Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:53 AM   #1126
Chaosknight78
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Ok here's the situation I need help with;

I want to get the new Galaxy Note II but I'm not eligible for upgrade on my single UDP line. I have a Galaxy Nexus, what I was wondering is it possible to add a new line to purchase the Galaxy Note II at the subsided price, move the GN2 to my UDP line and add a dumb phone and remove the Galaxy Nexus from the 2nd line to avoid paying ridiculous monthly bill? I'm currently paying about 79$ a month with my 450min unlimited text & data plan.
Chaosknight78 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 04:13 PM   #1127
daniboy44xd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
quick question if i transfer my upgrade from a line with 4 gb/month to a dumb phone will my 4 gb/month be dropped to 2 gb/month
daniboy44xd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 04:15 PM   #1128
Jtludwig
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniboy44xd View Post
quick question if i transfer my upgrade from a line with 4 gb/month to a dumb phone will my 4 gb/month be dropped to 2 gb/month
People stop asking all these questions.

Any change to your plans will be very obvious during the ordering process on the website.

The website will make you confirm things multiple times. You always have the option to cancel before you hit submit.
Jtludwig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 01:29 PM   #1129
Patels23
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Hey. I have a situation and I could really use some help or feedback. My family plan is able to upgrade and I have 4 lines ( 1 smartphones and 3 basic). The smartphone is the primary line and has unlimited data. I want to upgrade all of them to smartphones and add one line which will be a basic phone. When i try upgrading all the phones, All the lines gets placed under the share everything plan. My primary line already has unlimited data but the Verizon agent said that I cant keep my unlimited data anymore. How can I keep my unlimited data without buying the samsung note 2 at full price? Please someone help. Thank you.
Patels23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 08:57 PM   #1130
Appl'd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Hey Patels23, I don't have a conclusive answer for you as I haven't been following very closely for the past month, but you might benefit from upgrading them one line at a time. I don't recall the rules to the letter, but the essence was that individual lines within family plans were not automatically forced into Share Everything - I remember asking a rep because I couldn't quite understand how a mutant Family Plan/Share Everything Plan hybrid would work if individual lines selectively switched over; I remember the math showed it to be a horrible scenario. So I don't recall precisely the conditions under which you are or are not required to convert a full account to Share Everything, but I do recall it being generally at the consumer's discretion. As long as you maintain that core nucleus of lines under a Family Plan, it's easy to justify the retention of Family Plan terms for an individual line's upgrade, which you can do iteratively (Upgrade line A alone, keep the other 3 in the family plan. Once A is upgraded to new family plan terms then upgrade line B, maintaining the other 3 in the family plan (2 under old terms, 1 under new terms). Once upgraded, then upgrade line 3, etc.

Thing is, you should probably look carefully into your data usage first, because it's not necessarily the case that Share Everything is a bad deal. In most cases the bill seems to come pretty close, giving up only the security of an unlimited package which might be overblown in many cases. I fought tooth and nail to keep mine just for the principle and insurance against overages, yet I've never even used 2GB. Considering the 2 1/2 days I took off work to scour forums, research the issue to death, stop into Verizon stores, etc, I effectively lost an extra $400 up front to keep an unlimited plan that will likely pan out to have zero financial value aside from the warm fuzzy feeling that I can stream media to my heart's content while away from WiF. Despite picturing a million scenarios where I'd need that ability, I see now that I basically gave up a new iPad 4 for the option to watch Netflix that one time over the next two years I'm stuck riding in a car all day (which already happened and I didn't watch a lick of Netflix. Would rather have the iPad 4 with certainty every day for those two years and 'live' with 2GB data on that car ride.) So the advice there is that it's not necessarily a good deal to invest a ton of time in getting every contractual term you desire if it consumes a lot of your time resources, but I guess that's why you're asking for the answer instead of reading 46 pages of thread.

For the specifics I'll defer to Jtludwig above: the answer is in there. (But do be careful; I have to disagree with the statement that it will be clear during the checkout process. See my post #205 ITT from several months ago, I provided screenshots of the order process and resulting receipt that were anything but straightforward. In fact the website's representation at that time was blatantly wrong, though to my benefit so I'm not complaining). Good luck. My advice is to pay for the Note 2 full price and get back to your life, or just let go of unlimited if you're only keeping it for insurance. Stomaching a $100 data overage at some point might actually be the cheapest solution, as crazy as that sounds.
Appl'd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 09:57 PM   #1131
iTorment
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas City, MO
Worked for me

I can confirm this is still working. I went and tried this at a Verizon store two days ago. Sales rep took care of everything. Only 10 bucks extra a month. I finally feel decent about paying Verizon every month.
iTorment is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 01:51 PM   #1132
jasko
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
I too confirm that this worked. I have a line with a dumbphone anyway and upgraded that. Switched iPhone5 to my number and I'm good to go!
__________________
jasko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 10:19 AM   #1133
vman100
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Hi - Sorry for the question, but I am new to this and having a hard time figuring out my situation. I have two smart phones with Verizon now (one old Palm that is eligible for upgrade and one iphone 4s that is not yet eligible). Is there any way for me to upgrade the palm to the iphone 5 and keep unlimited data? I could add a dumb phone line (and phone) for my son if needed...
vman100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 08:18 PM   #1134
steelcurtain11
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I have a dumb phone as the main line and my smart phone with unlimited as the second. Could I upgrade the dumb phone to an iphone 5, select the 2GB option for that, then give them my smart phone and I take the iphone 5 while still keeping unlimited data on my part? I'm not sure how the hybrid/family plan thing would work.. I don't want it to force us both into the stupid share all plan, since I stream a lot of videos and music on the go.

Right now we're on the 750 minute, unlimited texting on both lines, and I have unlimited data for around $130/month before taxes. So I'm not sure how the pricing would work if they somehow can convert the share all on one line and my unlimited on the other..
steelcurtain11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 08:11 AM   #1135
jmo1116
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Does anyone know how many times this will work? For instance, I have already done this once. I transferred an upgrade from an iphone 4 line to the dumbphone line and then got the iphone 5 with unlimited data. We now have another upgrade so can I transfer it again to the dumb phone line and do the same process again? I would be transferring upgrades to the dumb phone and would, in theory, never upgrade iphone lines which would allow me to keep unlimited data?
jmo1116 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 10:55 AM   #1136
jmo1116
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Anyone know if the above will work? Trying to purchase an iphone 5 for my wife for Christmas.
jmo1116 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 11:29 AM   #1137
keitarou
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmo1116 View Post
Anyone know if the above will work? Trying to purchase an iphone 5 for my wife for Christmas.
It will work. Don't worry about it and just do it. At worst they won't allow it.
keitarou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 04:35 PM   #1138
witmvpness6
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Upgraded to the iPhone 5 and was able to keep unlimited data.

edit
witmvpness6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 09:39 AM   #1139
robEstyles
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmo1116 View Post
Does anyone know how many times this will work? For instance, I have already done this once. I transferred an upgrade from an iphone 4 line to the dumbphone line and then got the iphone 5 with unlimited data. We now have another upgrade so can I transfer it again to the dumb phone line and do the same process again? I would be transferring upgrades to the dumb phone and would, in theory, never upgrade iphone lines which would allow me to keep unlimited data?
I've done it twice so far so in theory yes I think you can just keep doing it as long as you use the dumb phone line
robEstyles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 10:34 PM   #1140
bigMAC28
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
I know this has been beat to death but i have a quick question

I just got off the phone with a VZ rep and he said that if i purchase an IP5 by using an upgrade on dumb phone line 1 that it will work. BUT when the phone gets here then i have to call and activate it on MY unlimited data plan. NOT ON THE DUMBLINE FIRST?

Can anyone confirm that?

Also, What is the cancellation policy on the 2GB plan that i supposedly have to "sign up for"? Am I on the hook for it or will it not take effect until I "hypothetically" activate the phone on the dumbline?


Thanks for your patience!

-Mike
bigMAC28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:09 PM   #1141
henmentus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: 5911 S Dixie Hwy
Get the highest quality phone service for homes as well as large and small businesses. just check this out.
__________________
telephone system ny
henmentus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 08:40 PM   #1142
bigMAC28
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigMAC28 View Post
I just got off the phone with a VZ rep and he said that if i purchase an IP5 by using an upgrade on dumb phone line 1 that it will work. BUT when the phone gets here then i have to call and activate it on MY unlimited data plan. NOT ON THE DUMBLINE FIRST?

Can anyone confirm that?

Also, What is the cancellation policy on the 2GB plan that i supposedly have to "sign up for"? Am I on the hook for it or will it not take effect until I "hypothetically" activate the phone on the dumbline?


Thanks for your patience!

-Mike
Anybody?
bigMAC28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 08:47 PM   #1143
Ars0n
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigMAC28 View Post
Anybody?
Mike i just added a line to my unlimited plan (ip5) and when it comes Monday I am going to activate it to my unlimited line and then activate the dumb phone to the new line. The 30$/mo data plan I had to sign up for to get the 5 is essentially cancelled when I activate the dumb phone and cancel the data component.
Ars0n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 08:52 PM   #1144
bigMAC28
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ars0n View Post
Mike i just added a line to my unlimited plan (ip5) and when it comes Monday I am going to activate it to my unlimited line and then activate the dumb phone to the new line. The 30$/mo data plan I had to sign up for to get the 5 is essentially cancelled when I activate the dumb phone and cancel the data component.
Your going to activate it directly to your unlimited line? Not activate it on your dumbphone line then transfer it to your unlimited line?
bigMAC28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:41 PM   #1145
maliu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Yes, to keep unlimited you have to activate it on the dumb phone line. Then you inactivate it for 24 hours (some stupid SIM card reason) Then you can activate it on your unlimited.
maliu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:54 PM   #1146
bigMAC28
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by maliu View Post
Yes, to keep unlimited you have to activate it on the dumb phone line. Then you inactivate it for 24 hours (some stupid SIM card reason) Then you can activate it on your unlimited.
What happens if you just activate it onto the unlimited line without going through the dumb phone? Also, you can cancel the data plan on the dumbphone line without charges right?
bigMAC28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 01:20 PM   #1147
bigMAC28
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigMAC28 View Post
What happens if you just activate it onto the unlimited line without going through the dumb phone? Also, you can cancel the data plan on the dumbphone line without charges right?
Anyone?
bigMAC28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 03:39 PM   #1148
ForceMan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigMAC28 View Post
Anyone?
You would lose unlimited. Has to be on the line you are willing to lose unlimited on first, then switched over to your unlimited line.
ForceMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 04:01 PM   #1149
MrGuder
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigMAC28 View Post
I just got off the phone with a VZ rep and he said that if i purchase an IP5 by using an upgrade on dumb phone line 1 that it will work. BUT when the phone gets here then i have to call and activate it on MY unlimited data plan. NOT ON THE DUMBLINE FIRST?

Can anyone confirm that?

Also, What is the cancellation policy on the 2GB plan that i supposedly have to "sign up for"? Am I on the hook for it or will it not take effect until I "hypothetically" activate the phone on the dumbline?


Thanks for your patience!

-Mike
The rep is correct, do not open the box, activate it on your unlimited line using activate/switch option put in the #'s it asks from the outside of the iPhone box or your receipt in the box. Just be sure when it gets to the plan that its checked unlimited, mine said that by default. You do not need to activate it on the dumb phone line you purchased the iPhone on.

Even it you do activate it on your dumb phone line it will work but its just more of a hassle to do it that way. Activating it on your unlimited line works and it will not affect your dumb phone line.
MrGuder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 05:25 PM   #1150
bigMAC28
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGuder View Post
The rep is correct, do not open the box, activate it on your unlimited line using activate/switch option put in the #'s it asks from the outside of the iPhone box or your receipt in the box. Just be sure when it gets to the plan that its checked unlimited, mine said that by default. You do not need to activate it on the dumb phone line you purchased the iPhone on.

Even it you do activate it on your dumb phone line it will work but its just more of a hassle to do it that way. Activating it on your unlimited line works and it will not affect your dumb phone line.
Thank you for taking the time to reply.Even though the guy above says the exact opposite. lol.
bigMAC28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Verizon unlimited data loophole still open? rileyb76 iPhone 13 Dec 23, 2013 09:42 PM
Verizon Unlimited Data Upgrade Loophole Shipping hockeyman94 iPhone 13 Oct 16, 2013 08:58 AM
Is Verizon Unlimited Data Loophole working? kjay80 iPhone 12 Sep 14, 2013 09:25 PM
Another way to keep your Verizon unlimited?! NEW loophole. jetlitheone iPhone 2 Sep 23, 2012 09:40 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC