|
|
#101 |
|
This doesn't look to me like a leak. They were being sent to "undisclosed@icloud.com" before. This is more like a serious breach.
|
|
|
|
1
|
|
|
#102 |
|
After never receiving one spam message for 5 years, all of my icloud, .mac addresses have been bombarded by spam over the past several weeks, usually in groups which usually all resolve to the same domain each time, and coincidentally are all owned by Joseph Roberts of Game Content Distribution Network, LLC.
I've reported the domains to namecheap and had two of them suspended so far. Too bad Apple is doing absolutely nothing. I recommend everyone report the domains to whomever they were registered by, ex. namecheap.com -- this is the most recent whois on multiple spam emails received today. You can also see scammerspammer.com and take your own action. ![]() Registration Service Provided By: Namecheap.com Contact: @namecheap.com Visit: http://namecheap.com Domain name: goingsurfinghome.com Registrant Contact: Game Content Distribution Network, LLC. Joseph Roberts () Fax: 1720 Carey Ave. Cheyenne, WY 82001 US Administrative Contact: Game Content Distribution Network, LLC. Joseph Roberts (@gmail.com) +1.3077777937 Fax: +1.3077777682 1720 Carey Ave. Cheyenne, WY 82001 US Technical Contact: Game Content Distribution Network, LLC. Joseph Roberts (@gmail.com) +1.3077777937 Fax: +1.3077777682 1720 Carey Ave. Cheyenne, WY 82001 US Status: Locked Name Servers: dns1.registrar-servers.com dns2.registrar-servers.com dns3.registrar-servers.com dns4.registrar-servers.com dns5.registrar-servers.com Creation date: 28 Dec 2012 18:57:00 Expiration date: 28 Dec 2013 10:57:00 |
|
|
|
1
|
|
|
#103 | |
|
Quote:
|
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#104 |
|
|
0
|
|
|
#105 |
|
No games associated with mine either -- this has to be a major breach of some sort.
---------- Actually if you google joseph roberts and Game Content Distribution Network, LLC, you'll see this person/org owns many shady domains, so I'm sure we will all be spammed by those domains as well. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#106 |
|
So you don't think it's possible that there's an iOS hole that allowed this to happen?
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#107 |
|
Count me as a victim. Each day this week, about a dozen of these.
Reporting them to spam@me.com, FWIW.
__________________
Luck is the residue of design. - Branch Rickey "I'll buy almost anything if it is shiny and made by Apple." |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#108 |
|
source of leak?
Just about the time I started receiving the spam, I received a tweet about twitter metrics by simplymeasured.com
Since I signed up for that free sample, I've been getting the spam daily. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#109 |
|
I had been getting the odd one over the past couple of months but this week has been ridiculous.
__________________
27" iMac i7 3.4 3TBF 680MX Very Late 2012 17" MacBook Pro 2.2 i7 8GB 64GB Early 2011 16GB iPhone 5 32GB iPad 3 |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#110 | |
|
Quote:
I think this is a good, old-fashioned busted SPAM filter. |
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#111 |
|
It kind of outta control today.
I've received in the last 15 minutes about 6 from the same place for various things. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#112 |
|
I'm getting the same emails. Granted, I've had this account for over 5 years and it's just my firstlastname@me.com BUT I've never given it out except to close friends. While friends could of been hacked, this is doubtful because we're all getting the same emails. Can someone try to raise publicity on this? Many of us pay for this or have paid for .mac and MobileMe for a decade almost. Lets raise the issue!
__________________
MacBook (white) C2D 2.16 gHz, 2GB RAM, Mac mini, CD 1.86 gHZ, iPhone 3G 16GB White, 5G iPod 30GB, 3G iPod nano 8GB (silver), 2G iPod shuffle 1GB |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#113 |
|
Same issue here, on an account that has been effectively spam free since the .Mac days. Seems like in the last hour I've been receiving a couple every 5 minutes!
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#114 | |
|
Quote:
Today it's a new domain, (which seems to be the pattern, each day new domain and 6-10 spam messages at once) - pureairbottling.com and you guessed it, it's also owned by the same person/org as most of the others: Domain Name: PUREAIRBOTTLING.COM Registrar: ENOM, INC. Whois Server: whois.enom.com Referral URL: http://www.enom.com Name Server: NS1.NATURALPOSTING.COM Name Server: NS2.NATURALPOSTING.COM Status: ok Updated Date: 19-nov-2012 Creation Date: 19-nov-2012 Expiration Date: 19-nov-2013 Registration Service Provided By: Namecheap.com Contact: @namecheap.com Visit: http://namecheap.com Domain name: pureairbottling.com Registrant Contact: Game Content Distribution Network, LLC. Joseph Roberts () Fax: 1720 Carey Ave. Cheyenne, WY 82001 US Administrative Contact: Game Content Distribution Network, LLC. Joseph Roberts (@gmail.com) +1.3077777937 Fax: +1.3077777682 1720 Carey Ave. Cheyenne, WY 82001 US Anyone have any ideas? ---------- Oh, and the owner's email address which is formatted to not show up on a copy and paste, is: domainmaster2012@gmail.com
|
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#115 |
|
Ugh, it's always the Dr Oz emails and they hit both of my iCloud accounts at the same time! Also got the printer ink and MacKeeper emails within the last few days. At least there's a pattern so you can make a filter just to catch them.
__________________
black (32GB iPad 2 + TV 3) &
white (MacBook 4,1 (2.4GHz, May 2008) + 16GB iPhone 4S) |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#116 |
|
I have also been getting bombarded starting this week. About 10-12 spam emails a day, usually coming in chunks of 5-6 in a 4 minute period. It is extremely frustrating. I am very disappointed with apple over this. I hope when the programmers get back to work next week in cupertino they can resolve this crap. If it was a breach it is very concerning.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#117 |
|
I thought I was the only one...
pureairbottling is spamming me (too). (it started a few days ago) how annoying. is there a way to ban all emails from coming in except those in my contact list? Last edited by wharzhee; Dec 30, 2012 at 08:13 PM. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#118 | |
|
Quote:
|
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#119 |
|
It's been happening since the summer I believe. Hasn't been regular until now. I forwarded my iCloud email to Gmail and I'm working on it that way now. It's a shame but oh well, that's what Apple made me resort to.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#120 |
|
Since Christmas I've been getting the same spam emails, and they are increasing. Argh.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#121 |
|
Here we go again. Several spam messages within 30 minutes from "joseph@limitedcoffee.com"
This time the whois is private. Seriously this is so frustrating. Since Apple is still silent on this, everyone should visit scammerspammer.com and go to the attack section, read the info -- enter the spammer email address and subject and let them do the rest. Domain Name: LIMITEDCOFFEE.COM Registrar: ENOM, INC. Whois Server: whois.enom.com Referral URL: http://www.enom.com Name Server: NS1.BSANETWORKS.COM Name Server: NS2.BSANETWORKS.COM Status: clientTransferProhibited Updated Date: 17-dec-2012 Creation Date: 17-dec-2012 Expiration Date: 17-dec-2013 limitedcoffee.com Registrar Whois Updated 1 hour ago =-=-=-= Registration Service Provided By: Namecheap.com Contact: @namecheap.com Visit: http://namecheap.com Domain name: limitedcoffee.com Registrant Contact: WhoisGuard WhoisGuard Protected () Fax: 11400 W. Olympic Blvd. Suite 200 Los Angeles, CA 90064 US Administrative Contact: WhoisGuard WhoisGuard Protected (@whoisguard.com) +1.6613102107 Fax: +1.6613102107 11400 W. Olympic Blvd. Suite 200 Los Angeles, CA 90064 US Technical Contact: WhoisGuard WhoisGuard Protected (@whoisguard.com) +1.6613102107 Fax: +1.6613102107 11400 W. Olympic Blvd. Suite 200 Los Angeles, CA 90064 US Status: Locked Name Servers: ns1.bsanetworks.com ns2.bsanetworks.com Creation date: 17 Dec 2012 20:20:00 Expiration date: 17 Dec 2013 12:20:00 |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#122 |
|
So frustrating...
I've been reading this forum for a while now. I was relieved, at first, that I wasn't the only one. Now I'm beyond frustrated.
I've never had spam in the 5 years I've had my email. My 81 year old Nana uses a me.com address I made for her 2 years ago and she's been very confused about the 8-10 junk emails that come to her now- every night for the last 2 weeks. Like everyone else- today's email du jour is from limitedcoffee.com I went to scammerspammer.com just now like someone suggested. Is there nothing we can do? What does sending them to our junk box do? Does it cause anymore (from that email address) to go right to junk? Someone else asked if there is some setting to receive emails only from people we know. Is that possible? |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#123 |
|
I doubt anything will come of it but I emailed Tim Cook saying how upsetting it was... I might also have to ditch the iCloud email address and go back to my gmail account which never once in 5+ years had this problem...
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#124 |
|
I've done this for mail, contacts, and calendars in the past day and don't feel a bit of regret.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#125 |
|
dittos
Dr. Oz has been hitting our account up as well. I agree with many posts above. This is not our fault. I have a hotmail email that I list anytime someone online asks for an email. Interesting that this is widespread. Anyone here with Apple connections (emails of execs) who can take this one up the chain a bit at apple?
Last edited by pertusis1; Dec 30, 2012 at 09:20 PM. Reason: typo |
|
|
|
0
|
![]() |
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.








Linear Mode
