Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2012, 04:28 PM   #1
Kaligor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Please help me (problems with iTerm)

I know it might sound stupid but 85% of the reason I spent my entire sallory on a mac was because of iTerm2!.
I simply loved this little application it was the best terminal i've ever seen.
I tried kitty,putty and several others for my win computers but none matched.

The only thing that might of been as good with background picture etc was A-term i installed cgywin but I gave on on trying to load Aterm I bought a mac instead.! So behold here it is on christmas. And everything is wonderful with it BUT with iTerm2 the application I loved so much I cannot use alt-arrow to switch windows.

I basically have to type /join #mac to swap to that window. This has made my christmas so disapointing. Please macfreaks and mac guros. Will you help me? . I am willing to paypal 50 bucks to whoever comes up with the soloution but I hope you will do it out of love .
It works fine on my dads iMac 2 meters from me. But not here! oh no.
More info? I have 10.6.8 So does he

Modellnamn: iMac
Modellidentifierare: iMac12,1
Processornamn: Intel Core i5
Processorhastighet: 2,5 GHz
Antal processorer: 1
Totalt antal kärnor: 4
L2-cache (per kärna): 256 K
L3-cache: 6 MB
Minne: 12 GB.

Can anyone please PLEASE help me .

Last edited by Kaligor; Dec 24, 2012 at 06:34 PM.
Kaligor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 06:59 AM   #2
Kaligor
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Further information is that NO terminal can cycle windows , tried Iterm,Iterm2,AquaTherm,X11,TotalTerm,Mac os own term
Kaligor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:09 AM   #3
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaligor View Post
Further information is that NO terminal can cycle windows , tried Iterm,Iterm2,AquaTherm,X11,TotalTerm,Mac os own term
Command- arrow left or Command- arrow right maybe?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:40 AM   #4
Kaligor
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Command- arrow left or Command- arrow right maybe?

No setting a key for instance command F. Does nothing , and since this is like a System problem and not a terminal problem, I was wondering does mac os have like a common pref for all terminals?. I have not used mac since mac os 9 SO i have no idea
Kaligor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 08:00 AM   #5
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaligor View Post
No setting a key for instance command F. Does nothing , and since this is like a System problem and not a terminal problem, I was wondering does mac os have like a common pref for all terminals?. I have not used mac since mac os 9 SO i have no idea
I had iTerm 0.1 but downloaded 2.0

You can cycle windows by their number with Command-Option-number key
Or you can work with tabs and then it's Command-number key or Command left or right key.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 08:27 AM   #6
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
And another one, easier.

Command -`
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:08 AM   #7
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaligor View Post
I cannot use alt-arrow to switch windows.
command ~

works fine for me with iTerm2 Build 1.0.0.20121224
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:17 AM   #8
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
command ~

works fine for me with iTerm2 Build 1.0.0.20121224
That's not ~ key as far as I know, it is a ` so Command - `

The lower one is normally used and with the Shift key the upper one is used.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Keyboard ~`.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	8.1 KB
ID:	386546  
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:31 AM   #9
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
That's not ~ key as far as I know, it is a ` so Command - `

The lower one is normally used and with the Shift key the upper one is used.
Sorry, I misread your post as command -

In any case, the user can cycle in two directions:

In the application's Window menu we see

Previous Terminal ⌘`
Next Terminal ⌘~
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:41 AM   #10
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
Sorry, I misread your post as command -

In any case, the user can cycle in two directions:

In the application's Window menu we see

Previous Terminal ⌘`
Next Terminal ⌘~

Not in my Menu, but I am on 10.5.8
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 6.png
Views:	4
Size:	76.4 KB
ID:	386547  
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:48 AM   #11
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Not in my Menu, but I am on 10.5.8
Sorry, I was referring to iTerm2, not Apple's Terminal.
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:54 AM   #12
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
Sorry, I was referring to iTerm2, not Apple's Terminal.
Yeah, my bad.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 7.png
Views:	3
Size:	84.1 KB
ID:	386549  
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 12:31 AM   #13
Kaligor
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
´must be .
Kaligor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 12:43 AM   #14
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaligor View Post
´must be .
So, it is solved?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quite the Problems KTue MacBook Pro 1 Apr 7, 2014 12:49 PM
iPad Mini: Wi-Fi Problems grizzlyedwin iPad 1 Jan 1, 2014 10:40 PM
RMBP 15" - Problems problems and more problems rmwebs MacBook Pro 14 Sep 30, 2013 04:22 AM
Anyone else having problems with 10.8.1? Benbikeman OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 12 Sep 1, 2012 11:04 AM
iTERM or any other rajanpandit Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jun 8, 2012 07:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC