Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 27, 2012, 10:20 AM   #1
PatriotInvasion
macrumors 65816
 
PatriotInvasion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Using 2 disks with Time Machine

I just purchased a LaCie Thunderbolt drive and want to use it with Time Machine along with my current Time Capsule. When I set this up in the Time Machine preferences it says that Time Machine will take turns backing up to each drive. I have 2 questions about this:

1.) Will Time Machine do an official "initial backup" to my LaCie drive or just and intermittent back up that would typically happen on my Time Capsule?

2.) What if it's the LaCie drive's turn for back up but it's not connected to my Mac? Will the back up fail or will it default back to my Time Capsule?
__________________
27-inch iMac [Late 2013, 3.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i5, 8GB of memory, 256GB of flash storage], iPad Air [16GB, silver], iPhone 6 Plus [64GB, space gray], Time Capsule [1TB, A1355, 3rd Generation]
PatriotInvasion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:20 PM   #2
Weaselboy
Moderator
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
1. The two backup sets will both be complete and identical. Each will be a full backup.

2. It will not do anything. It will just keep backing up to the TC until the next time you connect the LaCie, at which time that backup will be updated.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:28 PM   #3
PatriotInvasion
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
PatriotInvasion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
1. The two backup sets will both be complete and identical. Each will be a full backup.

2. It will not do anything. It will just keep backing up to the TC until the next time you connect the LaCie, at which time that backup will be updated.
Ok thanks. What about transferring individual files from the Time Capsule to/from the LaCie drive. Doing so over the wifi network takes forever. Am I able to connect directly via USB in the the back of the Time Capsule for faster (albeit USB 2.0 on the TC) transfers?
__________________
27-inch iMac [Late 2013, 3.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i5, 8GB of memory, 256GB of flash storage], iPad Air [16GB, silver], iPhone 6 Plus [64GB, space gray], Time Capsule [1TB, A1355, 3rd Generation]
PatriotInvasion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 02:06 PM   #4
Weaselboy
Moderator
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatriotInvasion View Post
Ok thanks. What about transferring individual files from the Time Capsule to/from the LaCie drive. Doing so over the wifi network takes forever. Am I able to connect directly via USB in the the back of the Time Capsule for faster (albeit USB 2.0 on the TC) transfers?
Not really. If you connect the LaCie to the TC directly they will both be seen my the Mac as network drives. So any files copied from one to the other don't really go direct from the TC to the LaCie like you would think. They will go over the network through the Mac, then to the other disk. So you will still be limited by your network.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 10:50 PM   #5
PatriotInvasion
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
PatriotInvasion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Not really. If you connect the LaCie to the TC directly they will both be seen my the Mac as network drives. So any files copied from one to the other don't really go direct from the TC to the LaCie like you would think. They will go over the network through the Mac, then to the other disk. So you will still be limited by your network.
Ok, thanks. That kind of stinks. I think Apple should update the Time Capsule to function as both NAS and direct connect external storage in a more compact package. That would be ideal.
__________________
27-inch iMac [Late 2013, 3.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i5, 8GB of memory, 256GB of flash storage], iPad Air [16GB, silver], iPhone 6 Plus [64GB, space gray], Time Capsule [1TB, A1355, 3rd Generation]
PatriotInvasion is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine problem: how can I manually transfer my Time Machine files to a new user Lucagfc OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Apr 17, 2014 03:44 PM
Getting annoying error message with two Time Machine disks dborja OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Dec 2, 2013 03:52 PM
Time Machine SuperDuper - incremental backups taking an exxcessive amount of time sputacus Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 27, 2013 07:44 AM
New airport time capsule, can the initial time machine backup done via USB? riverwater Mac Peripherals 4 Jun 17, 2013 10:14 AM
Time Machine Preference In Time Machine, macswitcha2 Mac Basics and Help 1 Aug 2, 2012 06:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC