Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 29, 2012, 05:40 PM   #1
Tofray
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Switch video game from iMac to external monitor?

Can someone tell me if this is possible?

I'm ordering a new 27" iMac and plan to use my 22" Dell Monitor as an external monitor. I plan to mount the external monitor approx. 10 feet away from the iMac (using displayport to HDMI adapter). I want to have the option to play video games on the iMac monitor, then move the game to the external monitor exclusively when I want to change sitting positions. (External monitor is across room). Is it easy to just move the game to each monitor anytime I want, or do I have to install some other software program to make that happen?

Thanks for any help!
Tofray is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 05:59 PM   #2
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Not possible. You can't connect any game consoles to your iMac.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com

Last edited by WilliamG; Dec 29, 2012 at 06:56 PM.
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 06:18 PM   #3
XionCore
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
BS. Of course you can connect the Dell via DP-HDMI-cable. However, you have to set the primary monitor in the Settings, so you have to quit and restart your game.
__________________
27" 2012 iMac i7,24 GB RAM, 768 GB SSD; Late-2010 13" MBP 2,4 GHz; iPhone 4S, iPad 4 4G, iPod Classic 120 GB
XionCore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 06:22 PM   #4
Tofray
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I know you can connect any HDMI monitor to the iMac using a Displayport to HDMI adapter...My question pertains to randomly moving a video game from one monitor to the other...and I'm referring to a Mac-based video game like World of Warcraft, not a console game like Xbox/PS3.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by XionCore View Post
BS. Of course you can connect the Dell via DP-HDMI-cable. However, you have to set the primary monitor in the Settings, so you have to quit and restart your game.
Thank you Xioncore, that's what I was looking for...so all I have to do is change the settings on the Mac each time I want to switch the game, and not have to install any secondary software right?
Tofray is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 06:24 PM   #5
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
Not possible.
Actually everything you said that is not possible is possible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
You can't connect the Dell monitor to your iMac.
The 27" iMac does support a second monitor and with the adapter he mentioned he can use the monitor he mentioned.


Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
You also can't connect any game consoles to your iMac.
The 27" iMac ThunderBolt port can be used as an input making the 27" iMac a monitor. With the right adapter he can connect a game console up to his iMac and use it as a display. I do not believe that the iMac will receive the audio from the game system though. I am not sure where you got that he want to hook a game system up to his iMac since he never said that is what he wanted to do.
brand is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 06:57 PM   #6
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Apologies for the confusion. I thought you meant using a game console with your new iMac. You absolutely CANNOT connect a game console, or any other non-Thunderbolt device to your new iMac. There are ways around it with capture cards, but.. not worth the effort and the results aren't good.

You can, however, connect the Dell monitor to your computer. The iMac supports display out to... whatever you like. It does not support display IN (except Thunderbolt devices), which a game console would be at this time.

I edited my original response to be clearer (since I mis-wrote my response anyway, hah!).

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by brand View Post
Actually everything you said that is not possible is possible.


The 27" iMac ThunderBolt port can be used as an input making the 27" iMac a monitor. With the right adapter he can connect a game console up to his iMac and use it as a display. I do not believe that the iMac will receive the audio from the game system though. I am not sure where you got that he want to hook a game system up to his iMac since he never said that is what he wanted to do.
Not true. Just so you know.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:06 PM   #7
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
Apologies for the confusion. I thought you meant using a game console with your new iMac. You absolutely CANNOT connect a game console, or any other non-Thunderbolt device to your new iMac. There are ways around it with capture cards, but.. not worth the effort and the results aren't good.

You can, however, connect the Dell monitor to your computer. The iMac supports display out to... whatever you like. It does not support display IN (except Thunderbolt devices), which a game console would be at this time.

I edited my original response to be clearer (since I mis-wrote my response anyway, hah!).

----------



Not true. Just so you know.
Actually it is possible to use the 27" iMac as a display so it is very true.
brand is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:11 PM   #8
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand View Post
Actually it is possible to use the 27" iMac as a display so it is very true.
Since 2011 it is only possible with other thundebolt macs. You cannot connect a console directly to the 2011 or 2012 iMac so I am not sure why you are arguing this point. You can do it via a capture box, if you like playing games with a few seconds of lag. Let me reiterate, I use a blackmagic capture box. It is not a viable solution for playing games and there are no other adaptors.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:14 PM   #9
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeb View Post
Since 2011 it is only possible with other thundebolt macs.
That I was not aware of. I knew that it was possible when using DisplayPort and did not know that that had changed with the conversion to ThunderBolt. I stand corrected.

Last edited by brand; Dec 29, 2012 at 07:24 PM.
brand is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:14 PM   #10
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by XionCore View Post
BS. Of course you can connect the Dell via DP-HDMI-cable. However, you have to set the primary monitor in the Settings, so you have to quit and restart your game.
Indeed.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:16 PM   #11
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeb View Post
Since 2011 it is only possible with other thundebolt macs. You cannot connect a console directly to the 2011 or 2012 iMac so I am not sure why you are arguing this point. You can do it via a capture box, if you like playing games with a few seconds of lag. Let me reiterate, I use a blackmagic capture box. It is not a viable solution for playing games and there are no other adaptors.
Yup. I enjoyed gaming on my 2009 27" iMac very much. I just bought another display to continue that tradition, since it's no longer possible on Thunderbolt-equipped iMacs.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:17 PM   #12
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand View Post
That I was not aware of. I knew that it was possible when using DisplayPort and sis not know that that had changed with the conversion to ThunderBolt. I stand corrected.
No worries.
http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3775

Unfortunately this is the case now, but we have taken this topic off the tracks since that wasn't the original question.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 10:41 PM   #13
Tofray
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Thanks for all the replies guys. One more question...

I'm considering buying a Thunderbolt Display to use as a 2nd monitor, so that I can play sound through the monitor. If I move the game to the 2nd monitor, change the settings to show the TD as primary display, will sound automatically be routed there or would I need to change some other audio settings too?
Tofray is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I use my iMac also as an external monitor shenfrey iMac 11 Apr 8, 2014 12:33 PM
iMac - Is it possible to get video out from an external monitor? gmanist1000 Mac Basics and Help 2 Feb 26, 2014 11:17 AM
External monitor for 15" rMBP for photo and video work? calviin MacBook Pro 0 Feb 13, 2014 07:46 PM
Switch off internal monitor when external connected drtanz OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jun 23, 2013 04:04 AM
iPad as monitor for external video nelly22 iPad Accessories 2 Jul 20, 2012 02:31 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC