Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 22, 2012, 08:52 PM   #1
Clint1583
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
How to activate on Christmas?

Bought my daughter an iphone5 for Christmas to replace her old Android phone but I'm not sure what the easiest way to activate it is on Christmas morning. Do I have to call Verizon on Christmas? Thanks
Clint1583 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 08:55 PM   #2
ConCat
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: In an ethereal plane of existence.
Assuming you told Apple which account you were putting the phone on, you turn it on, and follow the onscreen instructions. That's it.
ConCat is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 08:58 PM   #3
Coasterfanryan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pittsburgh Pa
Yeah, when she turns it on it will activate. When I got my iPhone last year It took a couple tries.

If for some reason that doesn't work, when the phone is set up:
- dial *228, option 1
- enter the SSN of the account holder
- then the number of the line you want to have the iPhone on.
__________________
13" early 2011 MacBook Pro; iPad 3rd. Gen 16GB Black; iPhone 4 8GB White, iPod touch 5th. Gen 32 GB Black
Coasterfanryan is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 09:43 PM   #4
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Now millions of Christians are going to want to activate/register thei Xmas present on the 25th. Expect delays and servers down.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 10:29 AM   #5
From A Buick 8
macrumors 68030
 
From A Buick 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ky Close to CinCinnati
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coasterfanryan View Post
Yeah, when she turns it on it will activate. When I got my iPhone last year It took a couple tries.

If for some reason that doesn't work, when the phone is set up:
- dial *228, option 1
- enter the SSN of the account holder
- then the number of the line you want to have the iPhone on.
Well mine did not activate out of the box and *228 did not work either. I ended up going to the Verizon website and made the switch there. After a few never racking minutes trying to get the Sim card to come out (really have to press hard). It does look like it worked.

It is weird it looks like some features get removed when you move to a LTE phone and my bill is a few cents cheaper. For all of the Verizon experts can you look at the screen shot and let me know if I in anyway screwed up my unlimited data plan (i do not think i did).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	iPhone 5 Setup.png
Views:	70
Size:	71.6 KB
ID:	385739  
__________________
Homemade Interocitor, iPhone 6 Plus 128gb Silver, iPad 4, Two Apple TV's, -- 21.5-inch: 3.2GHz Intel Core i3 iMac.
From A Buick 8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 10:31 AM   #6
Jtludwig
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coasterfanryan View Post
Yeah, when she turns it on it will activate. When I got my iPhone last year It took a couple tries.

If for some reason that doesn't work, when the phone is set up:
- dial *228, option 1
- enter the SSN of the account holder
- then the number of the line you want to have the iPhone on.
You don't dial *228 on an LTE phone!
Jtludwig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 10:33 AM   #7
Coasterfanryan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pittsburgh Pa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jtludwig View Post
You don't dial *228 on an LTE phone!
Really? :0
Sorry for my ignorance, I guess that's what I get for having a 3G phone. :P
__________________
13" early 2011 MacBook Pro; iPad 3rd. Gen 16GB Black; iPhone 4 8GB White, iPod touch 5th. Gen 32 GB Black
Coasterfanryan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 10:49 AM   #8
Jtludwig
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coasterfanryan View Post
Really? :0
Sorry for my ignorance, I guess that's what I get for having a 3G phone. :P
Sorry...didn't mean to sound obnoxious. But yeah on the new LTE phones with the SIM card, *228 no longer serves any purpose.
Jtludwig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 10:55 AM   #9
wymi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jtludwig View Post
You don't dial *228 on an LTE phone!
Is it possible to switch between an LTE phone and a 3G phone using OTA programing?
wymi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 01:27 PM   #10
vastoholic
macrumors 68000
 
vastoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tulsa, OK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbobb View Post
Now millions of Christians are going to want to activate/register thei Xmas present on the 25th. Expect delays and servers down.
It won't be that bad. This will be nothing compared to launch day activations.
__________________
View my flickr sets....if you want. They're not too exciting.
vastoholic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 01:31 PM   #11
labman
macrumors 604
 
labman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mich near Detroit
really don't see a problem on christmas day vs any new iphone release date plug it into itunes.
__________________
IP4+Hackintosh Pro Joining AT&T PM me get $25 Dev-Teams Blog My TwitterCan I JB/UL my device Click here
labman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 09:35 PM   #12
From A Buick 8
macrumors 68030
 
From A Buick 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ky Close to CinCinnati
Quote:
Originally Posted by wymi View Post
Is it possible to switch between an LTE phone and a 3G phone using OTA programing?
I was ale to make the switch from my 4 to my new 5 right on the Verizon website.

Then set my old 4 up on my daughters line.
__________________
Homemade Interocitor, iPhone 6 Plus 128gb Silver, iPad 4, Two Apple TV's, -- 21.5-inch: 3.2GHz Intel Core i3 iMac.
From A Buick 8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the easiest way to activate an iPhone on Christmas Day Clint1583 iPhone 7 Dec 25, 2013 02:51 AM
<FREE> Christmas Video Card - My Face Christmas Card (Animated) tonywonghs iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Dec 16, 2012 03:36 AM
Can I use prepaid sim At&t to activate iphone5 ( just activate not use) bboyp90 iPhone 1 Sep 28, 2012 12:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC