Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2012, 06:49 AM   #1
sman789
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Has anyone used an iPhone 5 nano-sim in an Android?

And most importantly, does it utilize LTE if the phone supports it? I have an iPhone unlimited data plan on at&t back from the first generation. Now I have my iPhone 4 micro-sim in my Gnexus even though it calls for a standard sim size. I would think android phones that have a tray rather than a slot, say the Nexus 4(tray) and Note II (slot) would be a factor. A tray would have a smaller nano-sim bouncing around but the slot keeps pressure on the card.
It's nice to the flexibility having one card that works in all new phones.
sman789 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 07:25 AM   #2
Jibbajabba
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Not sure about the US but I am using a I5 nanosim in an adapter in a S3 just fine.

As for connectivity - we don't have LTE but with my current iPhone plan I am only getting 3G funnily enough but HSPA+ on my S3 ...
Jibbajabba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:14 AM   #3
tbayrgs
macrumors 68030
 
tbayrgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by sman789 View Post
And most importantly, does it utilize LTE if the phone supports it? I have an iPhone unlimited data plan on at&t back from the first generation. Now I have my iPhone 4 micro-sim in my Gnexus even though it calls for a standard sim size. I would think android phones that have a tray rather than a slot, say the Nexus 4(tray) and Note II (slot) would be a factor. A tray would have a smaller nano-sim bouncing around but the slot keeps pressure on the card.
It's nice to the flexibility having one card that works in all new phones.
I am using my iPhone 5's nanosim in my Nexus 4 with an Noosy adapter with no issues--just swap the nanosim as needed. And even though the Nexus 4 doesn't support AT&T LTE, it wasn't necessary to contact them to change my data plan as many are reporting, though I did have to manual change the APN to achieve optimal data speeds.
tbayrgs is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:30 AM   #4
daveathall
macrumors 68000
 
daveathall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Yorkshire
I'm using my ex iPhone 5 nano sim with an adaptor in my S3, works perfectly. We don't have LTE here but it should work fine.
daveathall is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:39 AM   #5
cheezeit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Everything will work fine just be careful with adapters and ripping out the sim pins
cheezeit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 09:16 AM   #6
bembol
macrumors 6502a
 
bembol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: iCloud
I have Noosy adapter, no issues when I used on my Note 2.

I have to say it, there's no need for it especially when Super Phones are getting bigger.
__________________
SHIFT_
27" iMac Late-2012 Base w/32GB RAM & 3TB Fusion | Black 32GB nexus 5 32GB Black iPad Air Wi-Fi
bembol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 03:07 PM   #7
ichii
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Just got a nokia lumia 920, had a iPhone 4s, i don't have any LTE service. My brother with a iPhone 5 gets LTE. Also does anyone know if my unlimited data plan gets carried over to a non iPhone phone?[COLOR="#808080"]

----------
__________________
MacBook Pro
iPad 2 16gb
iPhone 5

Last edited by ichii; Dec 28, 2012 at 03:08 PM. Reason: Dup
ichii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:02 AM   #8
sman789
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichii View Post
Just got a nokia lumia 920, had a iPhone 4s, i don't have any LTE service. My brother with a iPhone 5 gets LTE. Also does anyone know if my unlimited data plan gets carried over to a non iPhone phone?[COLOR="#808080"]

----------
My iphone unlimited plan is fine on my Galaxy Nexus. But I am using the iPhone 4 sim.

I'm planning to move up to the LTE iPhone 5 nano Sim, I believe I can't actually change my data plan to a non-iPhone one without price changes, then pop it into an LTE android phone.
__________________
Chromebook 11.6" 3G
Galaxy Nexus 16gb
Nexus 7 8gb
From Apples to Googles
sman789 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 06:33 PM   #9
ichii
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
My unlimited plan transferred over from my iPhone 4s, I just had to go to AT&T and explained to them I got a new phone, but I'm not getting LTE signal. They had to update their system to allow my phone to get LTE. Returned the Nokia and switch to Optimus G. I really miss my iPhone, but I was really getting bored of the OS.
__________________
MacBook Pro
iPad 2 16gb
iPhone 5
ichii is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC