Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 27, 2012, 01:39 PM   #1
navajarunner
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
AT&T rolling out multi-view update for Note 2!

Mine is downloading over the air right now. Never too late for a Christmas present. o<II:n{o}
navajarunner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 01:47 PM   #2
AutoUnion39
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Hopefully someone on XDA will roll this out to a custom S3 rom soon
AutoUnion39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 01:50 PM   #3
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoUnion39 View Post
Hopefully someone on XDA will roll this out to a custom S3 rom soon
It's been available for a while now. I was using it on Omega for my international S3. You can even flash a file to get all apps working with it.
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 02:04 PM   #4
AutoUnion39
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
It's been available for a while now. I was using it on Omega for my international S3. You can even flash a file to get all apps working with it.
Nothing yet for the AT&T variant. At least, I don't think so...

Lemme go check again
AutoUnion39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 02:21 PM   #5
F123D
macrumors 68040
 
F123D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
I saw the announcement yesterday. Still waiting for my update..
__________________
Jailbroken iPhone 3G -> Jailbroken iPhone 4 -> iPhone 5 -> Galaxy Note II -> Nexus 5
F123D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 05:01 PM   #6
cheezeit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Come on multi update!
cheezeit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 05:36 PM   #7
LSUtigers03
macrumors 68000
 
LSUtigers03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoUnion39 View Post
Nothing yet for the AT&T variant. At least, I don't think so...

Lemme go check again
If you find a rom let us know.
LSUtigers03 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 05:41 PM   #8
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoUnion39 View Post
Nothing yet for the AT&T variant. At least, I don't think so...

Lemme go check again
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSUtigers03 View Post
If you find a rom let us know.
This looks like it has it. I haven't tried it since I no longer own an S3 (I had an international one anyway)


Edit: you might wanna go through a few pages of the thread towards the end of it just to see what the state of that ROM is or make a nandroid and jump in. Actually make a nandroid either way

Edit 2: deleted link cause it was for S3 not Note 2.

Last edited by 3bs; Dec 27, 2012 at 08:40 PM.
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 05:55 PM   #9
cheezeit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I just flashed the international rom, the 7105. Pretty much stock firmware no att junk and has multi already.
cheezeit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 05:58 PM   #10
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezeit View Post
I just flashed the international rom, the 7105. Pretty much stock firmware no att junk and has multi already.
For me, I prefer my TouchWiz ROMs as close to stock as possible in terms of looks i.e. toggles, statusbar etc but with AOSP ROMs I don't mind.

Was the international ROM a port for the ATT version?
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 06:07 PM   #11
cheezeit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
For me, I prefer my TouchWiz ROMs as close to stock as possible in terms of looks i.e. toggles, statusbar etc but with AOSP ROMs I don't mind.

Was the international ROM a port for the ATT version?
Not even ported, they pretty much run the same hardware minus the radio. Once flashed its like your completely stock with no att boot up(stock Samsung) and no att apps. Plus whenever Samsung updates the note with something you'd get it instead of waiting for att. My only downside is no visual voicemail but I'm sure ill live
cheezeit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 06:35 PM   #12
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezeit View Post
Not even ported, they pretty much run the same hardware minus the radio. Once flashed its like your completely stock with no att boot up(stock Samsung) and no att apps. Plus whenever Samsung updates the note with something you'd get it instead of waiting for att. My only downside is no visual voicemail but I'm sure ill live
I'm pretty sure they use a different processor and the US versions have twice the RAM. Whether either have any effect I don't really know. If its running fine on your phone I guess you're OK but you should probably check to make sure that its OK to flash on your phone.

Edit: just realised this is for the Note 2 not the S3! oops

Last edited by 3bs; Dec 27, 2012 at 08:39 PM.
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 06:38 PM   #13
AutoUnion39
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
This looks like it has it. I haven't tried it since I no longer own an S3 (I had an international one anyway)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ight=multiview

Edit: you might wanna go through a few pages of the thread towards the end of it just to see what the state of that ROM is or make a nandroid and jump in. Actually make a nandroid either way
Thanks for the link! I might try it tomorrow.
AutoUnion39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 06:51 PM   #14
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoUnion39 View Post
Thanks for the link! I might try it tomorrow.
Good luck and post back with how it goes so the others know if it's worth flashing.

Edit: it turns out I thought this thread was about the S3 not the Note 2. Don't use that.

Last edited by 3bs; Dec 27, 2012 at 08:40 PM.
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 08:36 PM   #15
LIVEFRMNYC
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
This looks like it has it. I haven't tried it since I no longer own an S3 (I had an international one anyway)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ight=multiview

Edit: you might wanna go through a few pages of the thread towards the end of it just to see what the state of that ROM is or make a nandroid and jump in. Actually make a nandroid either way
I had a problem with this rom. Uninstalled about a month a ago. Problem was not receiving calls. It would only receive calls with LTE off. This just happened out of nowhere. First several weeks it ran flawless. It does have the pop up browser but does not have multiview and is probably not going to be updated in awhile according to dev's posts.
LIVEFRMNYC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 08:46 PM   #16
cheezeit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
Good luck and post back with how it goes so the others know if it's worth flashing.

Edit: it turns out I thought this thread was about the S3 not the Note 2. Don't use that.
Lol. Yeah definitely would have been screwed if it were a s3
cheezeit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 01:59 AM   #17
Zwhaler
macrumors 603
 
Zwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Anybody here get the update yet?
Zwhaler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 11:27 AM   #18
hyteckit
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
With multi-view and a stylus, I really want a 7" to 7.9" Galaxy Note. The 5.5" Note isn't doing it for me.

I just turned on my Note 2 after not being off for more than a week. I see Merry Christmas live background on my GO Launcher. Hmm..


Anyway. No update yet.

Says "Current software is up to date"
hyteckit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 11:49 AM   #19
daveathall
macrumors 68000
 
daveathall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Yorkshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyteckit View Post
With multi-view and a stylus, I really want a 7" to 7.9" Galaxy Note. The 5.5" Note isn't doing it for me.

I just turned on my Note 2 after not being off for more than a week. I see Merry Christmas live background on my GO Launcher. Hmm..


Anyway. No update yet.

Says "Current software is up to date"
That was so annoying, that Christmas overlay, had to go into the Go launcher settings to uncheck it.
daveathall is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 12:25 PM   #20
Tones2
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
No update yet in Chicago. I checked yesterday and today. Unfortunately, AT&T only allows you to check ONE time a day (Grrr...) and then won't let you check again for another 24 hours. I've also heard that it's WiFi only but can't verify this.
Tones2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 01:25 PM   #21
siiip5
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Got the update yesterday for AT&T version of Note2 here in California.

All I can see that is changed is Multi-view. Everything else looks identical. Not all apps can do multi-view either. If an app supports this feature, you swipe from the left and all apps are displayed on the left hand side of the screen, which you can scroll up and down.

You basically tap on the app icon on the elft and drag it to either the top or bottom of the screen. Works very fluidly and is a pretty good sized window. You can very easily watch a youtube vid on top and web surf on the bottom. or do a google search for info on top, while typing a response to this forum.

I am digging it. To bad it is my wife's phone. I have my tiny little screen S3.
siiip5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:05 PM   #22
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIVEFRMNYC View Post
I had a problem with this rom. Uninstalled about a month a ago. Problem was not receiving calls. It would only receive calls with LTE off. This just happened out of nowhere. First several weeks it ran flawless. It does have the pop up browser but does not have multiview and is probably not going to be updated in awhile according to dev's posts.
Seems like the international S3 has more dev support. Omega was an amazingly stable and smooth ROM and indie the developer responds to posts and requests.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezeit View Post
Lol. Yeah definitely would have been screwed if it were a s3
Sorry for the confusion guys! Hopefully anyone who went to the link I posted noticed it was for the S3
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 07:05 PM   #23
LIVEFRMNYC
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
Seems like the international S3 has more dev support. Omega was an amazingly stable and smooth ROM and indie the developer responds to posts and requests.
In this case the dev was pretty cool and explained he had other matters at hand. He did state he wil eventualy become more active again.
LIVEFRMNYC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 07:22 PM   #24
siiip5
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
Seems like the international S3 has more dev support. Omega was an amazingly stable and smooth ROM and indie the developer responds to posts and requests.



Sorry for the confusion guys! Hopefully anyone who went to the link I posted noticed it was for the S3
I was gonna say that development fir the N American S3 is huge. XDA forums has tons of ROMs for our phone. Task and Ktoonzes AOKP ROM, CM10 and JellyBam are the 3 best and most stable imo. (4.1.x versions, not the new 4.2.x versions.)
siiip5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 07:59 PM   #25
cheezeit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by siiip5 View Post
Got the update yesterday for AT&T version of Note2 here in California.

All I can see that is changed is Multi-view. Everything else looks identical. Not all apps can do multi-view either. If an app supports this feature, you swipe from the left and all apps are displayed on the left hand side of the screen, which you can scroll up and down.

You basically tap on the app icon on the elft and drag it to either the top or bottom of the screen. Works very fluidly and is a pretty good sized window. You can very easily watch a youtube vid on top and web surf on the bottom. or do a google search for info on top, while typing a response to this forum.

I am digging it. To bad it is my wife's phone. I have my tiny little screen S3.
There are some tweaks, if your rooted of course, that allows you to be able to make all apps work in multview
cheezeit is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC