Best connection? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:40 PM   #1
ChrisDx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Best connection?

Hi;

I'd like to connect my MBAir to my d2 Quadra (laCie) to enable using Time Machine. The MBAir has USB and Thunderbolt ports. The Quadra has a wide range of ports but no Thunderbolt. Suggestions?

Thansk;
Chris
ChrisDx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:43 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
USB or Firewire 800 via the Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:43 PM   #3
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Well if you only have TB and USB, then I recommend using the USB since its the lowest common denominator, i.e., on both the drive and computer
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:47 PM   #4
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisDx View Post
Hi;

I'd like to connect my MBAir to my d2 Quadra (laCie) to enable using Time Machine. The MBAir has USB and Thunderbolt ports. The Quadra has a wide range of ports but no Thunderbolt. Suggestions?

Thansk;
Chris
What specific ports does it have?
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 01:04 PM   #5
ChrisDx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
The LaCie d2 Quadra ports:
FireWire 400
FireWire 800
USB2 (Type B)
eSATA
ChrisDx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 01:12 PM   #6
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisDx View Post
The LaCie d2 Quadra ports:
FireWire 400
FireWire 800
USB2 (Type B)
eSATA
Then again, USB or Firewire 800 via a Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 01:40 PM   #7
ChrisDx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
The MBAir has USB Type A ports while the Quadra has a USB Type B port. I found a cable with Type A and Type B ends and connected the two but for some reason it is not showing up on the MBAir as a device. I restarted the MBAir to no avail. This may be another issue for another thread?
ChrisDx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 01:48 PM   #8
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisDx View Post
The MBAir has USB Type A ports while the Quadra has a USB Type B port. I found a cable with Type A and Type B ends and connected the two but for some reason it is not showing up on the MBAir as a device. I restarted the MBAir to no avail. This may be another issue for another thread?
Does it show up In Disk Utility?
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 02:33 PM   #9
ChrisDx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Nope.
ChrisDx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 11:17 AM   #10
ChrisDx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
OK here's the scoop. I have both my iMac and my MBAir connected to the Quadra. The iMac and Quadra was the pre-existing connection (running Time Machine). When I shut down the iMac, the Quadra showed up in the MBAir Finder. I started Time Machine on the MBAir and restarted the iMac; the Quadra did not show on the iMac Finder.

So, I guess it's one at a time when Time Machine is on either computer. Once TM is finsihed, I'll turn it off on both computers and the Quadra should show up on both.

I'll report back if that is not the case.
ChrisDx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 11:25 AM   #11
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
I do not know, you connected the HDD to both your Macs (Firewire 800 or USB I guess), but one HDD cannot be connected physically to two computers that way.
Either you connect the HDD to one Mac and let that one Mac share that HDD to other Macs via your home network or you use a network HDD (NAS) to connect with two Macs or more to the same HDD.

That would explain, why the HDD did not show up on either Mac while being connected to both, but did show up, when one Mac was shut off. Time Machine has nothing to do with it.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timemachine, moving from direct connection to WiFi connection jensvium Mac Peripherals 2 Oct 7, 2013 09:05 PM
iPad: No Tetherme USB connection, Wifi connection is fine labear Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jun 16, 2013 04:12 PM
Created a second VPN connection by mistake. How do I delete the second connection Subu iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jan 18, 2013 02:36 PM
AE connection help reckless2k2 Mac Peripherals 1 Nov 25, 2012 12:07 PM
No Connection artblue iPod touch 2 Nov 12, 2012 08:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC