Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 29, 2012, 09:38 PM   #351
AidenShaw
macrumors G5
 
AidenShaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The Peninsula
An honest question - can anyone with one of these systems describe what it looks like to the user?

Is the dual-partition nature of the fused drive visible, or is there a logical volume manager layer so that the user only sees the 1.128 TB volume?

Windows NT has had a logical volume manager since forever that shows the users a logical view of storage that's quite different from the actual physical view.

For example, on my home PC I have a 12 TB volume for virtual machine images. I have a second 12 TB volume where I mirror the virtual machine images.

When I look at the filesystems from the user view, I see two 12 TB disks. (attached image) There's nothing visible at the user level to distinguish these disks from a real 12 TB drive.

When I look at the disks from the administrator level DISKMGMT utility, however, I see that each 12 TB volume is really a RAID-0 stripe set of four 3TB disks. (attached thumbnail - but I only show 4 of the 8 drives)

Does the Apple OSX user see a single 1.128 TB volume unless they open root-level tools?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	lvm2.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	51.5 KB
ID:	373447  
Attached Images
 
__________________
6 October 2014 - the day that the debate about marriage equality ended. And equality prevailed.
AidenShaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 05:54 AM   #352
perldude69
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
OCZ 1 TB Colossus LT 3.5 Solid State Drive

I think it would be awesome if Apple put a 1 TB OCZ Colossus LT 3.5 Solid State Drive in their iMacs. I have about 400 GB of data on my 2009 iMac, and 1 TB would suffice for all of my data storage needs. Anything above and beyond would go on external storage.
perldude69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 06:06 AM   #353
tardypooper
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
i don't know about you guys, but since this is more of a software thing that something that takes place inside the machine itself, I was wishing it was possible to modify the software to present both drives as 2 separate volumes instead.

While this is good technology in action, somehow i just don't like having the control over which things I want taking priority over the others in my SSD. Btw, does anyone know if the 21.5" iMac is user-upgradable in terms of it's Hard Drive? I heard you can't upgrade it's RAM because it's soldered to the mother board.
tardypooper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 06:23 AM   #354
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregwyattjr View Post
This feature is perfect during this HD to SDD transitional period. It'll keep things affordable while still supplying great performance.
I think that's the most accurate and sensible comment I've read here all year.! It will indeed allow for complete transition when larger and more reliable SSD's are available, tested and pass Apple's R and D procedures where are tough.

A buddy is going to buy an imac with the 1TB Fusion drive as soon as they go on sale...(Probably next Monday, but don't quote me on this) So will get a chance to see how well they perform, and how reliable they prove to be. My own major upgrade date is early spring next year, and the FD will have a big bearing on what I buy then. A 27" maxed out imac as I have now, or a Pro...Personally I think the Pro may well be dead, but this isn't the right place to discuss that one.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 07:00 AM   #355
djrod
macrumors 6502a
 
djrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madrid - Spain
Quote:
Originally Posted by tardypooper View Post
i don't know about you guys, but since this is more of a software thing that something that takes place inside the machine itself, I was wishing it was possible to modify the software to present both drives as 2 separate volumes instead.

While this is good technology in action, somehow i just don't like having the control over which things I want taking priority over the others in my SSD. Btw, does anyone know if the 21.5" iMac is user-upgradable in terms of it's Hard Drive? I heard you can't upgrade it's RAM because it's soldered to the mother board.
Nonsense, it's not soldered, it's just not easily accessible like it is now, you need to open the iMac to change the RAM just as you need to change the HD
__________________
404 : Signature not found
djrod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 07:19 AM   #356
tardypooper
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by djrod View Post
Nonsense, it's not soldered, it's just not easily accessible like it is now, you need to open the iMac to change the RAM just as you need to change the HD
Really? I thought I saw on BGR that states that "
The 21.5-inch iMac now joins the MacBook Air and 13 and 15-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display as computers with soldered RAM. "

Link: http://bgr.com/2012/10/24/apple-imac-non-upgradable-ram/
tardypooper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 04:33 PM   #357
djrod
macrumors 6502a
 
djrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madrid - Spain
Quote:
Originally Posted by tardypooper View Post
Really? I thought I saw on BGR that states that "
The 21.5-inch iMac now joins the MacBook Air and 13 and 15-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display as computers with soldered RAM. "

Link: http://bgr.com/2012/10/24/apple-imac...pgradable-ram/
I was pretty sure I read it somewhere, but I can't find it, so maybe it was just wishful thinking

We'll have to wait for the iFixit tear down I guess
__________________
404 : Signature not found
djrod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 10:53 PM   #358
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by tardypooper View Post
Really? I thought I saw on BGR that states that "
The 21.5-inch iMac now joins the MacBook Air and 13 and 15-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display as computers with soldered RAM. "

Link: http://bgr.com/2012/10/24/apple-imac...pgradable-ram/
BGR isn't an official source. From the designs they showed in the keynote and the specs described by Apple, it looks likely that the 21.5" iMacs do not have soldered RAM, but that it is simply not accessible via a memory door like previous models. That means it's not user-replaceable, but it may be replaceable/upgradeable by Apple Stores or Service Centers.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 12:07 AM   #359
tardypooper
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Boy am I relieved to hear that, I'm still pretty much contemplating between the 21.5" and 27" models though, heard OWC has released an update that Apple is further restricting the ability to upgrade hard drives and that's quite holding me back.
Link: http://blog.macsales.com/10146-apple-further-restricts-upgrade-options-on-new-imacs

Thanks for the heads up though
tardypooper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 12:37 AM   #360
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by tardypooper View Post
Boy am I relieved to hear that, I'm still pretty much contemplating between the 21.5" and 27" models though, heard OWC has released an update that Apple is further restricting the ability to upgrade hard drives and that's quite holding me back.
Link: http://blog.macsales.com/10146-apple...s-on-new-imacs

Thanks for the heads up though
That OWC article is from May 2011 ... and it is regarding the temp sensor of the disk drives which has been discussed in many threads here.
hfg is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 12:48 AM   #361
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by tardypooper View Post
i don't know about you guys, but since this is more of a software thing that something that takes place inside the machine itself, I was wishing it was possible to modify the software to present both drives as 2 separate volumes instead.

While this is good technology in action, somehow i just don't like having the control over which things I want taking priority over the others in my SSD. Btw, does anyone know if the 21.5" iMac is user-upgradable in terms of it's Hard Drive? I heard you can't upgrade it's RAM because it's soldered to the mother board.
If you look at the Unix "diskutil" commands built into the current version of OS X, you will see the commands which are used to create the CoreStorage volume and then join them into what is called "Fusion" by Apple. It appears that there are also the necessary commands to delete and revert the CoreStorage drives back to its native type.

So, if you order a system with a Fusion drive, it appears that you can "undo" the Fusion functionality and restore the system to separate drives as desired.


-howard
hfg is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 05:14 AM   #362
tardypooper
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
If you look at the Unix "diskutil" commands built into the current version of OS X, you will see the commands which are used to create the CoreStorage volume and then join them into what is called "Fusion" by Apple. It appears that there are also the necessary commands to delete and revert the CoreStorage drives back to its native type.

So, if you order a system with a Fusion drive, it appears that you can "undo" the Fusion functionality and restore the system to separate drives as desired.


-howard
oh thanks for the heads up Howard, it totally did clarify a lot for me, big thanks!
tardypooper is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:12 AM   #363
haravikk
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2005
Okay, so this feature has been out for a while now, but I've got a couple of questions since I still haven't yet made the switch:

Fusion Drive and RAID
Has anyone tried combining an AppleRAID of HDDs with an SSD into a Fusion Drive? My current setup is 4 HDD's in a RAID-0 for most files, and an SSD for OS and apps, but a Fusion Drive would be so much easier, but only if it will work as expected.

I'm assuming it should, as I think my SSD reads at about the same speed as a sustained read on a large file on the RAID-0 array, but should hopefully accelerate small file reads a lot better overall.

Fusion Drive and Metadata
Does anyone know where file-system metadata is stored on a Fusion Drive? Is it split between the two drives, or does the SSD accelerate file-system management as well? I'm hoping for the latter, as if CoreStorage kicks in at the block level (below the file system) then file-system data and the files themselves should be indistinguishable.

I don't suppose anyone knows for sure, or can devise a test to find out?
__________________
Hack Mini (2.7ghz, 3.9ghz turbo, HD4600, 16gb RAM, 500gb Samsung 840 EVO) in Akasa Euler case.
haravikk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 08:52 AM   #364
ipmasta
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Well

Quote:
Originally Posted by cgk.emu View Post
Until the hard drive in your time capsule fails....
The time capsule acts as a backup - therefore if your time capsule hard drive fails you still have your data on your computers hard drive - unless your just had the unlikely scenario that both your time capsule hard drive and your computers hard drive go out at the same time. Im just glad my time capsule is still under warranty.
ipmasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hybrid drive or fusion? Jacksonc MacBook 4 Feb 4, 2014 05:51 AM
Haswell iMac - Fusion drive or No Fusion drive? NbinHD iMac 14 Sep 24, 2013 03:00 PM
Fusion Drive VS Seagate Hybrid Freakstyles MacBook Pro 2 Jun 13, 2013 06:21 AM
Going from a rig with 7200 drive, will the 5400 side of a Fusion drive annoy me? Whackintosh iMac 9 Feb 25, 2013 05:46 PM
27in 2011 iMac Fusion Drive & removing optical drive ZMacintosh iMac 1 Jan 22, 2013 12:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC