Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2012, 03:12 AM   #26
Maven1975
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr MM View Post
actually no. there is around a 30% difference from the HD4000 in the ulv cpus than from the standard voltage ones, they cant maintain the clocks, they oscilate, aside that the clocks are lower, sometimes this makes a good difference and in other times barely
While you are absolutely right and technically correct, I did not see these results.

On the other hand, the office Sony Z uses a standard CPU clocked roughly the same "Dual Core i5 / HD4000" and it performed much better than the rMBP 13" under bootcamp with the same drivers installed.

Lubbosfan Control was even used because I thought it might be a throttling issue.
Maven1975 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 03:46 AM   #27
Barna Biro
macrumors 6502a
 
Barna Biro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: LU, Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maven1975 View Post
On the other hand, the office Sony Z uses a standard CPU clocked roughly the same "Dual Core i5 / HD4000" and it performed much better than the rMBP 13" under bootcamp with the same drivers installed.
Ehm... I kinda find that hard to believe.
Any proper numbers to back those statements up?
... or are they also based on what you "see"?
__________________
13" Macbook Pro with Retina Display, 2.9Ghz, 768GB SSD
iPad 4 ( white and silver ), 64GB, WiFi + Cellular
iPhone 5 ( white and silver ), 64GB
Barna Biro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 03:59 AM   #28
Maven1975
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barna Biro View Post
Ehm... I kinda find that hard to believe.
Any proper numbers to back those statements up?
... or are they also based on what you "see"?
Of course its based on what I see.

I own a 13" rMBP like you.(15" rMBP as well) Black Ops 2 was the game we tested and I was "Seeing" a 10-15 FPS swing at 1280x720p.

One thing I did not do was reset the SMC. I did not think the bug effected the 13". I know it creeps up on my 15" a few times per week.

Its a fine machine, but a decent gaming laptop she's not.
Maven1975 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:05 AM   #29
Barna Biro
macrumors 6502a
 
Barna Biro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: LU, Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maven1975 View Post
Its a fine machine, but a decent gaming laptop she's not.
I didn't argue that it's a great gaming laptop. It was never designed to be one... What I was arguing is that the Sony Z configured roughly the same "performs much better". If it "performs much better", for sure it's not configured "roughly the same" as the 13" rMBP. A few frames here and there are fine / expected, but a 10-15 fps difference just doesn't fit the picture with the current information.
__________________
13" Macbook Pro with Retina Display, 2.9Ghz, 768GB SSD
iPad 4 ( white and silver ), 64GB, WiFi + Cellular
iPhone 5 ( white and silver ), 64GB
Barna Biro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:10 AM   #30
Maven1975
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barna Biro View Post
I didn't argue that it's a great gaming laptop. It was never designed to be one... What I was arguing is that the Sony Z configured roughly the same "performs much better". If it "performs much better", for sure it's not configured "roughly the same" as the 13" rMBP. A few frames here and there are fine / expected, but a 10-15 fps difference just doesn't fit the picture with the current information.
Apple has done some funny stuff to their hardware lately. Had a 2012 i7 MBA that would not turbo boost in Windows as well. Took hacking around and a command lines upon every boot to enable it. Perhaps there is more to this story than meets the eye.
Maven1975 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 09:15 AM   #31
nobackup
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maven1975 View Post
Apple has done some funny stuff to their hardware lately. Had a 2012 i7 MBA that would not turbo boost in Windows as well. Took hacking around and a command lines upon every boot to enable it. Perhaps there is more to this story than meets the eye.
what "hacking" solved it .. perhaps we could repeat here ?
nobackup is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC