Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 25, 2012, 04:18 PM   #1
thedon1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Questions on retina, screen size, pixels and scaling.

So i'm making an app, i've pretty much coded all the functionality but now comes the graphics. It's a simple 1 screen app.



1) I've programmed it using the 4 inch layout but I don;t need the extra space for anything in particular. Do i need to do anything to get it to work on a 3.5 inch device or will it just cut the bottom off (which i'm OK with)?

2) I wan to make some art for a couple of buttons. I've added the buttons in my xib file but how do I know how many pixels they are? I've read the width and height in the size inspector are points, not pixels.

3) Do I need to include non retina versions of the icons or can iOS scale them down? I've read about using @2x in the filename to indicate retina graphics but only if i'm also including no retina.


Any help would be great.

Thanks
thedon1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 04:54 PM   #2
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 603
 
ArtOfWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
Have you tried using the simulator? The hardware menu allows you to swap between 3.5" non retina, 3.5" retina, and 4" retina.

I believe iOS will automatically scale your graphics down or up if you don't provide the correct resolution. I'm not quite sure how it handles going between 3.5" and 4" screens.
ArtOfWarfare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:40 PM   #3
resetme
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
i'm at the same step as you.

i found that:

-you need to provide non-retina image files. (all images, app icon, background, resources)

-Use AutoLayout (that will move all your objects for 3.5, 4 and iphone 5)

-If you don't use auto layout it's better to go for size: inferred and then autosizing to arrange your buttons for 3.5, 4 and 5.

- If you have a fullscreen background, then you should add a special version for the iphone 5 and change it by code. (there is no image@568 format, only for splash screen)

Test it using simulator, i had my app with auto layout off, so some of my bottom buttons were out of the screen.
resetme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:49 PM   #4
xStep
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lost in Minneapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by resetme View Post
-Use AutoLayout (that will move all your objects for 3.5, 4 and iphone 5)
It should be noted that AutoLayout is limited to iOS 6.0 and above.
__________________
My App: CameraTime - Time lapse photography for novice and advanced users.
xStep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 01:59 PM   #5
resetme
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xStep View Post
It should be noted that AutoLayout is limited to iOS 6.0 and above.
yes, that is very important!! i'm not using AutoLayout because the iOS 6.0 limitation
resetme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 05:07 PM   #6
thedon1
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Thanks for the reply guys.

My apps layout is actually very simple and I don't actually use the extra space the iPhone 5 gives. The simulator automatically just cuts a bit off the bottom and my buttons are pretty close to the bottom edge but it's no big deal.

Would I be OK just submitting it like that? It sucks that I need retina and non-retina art, is there no automatic scaling?

What do you mean use size: inferred? I've not seen that anywhere or heard of it.
thedon1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 07:48 PM   #7
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 603
 
ArtOfWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
Quote:
Originally Posted by resetme View Post
yes, that is very important!! i'm not using AutoLayout because the iOS 6.0 limitation
iOS 6 was at 72% a week ago. I suspect it's much higher now that Christmas has passed. Your app won't hit the store today. Going out of the way to support pre-6.0 seems silly to me.
ArtOfWarfare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 08:11 PM   #8
resetme
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
There is an autoscaling (you start with the retina version) but when you work with bitmaps the scaling get blurry and get bad results (borders, shadows, etc).

There is an option in attributes for size inferred (simulated metrics), then what i do is select a button (show the size inspector) and use the Autosizing to manage position for multiple screen sizes.


Actually idk about the autoscaling and the bad results, i just saw it on google (create a retina image, then in size inspector u resize it to non-retina size).

You can try it and gave us a feedback

Apple wont block it for that issue. my first app have only retina images and everything is scaled by code. I didn't care about it at all... but that was my app with my money lol (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=851cRnruZds)
resetme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 09:00 PM   #9
xStep
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lost in Minneapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtOfWarfare View Post
iOS 6 was at 72% a week ago. I suspect it's much higher now that Christmas has passed. Your app won't hit the store today. Going out of the way to support pre-6.0 seems silly to me.
It's not like turning off Autolayout is going out of your way to support per-iOS 6. So far my experience with Autolayout in IB suggests it still needs some tuning.

Given the adoption of iOS 6 I too think it a bit silly to support a previous version when creating a new app. I made that decision for my app and iOS 5. I had developed the app in iOS 4 and could have released it for that but iOS 5 was in the same state as iOS 6 is now. A bonus is that I can add iOS 5 specific features and know I'm not leaving a customer behind. I'm experimenting with one of those features right now.
xStep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:26 PM   #10
juiceman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Hello. I have a question along similar lines. I'm working with a developer to produce my app. The app has been designed for the iPhone 3 layout and my developer has said that on an iPhone 4 or 5 it'll be displayed with 'a border at the top and bottom'. This doesn't seem like an ideal solution to me. What are my other options?
juiceman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:32 PM   #11
dejo
Moderator
 
dejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Centennial State
Quote:
Originally Posted by juiceman View Post
Hello. I have a question along similar lines. I'm working with a developer to produce my app. The app has been designed for the iPhone 3 layout and my developer has said that on an iPhone 4 or 5 it'll be displayed with 'a border at the top and bottom'. This doesn't seem like an ideal solution to me. What are my other options?
Ask the developer to explain why there will be borders top and bottom for the iPhone 4. I'm curious how they will answer that one.
__________________
dejo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:02 PM   #12
xStep
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lost in Minneapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by dejo View Post
Ask the developer to explain why there will be borders top and bottom for the iPhone 4. I'm curious how they will answer that one.
juiceman, what dejo is hinting at is that all iPhones up to and including the 4S have the same aspect ratio. There should be no borders on any phone model earlier than the iPhone 5.

If there will be borders on the iPhone 5, then the design hasn't taken into account the new aspect ratio. It's not esthetically optimal to have the borders but it doesn't hurt. If the project started before the introduction of the iPhone 5, then a redesign may have a cost associated with it.
__________________
My App: CameraTime - Time lapse photography for novice and advanced users.
xStep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 10:57 AM   #13
thedon1
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by resetme View Post
There is an autoscaling (you start with the retina version) but when you work with bitmaps the scaling get blurry and get bad results (borders, shadows, etc).

There is an option in attributes for size inferred (simulated metrics), then what i do is select a button (show the size inspector) and use the Autosizing to manage position for multiple screen sizes.


Actually idk about the autoscaling and the bad results, i just saw it on google (create a retina image, then in size inspector u resize it to non-retina size).

You can try it and gave us a feedback

Apple wont block it for that issue. my first app have only retina images and everything is scaled by code. I didn't care about it at all... but that was my app with my money lol (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=851cRnruZds)
I'm not using autolayout. Instead, I used the vertical autosizing in the view inspector and when using the simulator, everything seems to work fine when scaled down to the 3.5 inch display, it just makes everything a bit thinner vertically. I don't have a 4 or 4s at hand to try this but ill just have to hope that it works the same in practice.

I've got no non-retina art. My app is more of a calculator type app so i don't have pictures or anything that would get messed up when scaled down. It would just be text etc that isn't as sharp I suppose. I hope it doesn't cause any problems when scaled!
thedon1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad Mini Retina - Dead pixels on one, yellow/pink screen on the other Valkyria iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Dec 16, 2013 05:46 AM
Retina MBP Screen Scaling in Windows hatchoo MacBook Pro 3 Mar 24, 2013 10:46 AM
Retina Repairs: The Neverending Story of dead pixels, IR and keyboard-to-screen marks Edswr MacBook Pro 5 Sep 3, 2012 10:32 PM
Resolved: Change OSX scaling mode for retina-screen with non-retina content MDFang MacBook Pro 13 Aug 26, 2012 08:23 AM
Scaling NON-Retina MacBook Pro Screen topocalypse MacBook Pro 1 Jul 13, 2012 08:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC