Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 27, 2012, 04:22 PM   #1
eroxx
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Time Machine question if number of drives isn't the same?

Right now I have a 2010 imac with TWO internal drives. Both are backed up to my time machine.

My new imac will have only one drive (fusion drive). Is there anything specific I need to do regarding the time machine restore so that my apps and data play nice with each other?
eroxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 08:09 PM   #2
switon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
RE: TM restore...

Hi eroxx,

I assume that you are going to just restore your user accounts and not the system from your TM backups, correct? In which case, use the Migration Assistant and only transfer your user accounts and any other content your might have, such as photos, music, movies, etc. Do not restore the system directories from your TM backups. I don't think you should have any problems as long as your new iMac with FUD is large enough in capacity to store all of your content and user accounts from your older 2010 iMac.

Good luck and enjoy your new machine,
Switon

P.S. Let us know how you like the Fusion drive...they are new enough that those of us without one are still interested in how well they work. Thanks.
switon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:28 AM   #3
eroxx
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Hmmm, now I'm even more confused.

I'll want my new mac to look (more or less) exactly like my old, I figured Time Machine was the easiest way to do that. I've never used Migration assistant.

I have a TON of apps/menu bar icons/etc on this, and thought time machine wouldb e the easiest way???
eroxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:44 AM   #4
benwiggy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Migration Assistant is an automatic utility, which can use a TM backup, or another Mac directly, as its data source. It's designed by Apple expressly for the purpose of ... migrating!
It allows you to specify which things are brought over an which are not; it also may perform some housekeeping and be a little intelligent about what to bring over.

As said, you don't want to restore the OS from your previous Mac onto your new machine!

MA generally handles most things well: some pro apps will need reinstalling. I had trouble with Creative Suite, and Logic 8 wanted its serial number re-entered. But apart from that, my whole setup was transferred effortlessly. All apps, settings, libraries, files, etc.

As for Fusion Drives: I love mine. I'm well over the size of the SSD, and I can't notice any speed lag when the hard drive is accessed.
benwiggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:49 AM   #5
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
This is encouraging. My Apple Guru has been trying to get me to us MA for two years without success....This time I'm going to bite I think...What's always put me off the concept:

1) Speed.Wifi is slow as, and I can perform copy much more quickly from my R4.

2) Custom installation... I prefer to have control over what gets copied.


Having said all that, and with GBXX of stuff on my TC that has never actually been accessed but for a couple of times looking for a specific file, I think the time has come to take the plunge.

My Current Imac is connected to the TC via an ethernet cable. The new one ( 3TB FUD BTO ) will arrive in January.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 06:24 AM   #6
switon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
RE: MA and TM...

Quote:
Originally Posted by eroxx View Post
Hmmm, now I'm even more confused.

I'll want my new mac to look (more or less) exactly like my old, I figured Time Machine was the easiest way to do that. I've never used Migration assistant.

I have a TON of apps/menu bar icons/etc on this, and thought time machine wouldb e the easiest way???
Hi eroxx,

As benwiggy has already pointed out, MA can use your TM backups to restore all of your apps/menu bar items and personal preferences. You just should not restore the OS from your TM backup, and MA will assist you in the transfer and will try not to let you restore the TM backup's OS over the OS that is present on your new iMac. I believe that you will find the MA quite useful for your restoration task, that's all.

Good luck,
Switon

PS: benwiggy: thanks for the info on your FUD...the 4GB reserved SSD write space must work well ...

PPS: MA does not really help with restoring servers, however, but maybe servers should be restored/transferred manually anyway.
switon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 06:26 AM   #7
satcomer
macrumors 68040
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
The first time Machine backup will backup the whole drive! The good wireless backup should first use an Ethernet cable for the first backup and then with the small backup changes can be done on wireless. Try that first to see if it works for you.
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 07:43 AM   #8
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by satcomer View Post
The first time Machine backup will backup the whole drive! The good wireless backup should first use an Ethernet cable for the first backup and then with the small backup changes can be done on wireless. Try that first to see if it works for you.
Oh it works...It's just slow...I'm spoiled by working with Thunderbolt data transfer speeds...I guess patience is a virtue I don't have!
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time machine two different drives help armandxp OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Apr 1, 2014 03:12 PM
Isn't Time Machine supposed to manage HD space? NunoBerny OS X Mavericks (10.9) 5 Mar 29, 2014 01:20 PM
Help! Deleted iCal & Time Machine isn't working... anon27 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 May 25, 2013 09:11 AM
Oops! Changed my Time Machine backup HD name; now it isn't recognized jason.siegel Mac Peripherals 1 Dec 26, 2012 03:15 PM
Two Time Machine drives? cameronjpu OS X 3 Jun 19, 2012 11:45 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC