Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 29, 2012, 11:06 AM   #1
danistyping
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Fullscreen apps with second display?

Hey guys - I have a question about hooking up a second display to my macbook air 2012.


When I use it as a secondary monitor (not mirrored), I can only fullscreen an application on the macbook screen. If I drag the window to the second monitor and click full screen, it goes back to the MBA screen and just leaves the gray mesh background on the secondary monitor.

What gives? Is there a way to fix this? Why would they do this?
danistyping is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 11:28 AM   #2
talmy
macrumors 68040
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
I just checked here and it works as one would expect and not as you described, at least with Mountain Lion. The older 10.7 Lion would have performed as you described.

I can't think of something you might do. If no one offers a solution, you might want to contact Applecare.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Mavericks Server, 5 other Macs and an Apple TV.
talmy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 11:51 AM   #3
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 603
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by danistyping View Post
Hey guys - I have a question about hooking up a second display to my macbook air 2012.


When I use it as a secondary monitor (not mirrored), I can only fullscreen an application on the macbook screen. If I drag the window to the second monitor and click full screen, it goes back to the MBA screen and just leaves the gray mesh background on the secondary monitor.

What gives? Is there a way to fix this? Why would they do this?
Fullscreen only applies to the main screen (the one with the menu bar and dock). You can make the external display as your main screen in System Preferences > Display > Arrangement. Then drag the little white bar from the smaller screen to the larger one. Your display will flash blue and the dock/menu bar will now be on the external. Now when you click fullscreen, it will fullscreen on the external.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by talmy View Post
I just checked here and it works as one would expect and not as you described, at least with Mountain Lion. The older 10.7 Lion would have performed as you described.

I can't think of something you might do. If no one offers a solution, you might want to contact Applecare.
Wrong, Lion handled fullscreen the same way as Mountain Lion.
__________________
YouTube | Twitter
MacBook Air | iPhone 5 | iPad mini | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme 802.11ac | iPad signed by Steve Wozniak
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 06:29 PM   #4
talmy
macrumors 68040
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowLeopard2008 View Post
Fullscreen only applies to the main screen (the one with the menu bar and dock).
As I said, "I just checked". I did it with Safari. I just repeated it with Preview and Quicktime.

You can make an app go full screen on the display it is wholly on, and the other one goes "fabric", even if it isn't the main screen. The menu bar actually temporarily relocates to the alternate display while the full screen app is running. This is a new feature in Mountain Lion.

And I just found a reference: http://appleinsider.com/articles/12/...y_display.html
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Mavericks Server, 5 other Macs and an Apple TV.
talmy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 08:34 PM   #5
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 603
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by talmy View Post
As I said, "I just checked". I did it with Safari. I just repeated it with Preview and Quicktime.

You can make an app go full screen on the display it is wholly on, and the other one goes "fabric", even if it isn't the main screen. The menu bar actually temporarily relocates to the alternate display while the full screen app is running. This is a new feature in Mountain Lion.

And I just found a reference: http://appleinsider.com/articles/12/...y_display.html
Weird. I just tried the same thing on my MBA and 24" external and it doesn't do that. Regardless, your reference seems legit so maybe it's my computer. I have no idea.
__________________
YouTube | Twitter
MacBook Air | iPhone 5 | iPad mini | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme 802.11ac | iPad signed by Steve Wozniak
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 11:12 PM   #6
Simplicated
macrumors 65816
 
Simplicated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ingsoc
Mountain Lion introduced a feature where the window can go full screen on the secondary display if the window is on there.

So just drag the window to the secondary screen before entering full screen.
Simplicated is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC