What is the best Windows option for my setup? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2012, 04:35 PM   #1
air23cary
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
What is the best Windows option for my setup?

I trade options and am switching to a new broker that uses a Windows-based platform for trading. My hardware setup is a fully loaded 2012 MBA and two thunderbolt displays. I would like to be able to run Windows on one or both screens while keeping OSX up and running. What is my best choice....VMware or Parallels? As far as the trading platform, is there any reason to question whether a MBA would be powerful enough to run it? Is running Windows going to slow down the MBA?
air23cary is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:16 PM   #2
-Concept-
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In front of a computer. Any computer.
Parallels has a really nice GUI and is easy to use, setup just takes a while and when it has errors, it doesn't report what the errors are. It rarely does, however, and I like it a lot. As long as you have enough memory and you want to avoid Boot Camp, I'd advocate Parallels.
__________________
I love this fruit.
-Concept- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:36 PM   #3
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 603
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
VMware Fusion has far better stability. If you have enough RAM, it should be fine. Parallels is very flaky and isn't as solid and stable as Fusion.
__________________
YouTube | @beautifulcode
Mac Pro | Thunderbolt Display | iPhone 5 | iPad mini | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme | iPad signed by Steve Wozniak
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 04:35 PM   #4
charlien
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowLeopard2008 View Post
VMware Fusion has far better stability. If you have enough RAM, it should be fine. Parallels is very flaky and isn't as solid and stable as Fusion.
I disagree. I run Parallels daily without issue. The only issue I have with Parallels is they update more often than VMware and when you update all the virtual machine tools need to be up dated. I have 5 virtual machines so it is a process.
charlien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 05:01 PM   #5
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 603
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlien View Post
I disagree. I run Parallels daily without issue. The only issue I have with Parallels is they update more often than VMware and when you update all the virtual machine tools need to be up dated. I have 5 virtual machines so it is a process.
VMware's underlying technologies are used in their business/enterprise products that are used by Fortune 500 companies. Some of these products I work with every day. I find Parallels has better graphics performance but Fusion is far more stable and reliable. I have had several Parallels VMs corrupt across 3 versions of the software. But on all Fusion versions, I have yet to have a single corrupt VM.
__________________
YouTube | @beautifulcode
Mac Pro | Thunderbolt Display | iPhone 5 | iPad mini | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme | iPad signed by Steve Wozniak
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 07:04 PM   #6
vistadude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Running two OS's could certainly slow down your computer, but not a lot if you have a fast processor and enough RAM. Running two monitors can also do the same thing.

I ran parallels and a couple programs with parallels and didn't get any slow down on the mac os side (it was an imac from 2010 or 2011 with 8 GB ram). Parallels or windows never crashed, the only thing I didn't like is that most keyboard shortcuts would not work within windows, which really slowed me down. I was about 5 times slower on a mac than on a windows machine because of the shortcuts.

On the other hand, I would rather have installed Fusion, but our IT department preferred parallels, probably out of cost reasons or preferred vendors agreements. A better option if you have the money is to use two computers, a pc and a mac, with synergy to share the keyboard and mouse.
vistadude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 09:44 PM   #7
air23cary
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by vistadude View Post
Running two OS's could certainly slow down your computer, but not a lot if you have a fast processor and enough RAM. Running two monitors can also do the same thing.

I ran parallels and a couple programs with parallels and didn't get any slow down on the mac os side (it was an imac from 2010 or 2011 with 8 GB ram). Parallels or windows never crashed, the only thing I didn't like is that most keyboard shortcuts would not work within windows, which really slowed me down. I was about 5 times slower on a mac than on a windows machine because of the shortcuts.

On the other hand, I would rather have installed Fusion, but our IT department preferred parallels, probably out of cost reasons or preferred vendors agreements. A better option if you have the money is to use two computers, a pc and a mac, with synergy to share the keyboard and mouse.
Does synergy work well? Can you tell the difference between one and two computers?
air23cary is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 04:43 PM   #8
vistadude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Synergy does really work well, we use it one one of our setups that has 5 computers and 7 monitors (5 pcs, 1 mac, 1 linux) and you can easily move between all screens without any issues. Even if you restart one of the computers, after a few seconds, you have full mouse and keyboard control.
vistadude is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it somehow an option to buy iMacs with Windows instead of Mac OS X? LOLZpersonok iMac 30 Jan 2, 2014 12:51 PM
No 'sleep' option in Windows 7 on MBP. Braniff747SP Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Feb 7, 2013 06:08 PM
Restore windows when quitting option missing brewster1134 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Sep 9, 2012 04:23 AM
no Windows Disc Option On Startup RushRealSlow Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Jul 31, 2012 08:41 PM
Someone please help me. Windows bootcamp boot option disappeared! Clark44 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Jul 24, 2012 07:16 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC