Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

View Poll Results: Which OS are you running on your PowerPC Mac?
Classic 10 12.05%
Mac OSX 10.0-10.3 3 3.61%
Mac OSX 10.4 21 25.30%
Mac OSX 10.5 62 74.70%
Linux - Debian/Ubuntu Derivative 8 9.64%
Linux - Redhat Deriavative 2 2.41%
Linux - Other 1 1.20%
FreeBSD 3 3.61%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 83. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2012, 01:35 PM   #26
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Other than EBAY, and or second hand on-line dealers, NONE.. Microsoft does not sell it anymore...

Also, bear in mind that VPC 7.0 will run Windows slowly as the emulator has to translate Intel code into PowerPC code for it to run.. which is slow. I will say though on my G5 Quad, Windows XP runs quite nicely, not fast not too slow, but normal.. NOT like a native machine or Intel Mac, but not too bad.

My PowerBook G4 1.67 crawls with XP, but 2000 runs quite nicely, but its barely usable by today's standards.


Quote:
Originally Posted by RedCroissant View Post
Is there a place to get VPC for a reasonable price these days?
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 01:43 PM   #27
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedCroissant View Post
Is there a place to get VPC for a reasonable price these days?
See PowerPCMacMan's post.

There is a free emulator called Q. It does the same as VPC7 and it's PowerPC Mac. The only problem I've had with Q is that is doesn't ever seem to work for me. That may be because I'm asking way too much of it in what I want to do and what OS I want to run, but it seems to work well for a lot of other people.

If VPC7 has BIOS, then Q probably has it too. How to access that if Q does have it though, I have no idea.

You might look at Amazon. I won't post a link because the last time I did that the Mods came down on me like a ton of bricks, but it looks like Amazon has a few for sale. The particular one I saw was going for around $12.

If you do get VPC, make sure you update to the latest. I think that was 7.0.1. It should still be online I would think as a download from Microsoft. The update fixes a few bugs.
__________________
PMG4 QS - 1.6Ghz DP | Sprint iPhone 5 - 64GB Black/Slate, iOS 7.1.2 <== I HATE iOS7!!!
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!

Last edited by eyoungren; Dec 24, 2012 at 01:59 PM.
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 02:22 PM   #28
RedCroissant
macrumors 68000
 
RedCroissant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPCMacMan View Post
Other than EBAY, and or second hand on-line dealers, NONE.. Microsoft does not sell it anymore...

Also, bear in mind that VPC 7.0 will run Windows slowly as the emulator has to translate Intel code into PowerPC code for it to run.. which is slow. I will say though on my G5 Quad, Windows XP runs quite nicely, not fast not too slow, but normal.. NOT like a native machine or Intel Mac, but not too bad.

My PowerBook G4 1.67 crawls with XP, but 2000 runs quite nicely, but its barely usable by today's standards.
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyoungren View Post
See PowerPCMacMan's post.

There is a free emulator called Q. It does the same as VPC7 and it's PowerPC Mac. The only problem I've had with Q is that is doesn't ever seem to work for me. That may be because I'm asking way too much of it in what I want to do and what OS I want to run, but it seems to work well for a lot of other people.

If VPC7 has BIOS, then Q probably has it too. How to access that if Q does have it though, I have no idea.

You might look at Amazon. I won't post a link because the last time I did that the Mods came down on me like a ton of bricks, but it looks like Amazon has a few for sale. The particular one I saw was going for around $12.

If you do get VPC, make sure you update to the latest. I think that was 7.0.1. It should still be online I would think as a download from Microsoft. The update fixes a few bugs.
Well from what you both answered, it seems like it's not worth the hassle, especially since I have an iBook G4 that is only a single core as opposed to something that would comfortably and efficiently run Windows. I hate having to wait to get home to run IE for one of my classes and was hoping to be able to do it while at school. Maybe I should just consider upgrading my machine at some point. Thank you both for your responses!
__________________
Welcome to the Grid, Program.

27" iMac, 3.2GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 3TB HDD; 32GB iPad 1 WiFi+3G; 30GB iPod Video 5G
RedCroissant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 03:16 PM   #29
ihuman:D
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedCroissant View Post
Well from what you both answered, it seems like it's not worth the hassle, especially since I have an iBook G4 that is only a single core as opposed to something that would comfortably and efficiently run Windows. I hate having to wait to get home to run IE for one of my classes and was hoping to be able to do it while at school. Maybe I should just consider upgrading my machine at some point. Thank you both for your responses!
I don't think VPC7 utilizes multiple cores.
__________________
iMac G4 17'' 1.25GHz PowerBook G4 15'' Hi-Res 1.67GHz iMac 2012 21.5" 2.9GHz i5
It's spelled "Aluminium"
It's "Couldn't care less" not "Could care less"
ihuman:D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 03:19 PM   #30
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihuman:D View Post
I don't think VPC7 utilizes multiple cores.
That would stink. I have heard that Classic runs well on multi-core machines.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 03:43 PM   #31
ihuman:D
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
That would stink. I have heard that Classic runs well on multi-core machines.
Well, I'm not sure, it could but I don't think it does.
__________________
iMac G4 17'' 1.25GHz PowerBook G4 15'' Hi-Res 1.67GHz iMac 2012 21.5" 2.9GHz i5
It's spelled "Aluminium"
It's "Couldn't care less" not "Could care less"
ihuman:D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 04:25 PM   #32
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedCroissant View Post
Well from what you both answered, it seems like it's not worth the hassle, especially since I have an iBook G4 that is only a single core as opposed to something that would comfortably and efficiently run Windows. I hate having to wait to get home to run IE for one of my classes and was hoping to be able to do it while at school. Maybe I should just consider upgrading my machine at some point. Thank you both for your responses!
Depends. Even on my fastest Mac (1.67Ghz) I tend to close every open app just to run VPC. On the other hand with VPC (and Q) you can quit the program at any time. VPC will save the machine state. When you return it will restore right back where you left off.

So, you could boot Windows, open IE and open the site you need. When you're done, just quit VPC. When you return you will be in the same place. There's no need to boot/shutdown like you would a regular computer. And since the state is saved it's written to your hard drive. So, even if you shut off your Mac you can still return to the same state in VPC when you boot the Mac back up again.
__________________
PMG4 QS - 1.6Ghz DP | Sprint iPhone 5 - 64GB Black/Slate, iOS 7.1.2 <== I HATE iOS7!!!
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 05:15 PM   #33
seveej
macrumors 6502a
 
seveej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Chillbil View Post
Since I am no longer using my powerpc macs as my main machines I am currently running Amiga OS 4.1 on all my powerpc machines.
AFAIK, Mac PPC hardware is not officially on amigaOS's supported list.. Is there's howto for this somewhere (I have an iBook G3 lying around, which I could toy with.)

RGDS,
__________________
MP 3,1 'nuff RAM, 3 HDD's, 1 SSD, AMD 5770, 10.6
2009 Mini, as server
, and a lot of other gear.
seveej is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 07:04 PM   #34
rjcalifornia
macrumors 6502a
 
rjcalifornia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: El Salvador
Quote:
Originally Posted by yangchewren View Post
Ah, that's one vote for a redhat derivative!

How is YDL and which of your macs do you run it on?
I use it on my iMac G4. It feels natural, apps run fast and smooth. Very stable and you can use any Desktop Environment you want (Gnome, KDE, etc) it has a very strong support, and it has been optimized for PowerPCs (G4)
__________________
CEO, Lead Developer and Sales Manager of SW Social Web LLC PowerPC Blog iBook G4 1.2 Ghz 60 GB HDD, Black Macbook Core 2 Duo, Powerbook G4 & iMac G4 700 Mhz Owner.
rjcalifornia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 08:15 PM   #35
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by seveej View Post
AFAIK, Mac PPC hardware is not officially on amigaOS's supported list.. Is there's howto for this somewhere (I have an iBook G3 lying around, which I could toy with.)

RGDS,
its not on its official list but there is also nothing preventing it from running on a powerpc computer
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 05:45 AM   #36
yangchewren
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcalifornia View Post
I use it on my iMac G4. It feels natural, apps run fast and smooth. Very stable and you can use any Desktop Environment you want (Gnome, KDE, etc) it has a very strong support, and it has been optimized for PowerPCs (G4)
Hmm, is there any powerpc compatible youtube viewer?

The main thing keeping me on lubuntu is minitube
yangchewren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:48 AM   #37
SkyBell
macrumors 603
 
SkyBell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Texas, unfortunately.
EDIT: I really should read the whole thread before posting.
__________________
MR's PowerPC Fangirl
eMac 1.42 GHz G4 - 10.5.8
12" PowerBook G4 1.5 GHz - 10.4.11
Blueberry iBook G3, Apple IIc
SkyBell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 10:44 PM   #38
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
I am running leopard, yellow dog linux, and tiger.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 04:39 AM   #39
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
10.5 and 10.4, although I barelly use 10.5
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 05:13 AM   #40
76ShovelHead
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Connecticut
Quote:
Originally Posted by yangchewren View Post
Just curious to know the proportion of linux users we have here. I'm also interested if you dual boot or are dependent solely on a single OS for your computing needs.
Leopard runs on all my PowerPCs. I was thinking about Linux but too many have warned against it. I love Leopard anyways!
__________________
Haswell i5 3 GHz 8 GB Ram 128 GB SSD Mavericks
76ShovelHead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 06:28 AM   #41
kylera
macrumors 6502a
 
kylera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seoul
Leopard on my 12" G4, and 9.2.2 on my eMac.
__________________
Current Macs: 2012 13" MBA | 2011 27" iMac | PowerBook G4 12" | eMac 700Mhz
Current iOS: iPad 4 3G 64GB | iPhone 4S 16GB
kylera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 09:00 AM   #42
Starfighter
macrumors 6502a
 
Starfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sweden
Leopard because of reasons.
__________________
In arguments the losers are the winners - because they learn something.
Video Game Luddite
Starfighter is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 09:39 AM   #43
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starfighter View Post
Leopard because of reasons.
Yeah. I'd say about 50% of my decisions are based on those. The rest I just pull out of a hat.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 04:41 PM   #44
rjcalifornia
macrumors 6502a
 
rjcalifornia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: El Salvador
Quote:
Originally Posted by 76ShovelHead View Post
Leopard runs on all my PowerPCs. I was thinking about Linux but too many have warned against it. I love Leopard anyways!
haha yeah unless you really really want to try it, use Linux, otherwise, run far far away from it
__________________
CEO, Lead Developer and Sales Manager of SW Social Web LLC PowerPC Blog iBook G4 1.2 Ghz 60 GB HDD, Black Macbook Core 2 Duo, Powerbook G4 & iMac G4 700 Mhz Owner.
rjcalifornia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 04:48 PM   #45
ihuman:D
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcalifornia View Post
haha yeah unless you really really want to try it, use Linux, otherwise, run far far away from it
Linux isn't as unfriendly as you make it out to be. I bet you haven't tried Ubuntu since, like, 2005.
__________________
iMac G4 17'' 1.25GHz PowerBook G4 15'' Hi-Res 1.67GHz iMac 2012 21.5" 2.9GHz i5
It's spelled "Aluminium"
It's "Couldn't care less" not "Could care less"
ihuman:D is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 05:04 PM   #46
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihuman:D View Post
Linux isn't as unfriendly as you make it out to be. I bet you haven't tried Ubuntu since, like, 2005.
It's a bit buggy, but I agree.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 05:30 PM   #47
jbarley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver Island
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedCroissant View Post
Is there a place to get VPC for a reasonable price these days?
Amazon always comes through for me.
__________________
If a man speaks out while in the forest, and there is no woman there to hear him, is he still wrong?
jbarley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 05:42 PM   #48
ihuman:D
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
It's a bit buggy, but I agree.
I suppose in some cases it is and it also helps to know how to use the terminal(that helps in all oses actually, I suppose) but in general linux/Ubuntu has become a very friendly and usable os over the years.

Sent proudly from my Nokia Lumia 800 with WP 7.5! Made me realise how crappy and bloated iOS and Android are IMO.
ihuman:D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 05:45 PM   #49
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihuman:D View Post
I suppose in some cases it is and it also helps to know how to use the terminal(that helps in all oses actually, I suppose) but in general linux/Ubuntu has become a very friendly and usable os over the years.
I am 100% fine with using the terminal, and the support provided by the community is great, it's just that on older computers like PowerPCs, there just isn't all of the support needed for it to have polish. EG, the installer works fine, except the fans run at full speed throughout it, causing other residents of the household why I am running a blower fan.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 05:51 PM   #50
ihuman:D
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
I am 100% fine with using the terminal, and the support provided by the community is great, it's just that on older computers like PowerPCs, there just isn't all of the support needed for it to have polish. EG, the installer works fine, except the fans run at full speed throughout it, causing other residents of the household why I am running a blower fan.
Yeah lol . I understand where you're coming from but Linux isn't all bad. I still prefer Mac OS X though!

Discussions in the PowerPC sub-forum are very interesting and stimulating - Yeah, I'm a nerd and proud!
__________________
iMac G4 17'' 1.25GHz PowerBook G4 15'' Hi-Res 1.67GHz iMac 2012 21.5" 2.9GHz i5
It's spelled "Aluminium"
It's "Couldn't care less" not "Could care less"

Last edited by ihuman:D; Dec 27, 2012 at 06:00 PM.
ihuman:D is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why do people still use PowerPC Macs? Intelligent PowerPC Macs 100 Aug 23, 2014 12:31 PM
Speedtest for PowerPC Macs? RedCroissant PowerPC Macs 10 Dec 27, 2012 05:29 PM
Your top 5 PowerPC Macs Lil Chillbil PowerPC Macs 33 Jul 13, 2012 04:16 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC