Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 26, 2012, 09:42 AM   #1
fjs08
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Can't activate Facetime

Hi,
How do I activate Facetime. I'm on the Settings/Facetime area. I input my Apple ID and password, but I keep getting "waiting for Activation," then "could not sign in, please check network connection."
The Apple Id works since I can download and update other Apps.
Thx.
Frank
fjs08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 09:54 AM   #2
pnyc
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Google to the rescue?
****************HGJG0
__________________
MacBook Pro i7, 8GB, 250GB SSD ; 27" LED Apple Cinema Display
pnyc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:07 AM   #3
fjs08
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
I have tried all of the stuff I could find in those articles and nothing works.
Sad but I found articles dating back a few years w this issue. Can't believe Apple hasn't found a cure yet!!
Any other thoughts??
Thx.
Frank
fjs08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 02:31 PM   #4
Afbar1114
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I was having problems with this as well yesterday
__________________
MBP 13", 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM, 500GB HDD in Optical bay|iPad mini| 2TB Time Capsule| iPhone 5s 32GB| AppleTV
Afbar1114 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 02:43 PM   #5
j.dstasio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Jersey
The activation servers are probably just lagging behind because of all the new iPods, iPads and iPhones people received as gifts yesterday. I'd just give it some time.
__________________
 A good mix of both black and white gadgets.
j.dstasio is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 02:50 PM   #6
JPChicago
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
It's the activation servers for sure. My iPod 5 wouldn't activate neither. It would just stall at "verifying". But try later and it'll work.
JPChicago is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 03:19 PM   #7
fjs08
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
To be honest, I've been trying for about a week. Maybe the Holidays?? lots of iPhones from Santa??<g. I'll see what happens.
Thx.
Frank
fjs08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 03:25 PM   #8
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Mine activated fast in less than a minute when I tried about an hour ago.
Maybe something else that's causing a prob?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 03:34 PM   #9
fjs08
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
AppleJuiced,
where are you located. Just tried again here in Florida and nothing.
Frank
fjs08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 03:38 PM   #10
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fjs08 View Post
AppleJuiced,
where are you located. Just tried again here in Florida and nothing.
Frank
Patriots land, New England area
Are you connected to wifi when trying to activate it?
Try a restart, maybe reset network settings.
My iphone 5 facetime activated using my phone number, not my apple ID. Not sure if that makes a difference or not though.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 03:44 PM   #11
fjs08
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
On WiFi,
Where is the network settings to reset??
Where do you input the phone number to activate? Just asks for my Apple ID and password.
Thx.
Frank
fjs08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 03:48 PM   #12
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fjs08 View Post
On WiFi,
Where is the network settings to reset??
Where do you input the phone number to activate? Just asks for my Apple ID and password.
Thx.
Frank
settings/general/reset/ reset network.

On settings/facetime I just turned on facetime and then on the bottom it says "you can be reached by facetime at: and shows a checkmark with my phone number.
I never added my email.


What model iphone you're using, what firmware version and what carrier?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 04:21 PM   #13
fjs08
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
iPhone 5.. .Brand new from Best Buy little over 2 weeks ago.
Verizon.
Version 6.0.2
Where will I find Firmware??
Frank

----------

>>settings/general/reset/ reset network<<

Will I need to do anything after I reset the network??
Frank

----------

What does resetting the network do... just curious???
Frank
fjs08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 05:18 PM   #14
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
It just refreshes your network settings.
You'll be ok.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:07 PM   #15
fjs08
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Reset Network. No change.
Frank
fjs08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:11 PM   #16
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
That sucks frank
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:27 PM   #17
fjs08
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Rofl.... No kidding!!!!
fjs08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:31 PM   #18
spyguy10709
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by fjs08 View Post
Hi,
How do I activate Facetime. I'm on the Settings/Facetime area. I input my Apple ID and password, but I keep getting "waiting for Activation," then "could not sign in, please check network connection."
The Apple Id works since I can download and update other Apps.
Thx.
Frank
Hey -- try plugging it into iTunes on your computer, and set it up in iTunes. If that doesn't work, try restoring, then activating.

The servers have been swamped, so I'd wait for a good day or two before doing it IMHO, but give that a shot if you're feeling impatient.
__________________
Last edited by spyguy10709; Tomorrow at 07:10 AM.
spyguy10709 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:04 PM   #19
adeedew
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
call ATT and make sure they have your IMEI number in their system to your phone and you have a proper data plan with them for the Iphone, i bet that's your problem
adeedew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:05 PM   #20
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
He's on Verizon
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:10 PM   #21
adeedew
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
He's on Verizon
ah-ha, was looking at another post with pictures that said ATT thought it was him, i still say call Verizon then, i know i had same prob w/ Att
adeedew is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:41 PM   #22
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
True, ring up your carrier frank and see if they can be of any help in activating this feature.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iOS 7 iMessages and Facetime won't activate! ts599 iOS 7 17 Sep 19, 2013 06:03 AM
iMessage and FaceTime won't activate MyRomeo iPhone 6 Sep 25, 2012 09:24 AM
Can't activate iMessage or FaceTime VivaLaFisica iPhone 6 Sep 22, 2012 09:25 AM
activate iMessage , Facetime and push notifications Nicolas4ever Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jul 2, 2012 11:14 AM
How to activate phone number for iMessage/FaceTime nk416 iOS 6 3 Jun 13, 2012 06:08 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC