[OS X] Blizzard FPS issues - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 21, 2012, 09:01 AM   #1
bitethis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Blizzard FPS issues

I have been playing WoW for a long time. I have seen many mac issues get pushed aside but this is unacceptable.

Since the release of MoP I have not been able to play because my FPS flucuate and drop even on the lowest setting.

I tried getting help in the blizzard forum. Only to be told it was my hardware and to contact apple. This was suggested after the various fixes they threw at me did not work.

I do not believe this to be a problem with hardware but something seriously wrong with the game and it is not being addressed.

My posts have since been removed from the blizzard forums and there is nothing more I can say there.

I know to some it might seem silly but I left behind a lot of people. I was an officer, I had many duties, spent many hours leveling and gearing many toons, helping others out and this is how blizzard treats me.

At this point I dont know what else to do. I am just trying to get the word out that there that something is wrong. I have even contacted wow.joystiq.com but have not heard back.

Any input, knowledge, who to contact regarding this would be greatly appreciated.
bitethis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 09:20 AM   #2
syrinxx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Forget Blizz

same here - wrote a lot - nothing happened!

here is my story in short form:

had an imac with core 2 duo and a ati radeon x1600 with 256 mb memory
played the SC2 beta not full but in a native resolution with med low details!

2010 i bought a mid 2010 imac with 2,93 ghz ati 5740 1Gb 27" 16 GB Ram.
when i first played SC2 when it came out it ran maxed out in native resolution. after the 10.6 open GL patch from apple it ran even better.

wow in there days ran maxed out with about 40-60fps without any troubles.

after a few moths sc2 was patched. it never ever ran as smooth as it was before.

april 2012 a bought a mid 2011 27" imac maxed out 2b Ati 6970m and so on.
Wow with Cata ran maxed out with about 60-80fps in SW and a little slow down in raids ...
SC2 ran even worst.
i bought Diablo 3 ... what shall i say ... from the beta on this game never ever ran on a mac under OSX

today: D3 stutters like hell
SC2 stutters like hell
wow i unplayable with the settings from cata

conclusio: every of theses games look worst than they did when they ran. now Sc2 looks like on my old 2006 Core 2 Duo, wow looks like BC times on a G4 mini and Diablo ist just a cheap joke!!!

i will never ever buy oder play any blizz game - never EVER !!!!

ps. forget their tech forum - even a monkey is able to repeat SMC RESET - PRAM RESET and WTF Folder delete ...
syrinxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 09:22 AM   #3
Dweez
macrumors 65816
 
Dweez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Down by the river
Interesting - it runs fine on my late 2011 MBP.
__________________
sudo make me a sandwich
Dweez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 09:28 AM   #4
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Might help if the OP added details about his Mac setup.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 09:49 AM   #5
Nightarchaon
macrumors 65816
 
Nightarchaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
the issue is not a hardware or a software issue

The issue is your still playing WoW,

Its LONG past its best before date, has been since the expansions started ruining the main game by making it possible to get from level 1 to max in a day of grinding..

Death to XP curve changes, dungeon, raid and battlefield teleporting queues...

bring back the days when you had to get a group for scarlett monastery and ride forth , none of this pokemon crap.



on a more serious note, i have a friend whos better half is still addicted to WoW and she complains all the time about the performance, turns out its the 97.3 billion addons shes running.. try disabling all the addons and see what happens.
__________________
iWatch in action http://media.joe.ie/wp-content/uploa...ael-Knight.jpg
MacBook Pro/iPad Mini/TV1/iMac/iPhone5
Nightarchaon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 11:30 AM   #6
syrinxx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
tried everything ... clean install and so on ... to the mbp ... do you play it in native resoltion of the 27" inch iMac? if you have retina try it an tell me that theses games run smooth...

the problem is these games except D3 ran awesome under osx. the look the same but the fps is much less of what it was...

that is the shame. if you play all these games in win 7 they run (except D3) with good FPS...

open GL of 10.8 is worst than 10.7 is worst than 10.6 ...

is just my opinion ...
syrinxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 06:29 PM   #7
SingularityG
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I hear graphic card drivers that came with Mountain Lion made many games unplayable to some extent. Developers have a hard time figuring out a workaround to make these games running well again and simply blame for this, hence their "Call-APPLE" response.

Since is pushing sales of the top of the line models, it's possible that releasing new graphic card drivers for any Mac older than 2012 is pretty down on their list.

Anyway, I own the 17" 2010 Macbook Pro and must say that all Blizzard games run really well.

WoW runs a bit worse in some MoP areas, but the performance there can be improved by some minor tweaking.

I can get a decent framerate in both D3 and SC2, running with almost everything on high.
__________________
sINGULARITY uNIVERSE

Last edited by SingularityG; Jan 19, 2013 at 12:53 PM.
SingularityG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 09:19 PM   #8
bitethis
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Im not sure it has anything to do with pushing mac sales because there are plenty of people with newer models that are experiencing the same thing.

to be honest I am not sure what the problem really is but from what I have dealt with in the blizzard forums I just feel like it could have been handled better.

I followed all of their possible fixes. some even multiple times and it made no change in the issue.

I was averaging around 90fps just regular dungeons and around 60-70 in 25man but something happened and it wasnt just on the release of MoP.

I played MoP for 2 days without any issues but by the 3rd night I logged in and thats when the FPS issue started.

Anyway I do appreciate the comments and I am happy for those of you that are able to play.

who knows
bitethis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 10:00 PM   #9
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
I'm sorry, but thit is a bad example of a thread asking for help. It contains absolutely no information for people to work with. No tech specs, no details on when, where and under what conditions do fps drop, no listing of what fixes did you try, etc, etc. Its all just bashing Blizz.
__________________
My WoW videos
13" Retina MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz | 8 GB | 256 GB | Intel Iris
eXan is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 10:09 PM   #10
bitethis
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
eXan, this is far from bashing blizzard but youve already formed your opinion. anyway thanks for your comment and happy holidays.
bitethis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 05:13 AM   #11
SingularityG
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitethis View Post
Im not sure it has anything to do with pushing mac sales because there are plenty of people with newer models that are experiencing the same thing.
What I meant was that is yet to release drivers fixing these issues, but who knows what graphic cards they keep supported.

Anyway, if the performance drop occurred just like that from one day to the next and there was no MoP update at the time, then it really might not be anything wrong with the game itself.

If other similarly demanding games run fine, it's probably not the hardware, but it could be Apps in the background, Energy Saver, something with the WoW's cache or plug-ins, new OS X update and basically anything else that was changed during that time (which is not helping, at all).

Also note that only the new MoP areas are more demanding on the hardware. When you go to older areas, the performance is the same as before.

Have you tried bootcamping WoW?
__________________
sINGULARITY uNIVERSE
SingularityG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 06:32 AM   #12
rudmaz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Had the same problem

Hello,

I had the same problem a litle while ago. It started after the first patch of pandaria (can't remember the one). I tried everything from reinstalling the game to reinstalling the os.

Eventually i found two ways to make it work:

1 Adding more ram to the system. I upgraded to 10GB of ram which seemed to fix the problem. (I play on a 2007 mac pro)

2 bootcamp with windows.

My computer is a 2007 mac pro with 10GB of ram and a ATI Radeon hd5770. Playing under OSX gave me 50-60 fps on "good" while playing under windows i can set everything to ultra and get the same FPS.
rudmaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 08:56 AM   #13
syrinxx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
i also see bootcamp as the best way to get good fps.

to the former poster about bashing.
there is a difference between bashing and criticising. blizz should tell customers if they want to play their games on mac the will have to face fps problems.

in my case i had to buy win7 to play sc2 and D3 as i would expect from may 2500€ imac mid 2011.

it seems apple doesn´t care much of optimizing theis drivers or what ever.

yet there is a gap! Arkham city oder Arkham asylum run like buttercream maxed out .Dirt 2 the same ... Sc2 did

so i would see a duality between blizz making a worse job and apple not caring.

i bought a mac not to use win anymore. so i like to play a few games ... have to use win again.

i wouldn´t care if the games under osx lose a few fps compared to win but playing some games make you think of a broken GPU or missing ram ...
using win shows the real game power of your machine.

apple should work on this! anyone in the 10.8.3 beta? any differences?

if you look at D3 oder SC2 it is a shame what they did to mac users ... is i said ... mid 2010 imac maxed out native res the game ran perfect even in 4v4 epic battles ... now it stutters in a lower res with low/med settings ...

gave apple my mac to check the hardware ... nothing found everything ok...

this all happens under clean install with just the games installed - after ram changes ... pram resets - chache folder deletes and so on ...

its just bad software ...
syrinxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 09:56 PM   #14
bakeumsj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Well I was getting really tired of restarting to my Bootcamp vista 64 partition to play WoW so I currently just wiped my hard drive clean of windows. I did this for several reasons including mediocre fps performance compared to my native windows laptop. I cant say the FPS was horrible but on 'high' settings it was choppy and frequently below 40fps. I read a lot of posts about the difference between Bootcamp and mac OSX performance being close so I decided to gut the hard drive and give it a go.

I am currently running Snow Leopard 10.6.8 which I read on many forums is better for gaming drivers than Lion so we shall see. I am currently downloading WoW so i'll give you my impressions soon as I can play [with full system specs]... wish me luck

PS ---> one thing I do know is that mouse cursor sucks in OSX, which i'm going to have to find a workaround for, but hoping for decent framerates!

Also as far as blizzard is concerned they have been making mac games since I have owned my first computer when Warcraft 1 was available and have always had great support for OSX. I believe the OP should include more system specs and specific FPS rates/problems.
bakeumsj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 12:41 AM   #15
jomiv
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: El Paso TX
I'm not here to bash or anything.. I just need some help.

I have a uRMBP (2.7,16RAM,768) and I'm being forced to play this at a.. Well lower than what I expected resolution.

I have.. No idea how to fix this besides just putting everything on fair and lowering the resolution to something similar to 1920x1080.. It used to run perfectly fine.. But 10 addons later.. It kinda just.. Bleh.

Anyone got any ideas what I'm doing wrong?.. I'm a WoW newb.. also a Guild Wars 2 newb..
__________________
iPhone 3Gs 32 Gb,iPhone 4S 64gbMacBook Pro 15' mid2010, and future rMBP 16/768/2.7
jomiv is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 03:45 AM   #16
bakeumsj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Just came back to report my fps in Mac OSX 10.6.8

Currently running a Radeon HD 6870 in a 2.8Ghz Octo Mac Pro 3.1, 4gb Ram (Don't Buy IRam, i've had multiple sticks fail and they are ignoring my warranty request) . I am running the game High-Ultra (2x Multisampling, 8x Anti-Alias) with Shadows on Low, Water on Fair, and SSAO disabled. I am averaging anywhere from 46-90 FPS in most areas. I have yet to do a 25 man raid but I will definitely let you know how that goes.

I can definitely say in Graphic Intense areas such as Vale of Eternal blossoms that my graphics are running smoother than in bootcamp Vista. I would frequently chop down to 35 fps in this area on High Setting on (1x Multisampling with Low Shadow, Low Water, & SSA disabled). My fps in this area does go lower but its a much smoother transition and hovers around 46-50 fps.

Surprisingly my Mouse is working fine and not nearly as choppy as last time I played Starcraft.

All these FPS are with the game around 81% downloaded...

Overall I am quite pleased with the OSX performance, while high burst fps is lower, the average rate is more consistent and less choppy and the anti-aliasing makes my performance suffer less in OSX than vista as well as multi-sampling. I swear the Graphics on same settings look better in OSX as well, just in Vale I was doing dailies and the smoke environment effects where actually visible and smooth. No more rebooting to Bootcamp.

Edited---> Forgot to mention 1920x1200 Resolution for all this info...

Last edited by bakeumsj; Jan 4, 2013 at 03:52 AM. Reason: Forgot Resolution
bakeumsj is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 04:09 AM   #17
VoR
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
I think Win7 probably would have been a better bet than Vista

Regarding the mouse cursor - A friend of mine played WoW a fair while ago but couldn't use OSX because of the mouse acceleration. Have they changed this (or allowed it to be disabled) over the last couple of years?

A long time ago I used to love playing FPS games, but irrelevant of framerate etc, the mouse cursor in OSX really made it unplayable. The craziest thing to me was how oblivious to this most people were!

edit : I haven't used OSX since about 10.6, none of the 3rd party apps and osx tweaks worked 100% at disabling acceleration - Has this changed?

Last edited by VoR; Jan 4, 2013 at 04:18 AM.
VoR is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 07:49 AM   #18
chrono1081
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Blizzard has horrible support. Its amazing how bad it is. Sorry to hear that OP but by the sounds of it it is definitely not a hardware issue.

I myself have been locked out of Diablo 3, a game I paid $60 for for months and Blizzard doesn't even have a way to contact them by phone (its greyed out on their website!). Garbage company.
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 08:52 AM   #19
bitethis
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I have still had no luck getting WoW to run smoothly on either a 2009 27" iMac or 2010 24" iMac.

I just cant explain the huge difference between my fps. I once was averaging around between 60 and 90. rarely did it ever dip below 60.

even without a cap set on good settings I get 60 in storm wind but once I step out into elwynn forest it drops to 27 and lower and gets all choppy.


I appreciate all the information and comments. perhaps we will figure out what is going on.

thanks
bitethis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 09:16 AM   #20
labars
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoR View Post
I think Win7 probably would have been a better bet than Vista

Regarding the mouse cursor - A friend of mine played WoW a fair while ago but couldn't use OSX because of the mouse acceleration. Have they changed this (or allowed it to be disabled) over the last couple of years?

A long time ago I used to love playing FPS games, but irrelevant of framerate etc, the mouse cursor in OSX really made it unplayable. The craziest thing to me was how oblivious to this most people were!

edit : I haven't used OSX since about 10.6, none of the 3rd party apps and osx tweaks worked 100% at disabling acceleration - Has this changed?
You should definitely try SmoothMouse! It's still in beta, so it may be a bit buggy with some software, though I haven't experienced any problems myself.

This is the only way to get good mouse precision on OSX at the moment, and is one of the best things to have happened to OSX in many years if you ask me. Try it out!

link: http://smoothmouse.net/forum/topic/4...sion-download/
labars is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 12:27 PM   #21
lilface
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightarchaon View Post
bring back the days when you had to get a group for scarlett monastery and ride forth , none of this pokemon crap.
Hahahahahaha.. so true. /agree
__________________
iPhone 5 32GB | 27" iMac 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB FD, 680MX | iPad2 32GB | iPod Touch 2nd gen 32GB
lilface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 03:52 PM   #22
VoR
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by labars View Post
You should definitely try SmoothMouse! It's still in beta, so it may be a bit buggy with some software, though I haven't experienced any problems myself.

This is the only way to get good mouse precision on OSX at the moment, and is one of the best things to have happened to OSX in many years if you ask me. Try it out!

link: http://smoothmouse.net/forum/topic/4...sion-download/
Thanks - I'll give it a go when I get the chance, not running OSX much at the moment.
Although... I'm slightly worried by the "it may be a bit buggy with some software" comment! Are you talking about OS versions (that's fine) or actual applications (rings alarm bells)?

I've been waiting for a simple, system-wide switch for as long as I can remember (that actually works...). I don't really play any games any more, and have no idea how anyone can play anything 'seriously' on OSX because of this.
VoR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 05:30 PM   #23
syrinxx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
i doubt there will be a possibility to play blizz games in native rezz with maxed out candy on macs these days.

search battle net forums and you will see people talking about fps problems for years now.

osx and blizz games do not fit anymore.

as i said i own a nearly maxed out mid 2011 i7 iMac
3,4 ghz 12gb ram ati 6970m 2gb
d3 stutters
wow is not playable in raids in native res with maxed settings low and med are better
sc2 runs in low med ...

except d3 these games ran maxed out ... with ever osx update and blizz patch these games loose fps ...

a lot of users cant lie ...
syrinxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 08:28 AM   #24
bakeumsj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I'm not saying Mac will outperform windows on blizzard games but its not a whiteout either. I am running a 5 year old machine with Xeon processors not optimized for gaming and my ram is only 4 gigs and I'm on average getting 50 fps on high settings in WOW so clearly something is not going right. Have you tried smc fan control? Is your hard drive full? Are you expecting to run this game on ultra settings with shadows ssao and water effects on high at 2600x1600 resolution? Perhaps it really is something with Blizzard or the Osx video drivers but I suspect a lot of this is operator error...
bakeumsj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 06:27 PM   #25
syrinxx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
user error?
xeon machine - so Mac Pro? these macs used to have desktop gpus. friend of mine also 4 year old mp with ati 4870 i think. this card outperforms my ati 6970m with 4 times the ram of his card.

thats point one.

all the blizz games are native. if you compare them to their win versions u loose fps under osx. in some strange cases some people tell they win fps in osx. i doubt that.

as i said - sc2 ran perfect maxed out on my machine. the fps jump from 90 to 10 to 40 to 3 and so on. in d3 you loose 20-30 fps compared to win and geht rubber banding and stuttering also in lower resolutions under osx.

wow is a special case ... i will not comment that piece of sh**t.

blizz and apple give a **** on drivers ... the devs have to look on gpu drivers and speed in every second update. nothing happens.

to be honest ... i loose hope playing games on mac which look good an run smooth...

bootcamp sadly is the answer ...

user error? omg?
syrinxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mixing 24 fps clips with 25 fps 2ms Digital Video 1 Feb 6, 2014 09:26 AM
15" rMBP FPS Gaming Issues bniedzj MacBook Pro 12 Dec 30, 2013 02:57 PM
FPS/Lag issues with GTA IV PC Version john925 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Apr 4, 2013 10:13 PM
OS-neutral: "If Quake was done today" (modern FPS vs classic FPS) Idgit Mac and PC Games 32 Jan 12, 2013 09:23 PM
Suden game performance issues, Any game drops to low fps after 10-15min LaDirection Mac and PC Games 8 Oct 5, 2012 12:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC