Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2012, 06:49 AM   #1
sman789
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Has anyone used an iPhone 5 nano-sim in an Android?

And most importantly, does it utilize LTE if the phone supports it? I have an iPhone unlimited data plan on at&t back from the first generation. Now I have my iPhone 4 micro-sim in my Gnexus even though it calls for a standard sim size. I would think android phones that have a tray rather than a slot, say the Nexus 4(tray) and Note II (slot) would be a factor. A tray would have a smaller nano-sim bouncing around but the slot keeps pressure on the card.
It's nice to the flexibility having one card that works in all new phones.
sman789 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 07:25 AM   #2
Jibbajabba
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Not sure about the US but I am using a I5 nanosim in an adapter in a S3 just fine.

As for connectivity - we don't have LTE but with my current iPhone plan I am only getting 3G funnily enough but HSPA+ on my S3 ...
Jibbajabba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:14 AM   #3
tbayrgs
macrumors 68040
 
tbayrgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by sman789 View Post
And most importantly, does it utilize LTE if the phone supports it? I have an iPhone unlimited data plan on at&t back from the first generation. Now I have my iPhone 4 micro-sim in my Gnexus even though it calls for a standard sim size. I would think android phones that have a tray rather than a slot, say the Nexus 4(tray) and Note II (slot) would be a factor. A tray would have a smaller nano-sim bouncing around but the slot keeps pressure on the card.
It's nice to the flexibility having one card that works in all new phones.
I am using my iPhone 5's nanosim in my Nexus 4 with an Noosy adapter with no issues--just swap the nanosim as needed. And even though the Nexus 4 doesn't support AT&T LTE, it wasn't necessary to contact them to change my data plan as many are reporting, though I did have to manual change the APN to achieve optimal data speeds.
tbayrgs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:30 AM   #4
daveathall
macrumors 68000
 
daveathall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Yorkshire
I'm using my ex iPhone 5 nano sim with an adaptor in my S3, works perfectly. We don't have LTE here but it should work fine.
daveathall is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:39 AM   #5
cheezeit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Everything will work fine just be careful with adapters and ripping out the sim pins
cheezeit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 09:16 AM   #6
bembol
macrumors 6502a
 
bembol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: iCloud
I have Noosy adapter, no issues when I used on my Note 2.

I have to say it, there's no need for it especially when Super Phones are getting bigger.
__________________
SHIFT_
27" iMac Late-2012 Base w/32GB RAM & 3TB Fusion | White Samsung Galaxy S5 64GB Space Grey iPad Air LTE
bembol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 03:07 PM   #7
ichii
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Just got a nokia lumia 920, had a iPhone 4s, i don't have any LTE service. My brother with a iPhone 5 gets LTE. Also does anyone know if my unlimited data plan gets carried over to a non iPhone phone?[COLOR="#808080"]

----------
__________________
MacBook Pro
iPad 2 16gb
OnePlus One

Last edited by ichii; Dec 28, 2012 at 03:08 PM. Reason: Dup
ichii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:02 AM   #8
sman789
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichii View Post
Just got a nokia lumia 920, had a iPhone 4s, i don't have any LTE service. My brother with a iPhone 5 gets LTE. Also does anyone know if my unlimited data plan gets carried over to a non iPhone phone?[COLOR="#808080"]

----------
My iphone unlimited plan is fine on my Galaxy Nexus. But I am using the iPhone 4 sim.

I'm planning to move up to the LTE iPhone 5 nano Sim, I believe I can't actually change my data plan to a non-iPhone one without price changes, then pop it into an LTE android phone.
__________________
Chromebook 11.6" 3G
Galaxy Nexus 16gb
Nexus 7 8gb
From Apples to Googles
sman789 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 06:33 PM   #9
ichii
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
My unlimited plan transferred over from my iPhone 4s, I just had to go to AT&T and explained to them I got a new phone, but I'm not getting LTE signal. They had to update their system to allow my phone to get LTE. Returned the Nokia and switch to Optimus G. I really miss my iPhone, but I was really getting bored of the OS.
__________________
MacBook Pro
iPad 2 16gb
OnePlus One
ichii is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up iPhone 5 without a SIM card...or Help me find a nano-SIM! turbodelta iPhone 5 Dec 7, 2012 04:52 PM
Micro-SIM, Nano-SIM, and now Pico-sim? sizzlin321 iPhone 5 Dec 6, 2012 08:20 PM
How to cut down and sand your SIM or Micro SIM to a Nano SIM for iPhone 5 codeus iPhone 7 Sep 14, 2012 09:06 PM
iPhone 5 - Hypothetically if it does have a nano sim, over a micro sim.. leahpardo iPhone 8 Sep 6, 2012 09:35 AM
Claimed SIM Tray for Next-Generation iPhone Points to Nano-SIM Standard MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 131 Aug 7, 2012 11:56 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC