Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 27, 2012, 10:42 AM   #1
pullman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: '(,,,,)l
All devices switch to another network's router but remain on my SSID

This began today and it is driving me nuts.

I have several devices connected to my wifi - two iphones, an Air, a Mac Pro and an Apple TV. Today they developed connection problems.

Looking into their settings I see that, while they remain on my network (and thus display its SSID), they leave my router (192.168.1.254) and go to another router, 192.168.2.254. Btw, both routers have the same subnet mask.

Whenever they are on that other router (again, showing my network's SSID), I can log in to the other router because there is no password protecting it.

This router-switching is random it seems, though they all seem to prefer to go to the other router. I have tried renewing leases which sometimes sends the devices back to my router.

I have no idea who's router it is otherwise I'd have knocked on their door and told them to effing secure their network.

What can I do to force my devices to always stick to my network??

TIA
/p
__________________
MP(3,1) 2.8GHz 20GB S.Tempo Pro (Intel 520 stripe) 23 ACD || MBPr(11,1) 2,4GHz 16GB 256GB
When times are at their darkest, it takes a brave man to kick back and party
pullman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 03:23 PM   #2
switon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
RE another subnet...

Hi pullman,

Short Answer: Switch to a different subnet, say 10.0.0.0/24.

Shorter Answer: Switch your subnet from 192.168.1.0/16 to 192.168.1.0/24.

Now let me ask, is the other router/wifi extending your subnet? Can you see their devices on the 192.168.2.0/24 subnet? Do you see their zeroconf (mDNS, Bonjour) broadcasts? If their router is unprotected, then why not reconfigure their router? (Okay, so maybe this is not the most "neighborly" thing to do, but...)

Regards,
Switon
switon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 09:00 PM   #3
lostless
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
It seems both routers have the exact same SSID. You need to change your SSID. If both have the same ssid, the devices has no idea what router to go to.
lostless is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 09:37 PM   #4
jared_kipe
macrumors 68030
 
jared_kipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jared_kipe
There are two very possible scenarios here.

#1. Your hypothesis. That your devices are joining the wrong wireless network with an identical SSID.

This can be fixed by simply changing your SSID, and enabling encryption (so that your devices won't join the wrong one if someone is maliciously duplicating your SSID.
This could also be verified by using a wireless network sniffer like iStumbler. (to look for two different MAC addresses broadcasting your SSID)

#2. My hypothesis. You have a rogue DHCP server on your network and it is handing out a different subnet and presumably different gateway to any clients it answers. This hypothesis is backed up by the fact that sometimes you can 'renew DHCP lease' and get back into the subnet you are expecting.

This can be fixed by tracking down any devices that may be acting as a DHCP (wireless AP extender maybe?) and either disabling their DHCP or switching the primary router (the router you know about) to the same subnet (hopefully without overlapping client ranges).

Technically #1 and #2 could be slightly overlapping too. For example someone might be joining your network, and either accidentally, or maliciously, running a DHCP server and tricking your devices into their subnet.

EITHER WAY:
Make a new SSID, turn on 'WPA2 Personal' with a nice strong password. Slowly start switching devices over to the new network as needed and watch for the shenanigans to start again. At that point, either one of your devices is acting as a DHCP server, or someone is hardwired into your network doing stuff that I would assume is malicious.
jared_kipe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a router, switch or neither ? vim147 Mac Peripherals 12 Mar 7, 2014 06:44 AM
Unknown Network SSID showing theslaz Mac Peripherals 6 Dec 22, 2013 08:17 AM
Apple devices having trouble with new router from ATT Uverse. had0ukenn MacBook Pro 9 Sep 4, 2013 06:26 PM
All iPads: Logitech easy-switch keyboards: Are there competing devices? ozaz iPad Accessories 1 May 19, 2013 07:32 AM
Do I need a switch or router? macstatic Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 31 Aug 23, 2012 01:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC