Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 23, 2012, 10:32 AM   #1
PatM
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quicken For Mac

I noticed a few days ago that Intuit/Quicken has made available Quicken 7 that will work on Lion. If you all remember when Lion came out support for Quicken ceased and it would not run on Lion. Well Quicken has made available Quicken 7 that will run on the Mac with Lion (I have 10.7.3). If you are using Quicken Essentials you can export to Quicken 7 and be on your way. The cost to get this program is $15.00 and it's not an upgrade it's the full program has reported by Mac/Life.

BUT,HOLD THE PHONE!

I have been a long time Quicken user and quite frankly that is the only reason I use Parallels and a Window partition. I needed to use Quicken and I don't like Essentials. One minor problem with the software. It works great except it will not download any files from any bank. Either by the OneStep or regular download. It continually give the the error "Quicken Could not connect to the server. Please try again. OL-290."

I have spoken with Quicken and email the error logs to them about 4 days ago and so far no resolution. They have a web page dedicated to the issue so they know of the problem but thus far no resolution. I sure hope they get it fixed. I like this program much better than Essentials.

I plan to give them another week or so and see if they can fix the problem. (I'm surprised they released it without testing it. Holy smokes.)

If they can't fix it in a reasonable amount of time I am going to request a refund. It's only $15.00 but the program is basically useless if you can't connect and download transactions. If any of you have downloaded the program and are having the same issue (I imagine everyone will.) please contact Quicken and raise some cain. If they can get log files from lots of folks it will help them to fix the problem sooner.

Regards,

Pat
__________________
Early 2011 MBP 13" 2.7 Ghz I7 8 Gb Ram 500 Gb HD
PatM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2012, 10:47 AM   #2
ejkionka
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quicken for Mac Download Bank Files Issue

I went back to Quicken for Mac 2007 last week (Lion version), having tried a couple of other programs. I still like QM 2007 best, especially for the reporting features.

I used my QM 2007 data file, which was only a few months out of date, and simply brought it current. It opened without a hitch, and my ability to download transactions is working fine. So apparently the issue is not universal.
ejkionka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2012, 10:58 AM   #3
PatM
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejkionka View Post
I went back to Quicken for Mac 2007 last week (Lion version), having tried a couple of other programs. I still like QM 2007 best, especially for the reporting features.

I used my QM 2007 data file, which was only a few months out of date, and simply brought it current. It opened without a hitch, and my ability to download transactions is working fine. So apparently the issue is not universal.
Well that is good to know. I didn't use a 2007 file but Essentials. So maybe therein lies the rub. Hummmmm. I wonder what my next step is?
__________________
Early 2011 MBP 13" 2.7 Ghz I7 8 Gb Ram 500 Gb HD
PatM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2012, 12:02 PM   #4
Herdfan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
I am having no issues D/L from my bank via QM 2007. But yesterday I was at my parents paying some of their bills and QW 2011 would not connect to their bank. Said it was a server issue. Don't know if it is related or not.
Herdfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2012, 10:48 AM   #5
ejkionka
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Server Issue

I had that same problem on Sunday, turned out it was indeed a server problem (Chase VISA). Went back later and everything was fine.
ejkionka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2012, 11:42 AM   #6
Herdfan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejkionka View Post
I had that same problem on Sunday, turned out it was indeed a server problem (Chase VISA).
It was Chase for my parents as well. Wonder what bank the OP was using?
Herdfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2012, 03:14 PM   #7
macsrwe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejkionka View Post
I used my QM 2007 data file, which was only a few months out of date, and simply brought it current. It opened without a hitch, and my ability to download transactions is working fine. So apparently the issue is not universal.
Or you just haven't experienced it yet.

Like you, I opened all my old data files and they worked fine… for about two weeks. Then I started getting the dreaded OL-290 errors from Discover, and I haven't been able to download anything from them since.
macsrwe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 06:39 AM   #8
GretchSum
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quicken2007/Discover OL-290 error message

I have not been able to update Discover transactions for over a month. When I spoke to Discover, they indicated that there is an issue with Quicken, and they (I assume they mean Quicken) are working on resolving it.
GretchSum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 08:07 AM   #9
Oldmanmac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Excuse my ignorance, but I am unfamiliar with "QT" & "QW". Please educate me.

Secondly, does it work with Mountain Lion?
Oldmanmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 04:35 PM   #10
fatire
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Q2007 1.16.1.2 runs on Lion but wont connect to TD Bank

Same issue as OP, except with TD Bank. From my research it looks like the trouble varies by financial institution. I have demanded a solution within 48hrs or I'll be having MasterCard charge back my $15 as a fraudulent sale. Like why am I waiting, clearly there isn't a solution, and clearly Intuit isn't going to flinch at my ultimatum! ;-)
So what else is out there that does checking really well on the Mac?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldmanmac View Post
Excuse my ignorance, but I am unfamiliar with "QT" & "QW". Please educate me.

Secondly, does it work with Mountain Lion?
Define "work"? It runs on Mt. Lion but has varied connection issues.
fatire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 06:20 PM   #11
FoxFifth
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatire View Post
... So what else is out there that does checking really well on the Mac?
iBank4 http://www.iggsoftware.com/ibank/index2.php works well for me.
FoxFifth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 08:50 AM   #12
John Adams
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX USA
I just think the people at Intuit hate Mac. There is no excuse why we don't have a current, new Mac version that works as well as their windows versions. If you ask them about a new Mac version, you get canned non-answers. Personally, I don't think we'll ever see one.

I am new to Mac, less than a year, and being a 15-year Quicken user is the only thing that keeps me tied to windows and my old laptop. I need to get parallels up and running but would love a new native Mac version so I can say goodbye to Windows forever.
__________________
Late 2012 13" Macbook Pro Retina
iPhone 5S, 64gb, Verizon
iPad 4, 16gb, Verizon
John Adams is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 12:54 PM   #13
audiemom
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Help!!! New to Forum

Longtime Quicken User. Do One Step Update daily with USAA FSB. Last one, 20
Dec 12 at 0545 no problem. Friday (the dreaded end of world), and get OL-290 message repeatedly. Have called Quicken and walked through their mapwork and no success. Called USAA but yet to get into the meat with them. Any thoughts?
audiemom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 09:16 AM   #14
audiemom
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
update

a certificate issue is the reason?
patch anywhere?
audiemom is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quicken Alternative - Again DunellenGuy Mac Applications and Mac App Store 19 Apr 19, 2014 09:11 PM
Quicken Deluxe in a VM saz25 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Jan 11, 2014 12:25 PM
Quicken Essentials for Mac; Anyone? zipur Mac Applications and Mac App Store 19 Oct 7, 2013 08:24 AM
FYI on Mac version of Quicken kkirkland81 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 11 Apr 28, 2013 07:01 PM
New Quicken for Mac oldhifi Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jan 20, 2013 07:16 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC