Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2012, 11:58 PM   #1
tbluhp
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
anyone use straighttalk?

Dose st really offer unlimited data? I am planning on using st with my unlocked iphone 5 cdma from verizon.
tbluhp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 12:09 AM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
I think its 2GB's of data and after that you're cut off but not 100%
I know its not really "unlimited".
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 02:16 AM   #3
corvus32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
My understanding is they no longer cut off data hogs. Everyone gets full 3G or HSPA+ speed up to a certain amount and then they throttle after that.

As a general rule of thumb, if you use 2GB or less you should have no problem going with a prepaid MVNO, but if you typically use more then you'll need to belly up and pay one of the big carriers accordingly.
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB (Silver) | iPad Air 128GB (Space Grey)
0_o
corvus32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 08:37 AM   #4
ml.sail1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
I don't use straighttalk, But I do use net10 which offers the same deal. I started the 1st if this month and so far everything is going well, unlimited talk/text/data. Contrary to the straighttalk unlimited terms which are very vague on specific limits and such, net10 puts it in clear terms, they give you 50,000 minutes a month for talk/text/data. Obviously, calls deduct from that on a minute by minute basis. Texts use 0.5 minutes I believe, and data I haven't quite figured the conversion, it may just be mb to minute. In case you didn't look it up out if curiosity, there are only something like 43,000 actual minutes in a month, so you should be good.

So far I've used 7:45 of talk time, and about 1.9GB of data and I'm still going strong. Download speeds are between 3-8Mbps based on my experience (all the way from PA to FL and anywhere in between).

Hope this helps!
ml.sail1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 08:50 AM   #5
Mr Hill
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
They can and will cut you off for using too much data. They can even suspend your service if you go over the limit too many times. I've had straighttalk customers come and switch to tmobile because they kept hitting the data limit. It's a great deal for $45 though if you use less than 2gb per month.
Mr Hill is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 10:07 AM   #6
dinggus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hill View Post
They can and will cut you off for using too much data. They can even suspend your service if you go over the limit too many times. I've had straighttalk customers come and switch to tmobile because they kept hitting the data limit. It's a great deal for $45 though if you use less than 2gb per month.
But how well does it work with the iPhone. I'm confused, because I thought MMS didn't work with it? So I wouldn't be able to text pictures/videos (rarely) anymore?
dinggus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 11:12 AM   #7
Mr Hill
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Mms and group messaging don't work on iOS 6 without jailbreaking. But there's no jailbreak yet. Some people have been able to rig it to work by putting a tmobile sim in the phone and editing the apn settings before they clear out.
Mr Hill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 11:30 AM   #8
dinggus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hill View Post
Mms and group messaging don't work on iOS 6 without jailbreaking. But there's no jailbreak yet. Some people have been able to rig it to work by putting a tmobile sim in the phone and editing the apn settings before they clear out.
So I wouldn't be able to send picture texts?

I don't do group MMS.
dinggus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 01:19 PM   #9
tbluhp
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I have a unlocked verizon cdma iphone 5 what net10 sim card would I be able to use the att or t-mobile once? What speed would I get?
tbluhp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 01:41 PM   #10
paulbennett95
macrumors 6502a
 
paulbennett95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
You can send media via iMessage but not regular MMS. "4G" with straighttalk is pretty crappy in my area, I don't know if its the AT&T network they use or if MVNO customers are low priority. Texting and calling is fine and I haven't had any usage or cutoff problems.
paulbennett95 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 02:22 PM   #11
ml.sail1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbluhp View Post
I have a unlocked verizon cdma iphone 5 what net10 sim card would I be able to use the att or t-mobile once? What speed would I get?
Personally I would use the ATT one as the iPhone 5 is completely compatible with their network, even the Verizon model is a world phone when it comes to 3G. The current difference between the ATT and Verizon models is the LTE frequencies it can access, but that really doesn't matter as you wont get LTE access through net10 anyways (See Below). T-Mobile is a no-go as you will be stuck on Edge speeds most everywhere, which I forget the specifics but is like max of 512Kbps or something like that, very very slow.

In case no one explained to you, the way a MVNO such as Net10 or Straightalk works is they "rent" network usage from major cell companies like Verizon, ATT, and T-Mobile. This means that any phone running on Net10 will use one of those networks (though with the sim card program [BYOD] you can only use ATT or T-Mobile). At this time none of those companies have allowed these MVNOs to use their LTE networks, and it will probably remain that way for quite some time, but what they rent out are their 3G networks. Thus, with ATT you will be getting their HSPA and HSPA+ network speeds even if you are in a LTE area. Like I posted earlier I am getting about 3-8 and I'll post some screenshots below. Coverage so far has been great for me, like I said you are getting ATT coverage and I have ATT's HSPA+ most everywhere I go.

The best of luck to you, and enjoy your no contract, 50 bucks a month unlimited everything iPhone!

PS: Just a reminder that that usage is from Dec. 1 (When I got my iPhone and activated it on Net10) to Dec. 25.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Usage.JPG
Views:	23
Size:	126.8 KB
ID:	385770   Click image for larger version

Name:	Data Speeds.JPG
Views:	22
Size:	208.4 KB
ID:	385771  
__________________
Late 2013 15" rMBP..............iPhone 5
Late 2012 27" iMac...............iPad air
ml.sail1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 02:25 PM   #12
ml.sail1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulbennett95 View Post
You can send media via iMessage but not regular MMS. "4G" with straighttalk is pretty crappy in my area, I don't know if its the AT&T network they use or if MVNO customers are low priority. Texting and calling is fine and I haven't had any usage or cutoff problems.
Yeah, I am pretty sure that we aren't truly getting HSPA+, but are rather limited to regular HSPA, otherwise known as 3G with top speeds theoretically around 14 and actual closer to the 8 I was talking about before.
__________________
Late 2013 15" rMBP..............iPhone 5
Late 2012 27" iMac...............iPad air
ml.sail1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 02:37 PM   #13
tbluhp
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ml.sail1 View Post
Personally I would use the ATT one as the iPhone 5 is completely compatible with their network, even the Verizon model is a world phone when it comes to 3G. The current difference between the ATT and Verizon models is the LTE frequencies it can access, but that really doesn't matter as you wont get LTE access through net10 anyways (See Below). T-Mobile is a no-go as you will be stuck on Edge speeds most everywhere, which I forget the specifics but is like max of 512Kbps or something like that, very very slow.

In case no one explained to you, the way a MVNO such as Net10 or Straightalk works is they "rent" network usage from major cell companies like Verizon, ATT, and T-Mobile. This means that any phone running on Net10 will use one of those networks (though with the sim card program [BYOD] you can only use ATT or T-Mobile). At this time none of those companies have allowed these MVNOs to use their LTE networks, and it will probably remain that way for quite some time, but what they rent out are their 3G networks. Thus, with ATT you will be getting their HSPA and HSPA+ network speeds even if you are in a LTE area. Like I posted earlier I am getting about 3-8 and I'll post some screenshots below. Coverage so far has been great for me, like I said you are getting ATT coverage and I have ATT's HSPA+ most everywhere I go.

The best of luck to you, and enjoy your no contract, 50 bucks a month unlimited everything iPhone!

PS: Just a reminder that that usage is from Dec. 1 (When I got my iPhone and activated it on Net10) to Dec. 25.
In my area their is t-mobile service (Northern VA) and they do offer t-mobile 4G but before I go out and spend money on a t-mobile ST sim card I wanted to know dose the iPhone 5 through verizon CDMA band have the ability to use t-mobile's 4G band 1900MHZ

http://news.cnet.com/8301-13579_3-57...sable-on-at-t/
tbluhp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 02:51 PM   #14
ml.sail1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbluhp View Post
In my area their is t-mobile service (Northern VA) and they do offer t-mobile 4G but before I go out and spend money on a t-mobile ST sim card I wanted to know dose the iPhone 5 through verizon CDMA band have the ability to use t-mobile's 4G band 1900MHZ
Ok, well presuming you live near DC (kind of the only area in N. VA with refarmed T-Mobile "4G" (its HSPA+) then yeah, you could most definitely go that route. Know that when you buy the Net10 sim card package it acutally comes with 3 different sim cards inside. One ATT Standard Sim, an ATT Micro-Sim, and a T-Mobile Standard Sim. Regardless of which you pick you will have to cut the sim down to Nano sim size, just follow the guide here and make sure you print out the template on A4 sized paper if possible.

This sim card pack can be bought from Target locally as well as Best Buy (Note I have no affiliation with either, nor with Net10. I am just a happy customer)

Personally I dont see why you would go T-Mobile as ATT has much better overall coverage, though I do tend to do a bit of traveling all across the East Coast. YMMV in any case.
__________________
Late 2013 15" rMBP..............iPhone 5
Late 2012 27" iMac...............iPad air
ml.sail1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 04:44 PM   #15
tpf7118
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Switched to Straight Talk

Switched from ATT to ST two months ago on an iPhone 4 & 5 with no difficulties. No problems on either iPhone. Have have had problems with dropped calls on the IP5 and contacted Apple support. Waiting to determine the solution.Not sure if iPhone, ST, or SIM that was nano-ized by yours truly.
tpf7118 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 05:39 PM   #16
dgravo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Does Straight Talk offer Nano sims?
dgravo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 06:02 PM   #17
ml.sail1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgravo View Post
Does Straight Talk offer Nano sims?
No, as mentioned above you will have to cut either a standard size or micro sim down to nano sim size. I did it with mine following this guide and it works fine.
__________________
Late 2013 15" rMBP..............iPhone 5
Late 2012 27" iMac...............iPad air
ml.sail1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 06:08 PM   #18
araje
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
So based on what I read in this thread, using straight talk will allow me to see 4G on my iPhone ? And I would get about 5-6Mbps ?

If that's the case then u guess I could do with ST and ditch my no commitment AT&T postpaid.
araje is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 09:21 PM   #19
pnyc
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
The amount of missinformation in this thread is astounding. I have no idea why some people can't keep their yap shut and insist on misleading people.

There is no set point at which ST will throttle you or turn off your data. Some people get cut off some get throttled while others use data far beyond 2GB with no change in service. I've used as much as 3.5GB with not even a peep from ST. Most people asume that staying below 2GB is "safe".

I'm an ST customer for over a 1.5 year, used it with iPhone 4, 4s, 5 and Android, Nokia phones.

Right now I'm using iPhone 5 Verizon on ST(AT&T) $45 a month unlimited plan. I have HSPA+ where available and MMS and SMS without a jailbreak.

You don't need a jailbreak to have MMS working. Read post #19 here:
http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...ght-Talk/page2

Read the above thread and check out the ST section on that forum and all your questions will be answered.
__________________
MacBook Pro i7, 8GB, 250GB SSD ; 27" LED Apple Cinema Display
pnyc is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 09:27 PM   #20
ml.sail1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by pnyc View Post
The amount of missinformation in this thread is astounding. I have no idea why some people can't keep their yap shut and insist on misleading people.

There is no set point at which ST will throttle you or turn off your data. Some people get cut off some get throttled while others use data far beyond 2GB with no change in service. I've used as much as 3.5GB with not even a peep from ST. Most people asume that staying below 2GB is "safe".

I'm an ST customer for over a 1.5 year, used it with iPhone 4, 4s, 5 and Android, Nokia phones.

Right now I'm using iPhone 5 Verizon on ST(AT&T) $45 a month unlimited plan. I have HSPA+ where available and MMS and SMS without a jailbreak.

You don't need a jailbreak to have MMS working. Read post #19 here:
http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...ght-Talk/page2

Read the above thread and check out the ST section on that forum and all your questions will be answered.
Just for the record I was speaking of my experience from Net10 (different than ST), and the way they work is with the 50,000 minute system as explained in their TOS.
__________________
Late 2013 15" rMBP..............iPhone 5
Late 2012 27" iMac...............iPad air
ml.sail1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 09:33 PM   #21
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
That's the thing with ST that you dont know if, how and exactly when.
I know people that had ported their number to ST and they got cancelled for abuse of data. And also lost their phone number that they had for years.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 10:01 PM   #22
pnyc
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by ml.sail1 View Post
Just for the record I was speaking of my experience from Net10 (different than ST), and the way they work is with the 50,000 minute system as explained in their TOS.
I thought that your post was one of the most insightful in this thread. Net10 is a solid provider if I had to leave ST I'd most likely sign up with them.
__________________
MacBook Pro i7, 8GB, 250GB SSD ; 27" LED Apple Cinema Display
pnyc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 12:41 PM   #23
ml.sail1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
FaceTime over cellular

I would also like to add for those wondering that I actually get FaceTime over 3G with my net10 plan.
__________________
Late 2013 15" rMBP..............iPhone 5
Late 2012 27" iMac...............iPad air
ml.sail1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Straighttalk Official iPhone 4 Inquiry Snafubar iPhone 2 Jan 26, 2014 09:58 PM
Straighttalk anyone? imjoee iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Sep 3, 2013 06:07 AM
iOS 6.1 and StraightTalk- no data? okaycpu iPhone 6 Feb 8, 2013 07:56 AM
T-Mobile to StraightTalk dtbratt iPhone 4 Dec 13, 2012 09:51 PM
iPhone 5 on StraightTalk rattler iPhone 2 Nov 23, 2012 02:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC