this phone if on Gophone network will not use LTE even though it is capable.
Is that true?
araje is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:23 PM   #5
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
I have a ATT PayGo SIM on my 4s and currently can only do voice calls (no data) as I have not sign up with a data plan, but the 4G icon lights up. I imagine this is solely whether the service is available at your towers and not limited on what kind of data plan you got. The carrier shouldn't care, they charge you by data volume not necessarily how fast can you get at the data.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:35 PM   #6
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbobb View Post
I have a ATT PayGo SIM on my 4s and currently can only do voice calls (no data) as I have not sign up with a data plan, but the 4G icon lights up. I imagine this is solely whether the service is available at your towers and not limited on what kind of data plan you got. The carrier shouldn't care, they charge you by data volume not necessarily how fast can you get at the data.
The 4G logo that you see is what AT&T calls their hspa+
It's not LTE 4G.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:44 PM   #7
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
The 4G logo that you see is what AT&T calls their hspa+
It's not LTE 4G.

Indeed...

That would be a big teaser.

In a few days I will sign up with a pre-paid data plan and shall see.
Mrbobb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 08:06 PM   #8
iphone46
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by londonthames View Post
what about for verizon prepaid
You can't activate an iPhone on VZ Prepaid or PagePlus.
iphone46 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help number port- Iphone 5 att prepaid to att postpaid family plan donkeycrushr iPhone 8 Apr 1, 2014 01:39 AM
Carrier: GoPhone Prepaid Brand to Gain iPhone Benkovitch iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Aug 23, 2013 04:30 AM
Prepaid GoPhone from AT&T on Iphone? Possible? hgrimberg iPhone 11 Jun 28, 2013 05:27 PM
iPhone: Prepaid GoPhone from AT&T on Iphone? hgrimberg Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Jun 5, 2013 06:14 AM
Iphoone 5 On Gophone or Prepaid Network? Will i have data? hoboeperson iPhone 0 Sep 19, 2012 03:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC